SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2652 (Misses Jacket Project Runway C)

7 more reviews
Viewed 658 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireF in CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireF in CAstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/09 11:02 PM
Last Updated:6/4/09 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DQDebra said...
I am starting this right now - it is Project 1 in the Readers Digest sewing book. All of the comments are very helpful and hopefully will prevent me from making some mistakes. This is only my second garment, so I'm hoping I didn't bite off more than I can chew with it. Claire - I did want to tell you that I really like how yours turned out.
2/20/12 11:10 AM
bampitt said...
I'm in the middle of making this and I was wondering how the heck do you attach the front facing strip?? I'm having a heck of a time figuring this out.
8/27/11 1:50 PM
kristinlala said...
I am (was?) thinking about this pattern,and I just wanted to tell you I LOVE how yours turned out. Looks great, though it sounds annoying :)
3/15/10 11:45 PM
sew4dasoul said...
Thanks for the review! I bought a different Project Runway pattern but haven't made it for the exact reason you mentioned: it's too confusing trying to find the right instructions for your view! Despite the frustrations, your garment turned out lovely :-). Thank you for all the warnings.
6/14/09 10:46 PM
pfaffkj said...
Thank you for the heads-up on this pattern. You did a fine job despite the problems and your top/jacket is very nice looking.
6/6/09 3:10 PM
AquariJenn said...
I've noticed that about these Project Runway patterns. The instructions are difficult to negotiate and I had a bad experience with a pieces being poorly drafted. I'm glad you got through it. The jacket is cute. Sorry it was such a hassle.
6/5/09 5:30 PM
taffee said...
It may have been a aggravation but you did a really good job
6/5/09 5:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Claire, despite the eccentricities of this pattern, you created a very pretty top/jacket! I like the fabric and hope you wear it a lot!
6/5/09 5:01 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your comments on my review made lemonade out of my lemon! Thank you all so much! :)
6/5/09 1:14 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your informative review. Congratulations on achieving this pretty jacket/top.
6/5/09 12:35 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your honesty -- I have used some of the Project Runway patterns and feel the same way....they are just a jumble. An extra page would give them enough room to print instructions for each view. Now that you worked so hard, enjoy your top, it looks great.
6/5/09 12:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
I think your top is very pretty! Thanks for the heads up, though, on this pattern. Great job making it work.
6/5/09 10:06 AM
LisaG said...
Claire, it is a beautiful top. I'm glad I read your review, because just looking at the photo made me want to add this to my pattern list. Now I think I'll pass. I have not read many positive reviews of these Project Runway patterns. Sorry you had such a bad experience, but I hope you get some wear out of this pretty top!
6/5/09 9:46 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Frustrations a side, your rendition is just lovely! Perfect match of pattern design and fabric choice. I want one but I will use a different pattern.... Thanks for the detailed info.
6/5/09 7:20 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Thanks for the great review...I'll pass on this pattern ! Though yours looks very nice!
6/5/09 6:52 AM
Vonnevo said...
Claire, I hope after a short break in the Magic Closet, you will feel the love for this top. It looks really nice and you did a great job, despite the problems you encountered :)
6/5/09 0:42 AM
mastdenman said...
It's beautiful. Let it rest in the closet for a couple of weeks and see how you feel.
6/5/09 0:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
It's lovely! I like the eyelet you used. Hopefully in a few days the memories of the poor pattern will be erased.
6/5/09 0:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

McCall's 6331

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7190

photo
by: Annette1

Review