SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2652 (Misses Jacket Project Runway C)

7 more reviews
Viewed 658 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireF in CA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireF in CAstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/09 11:02 PM
Last Updated:6/4/09 11:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
It's lovely! I like the eyelet you used. Hopefully in a few days the memories of the poor pattern will be erased.
6/5/09 0:16 AM
mastdenman said...
It's beautiful. Let it rest in the closet for a couple of weeks and see how you feel.
6/5/09 0:26 AM
Vonnevo said...
Claire, I hope after a short break in the Magic Closet, you will feel the love for this top. It looks really nice and you did a great job, despite the problems you encountered :)
6/5/09 0:42 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Thanks for the great review...I'll pass on this pattern ! Though yours looks very nice!
6/5/09 6:52 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Frustrations a side, your rendition is just lovely! Perfect match of pattern design and fabric choice. I want one but I will use a different pattern.... Thanks for the detailed info.
6/5/09 7:20 AM
LisaG said...
Claire, it is a beautiful top. I'm glad I read your review, because just looking at the photo made me want to add this to my pattern list. Now I think I'll pass. I have not read many positive reviews of these Project Runway patterns. Sorry you had such a bad experience, but I hope you get some wear out of this pretty top!
6/5/09 9:46 AM
Kellie R. said...
I think your top is very pretty! Thanks for the heads up, though, on this pattern. Great job making it work.
6/5/09 10:06 AM
Kathi R said...
Thanks for your honesty -- I have used some of the Project Runway patterns and feel the same way....they are just a jumble. An extra page would give them enough room to print instructions for each view. Now that you worked so hard, enjoy your top, it looks great.
6/5/09 12:27 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your informative review. Congratulations on achieving this pretty jacket/top.
6/5/09 12:35 PM
ClaireF in CA said...
Your comments on my review made lemonade out of my lemon! Thank you all so much! :)
6/5/09 1:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Claire, despite the eccentricities of this pattern, you created a very pretty top/jacket! I like the fabric and hope you wear it a lot!
6/5/09 5:01 PM
taffee said...
It may have been a aggravation but you did a really good job
6/5/09 5:10 PM
AquariJenn said...
I've noticed that about these Project Runway patterns. The instructions are difficult to negotiate and I had a bad experience with a pieces being poorly drafted. I'm glad you got through it. The jacket is cute. Sorry it was such a hassle.
6/5/09 5:30 PM
pfaffkj said...
Thank you for the heads-up on this pattern. You did a fine job despite the problems and your top/jacket is very nice looking.
6/6/09 3:10 PM
sew4dasoul said...
Thanks for the review! I bought a different Project Runway pattern but haven't made it for the exact reason you mentioned: it's too confusing trying to find the right instructions for your view! Despite the frustrations, your garment turned out lovely :-). Thank you for all the warnings.
6/14/09 10:46 PM
kristinlala said...
I am (was?) thinking about this pattern,and I just wanted to tell you I LOVE how yours turned out. Looks great, though it sounds annoying :)
3/15/10 11:45 PM
bampitt said...
I'm in the middle of making this and I was wondering how the heck do you attach the front facing strip?? I'm having a heck of a time figuring this out.
8/27/11 1:50 PM
DQDebra said...
I am starting this right now - it is Project 1 in the Readers Digest sewing book. All of the comments are very helpful and hopefully will prevent me from making some mistakes. This is only my second garment, so I'm hoping I didn't bite off more than I can chew with it. Claire - I did want to tell you that I really like how yours turned out.
2/20/12 11:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Other Fair and Square Dress

photo
by: ShelleyA

Review
Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: SewPrinces...

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Buy Now