SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6656 ©1974 (Hooded pullover top)

Viewed 233 times 
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo

 
 
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/09 9:38 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
OMG, I sewed this pattern in 1975! (Give or take a year.) It was one of my absolute favorites and I wore it all the time. The fit was great and it was so comfortable. Your review has brought back lots of great memories. Thanks!
6/5/09 10:00 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
6/5/09 10:03 AM
Twinset said...
You look adorable in your cute little top! That's a great pattern!
6/5/09 10:34 AM
Michelle L said...
Very cute! I love the shaped hem. What a great touch!
6/5/09 11:26 AM
persevering said...
Cute, good fit and review.
6/5/09 12:22 PM
Annieq said...
This is really cute and looks great on you. Love the vintage-y 70's fabric you chose.
6/5/09 12:26 PM
Renren said...
I pegged the pattern as early 70s based on the price of $1.15! Love this top and your fabric is perfect. You have made yet another fabulous find for your own personal "The 70s Show." The hood both drapes/fits nicely in the down/up positions.
6/5/09 12:58 PM
feldmanTcat said...
1974 is what is listed on the pattern envelope...this thing is two years older than me, but it is the "newest" pattern in my vintage collection.
6/5/09 12:59 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the body shape of this top, much more flattering than RTW hoodies. You've done a great job. I also don't have a serger but you can fake it with the zigzag stitch on your machine: use the widest zigzag width and adjust the gap between stitches to suit the fabric. Place the fabric so the needle goes just over the edge on it's right hand swing. Test this out on scrap fabric and you will see what I mean. You can use this method on knits or woven and is especially great for edging lightweight fabrics.
6/5/09 7:18 PM
HeyJane said...
I love it!! Beautiful hemline, and you picked the perfect fabric. I really dislike tight necklines, so this is great info.
6/5/09 9:39 PM
Christas said...
So cute! This looks great on you!
6/5/09 10:52 PM
donna mel said...
they should bring this one back. its so cute. perfect choice of fabric!
6/6/09 6:05 AM
fryman said...
cute, cute, cute!
6/6/09 10:17 AM
barbcl said...
So darling, and I agree, bring it back!
6/6/09 11:11 AM
Em's Summer said...
Cute hoodie!
6/6/09 10:49 PM
Hilary said...
I love it-very cute!! The fabric is perfect for it :o)
1/16/10 1:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

NECKLINES AND DRAPING - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
McCall's 6608

photo
by: DorothyK

Review