Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 6656 ©1974 (Hooded pullover top) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 233 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/09 9:38 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LynnG said...
OMG, I sewed this pattern in 1975! (Give or take a year.) It was one of my absolute favorites and I wore it all the time. The fit was great and it was so comfortable. Your review has brought back lots of great memories. Thanks!
6/5/09 10:00 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
6/5/09 10:03 AM
Twinset said...
You look adorable in your cute little top! That's a great pattern!
6/5/09 10:34 AM
Michelle L said...
Very cute! I love the shaped hem. What a great touch!
6/5/09 11:26 AM
persevering said...
Cute, good fit and review.
6/5/09 12:22 PM
Annieq said...
This is really cute and looks great on you. Love the vintage-y 70's fabric you chose.
6/5/09 12:26 PM
Renren said...
I pegged the pattern as early 70s based on the price of $1.15! Love this top and your fabric is perfect. You have made yet another fabulous find for your own personal "The 70s Show." The hood both drapes/fits nicely in the down/up positions.
6/5/09 12:58 PM
feldmanTcat said...
1974 is what is listed on the pattern envelope...this thing is two years older than me, but it is the "newest" pattern in my vintage collection.
6/5/09 12:59 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the body shape of this top, much more flattering than RTW hoodies. You've done a great job. I also don't have a serger but you can fake it with the zigzag stitch on your machine: use the widest zigzag width and adjust the gap between stitches to suit the fabric. Place the fabric so the needle goes just over the edge on it's right hand swing. Test this out on scrap fabric and you will see what I mean. You can use this method on knits or woven and is especially great for edging lightweight fabrics.
6/5/09 7:18 PM
HeyJane said...
I love it!! Beautiful hemline, and you picked the perfect fabric. I really dislike tight necklines, so this is great info.
6/5/09 9:39 PM
Christas said...
So cute! This looks great on you!
6/5/09 10:52 PM
donna mel said...
they should bring this one back. its so cute. perfect choice of fabric!
6/6/09 6:05 AM
fryman said...
cute, cute, cute!
6/6/09 10:17 AM
barbcl said...
So darling, and I agree, bring it back!
6/6/09 11:11 AM
Em's Summer said...
Cute hoodie!
6/6/09 10:49 PM
Hilary said...
I love it-very cute!! The fabric is perfect for it :o)
1/16/10 1:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6119
photo
Review by slmstyle on 4/25/13
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2949 Misses Topper
photo
Review by Brodie on 5/9/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6926 Pattern
Burda 6926 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us