SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Royal Ballgown Skirt (Original Design - Purple Reign)

Viewed 283 times 
Reviewed by:misscreativist
photo

 
 
About misscreativiststar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/3/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/09 10:44 AM
Last Updated:6/6/09 10:50 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Grammy Gin said... (6/10/09 12:51 PM) Reply
WOW! How majestic looking! You did a wonderful job!
themadbalmer said... (6/7/09 11:53 AM) Reply
You put a lot of work into this and it shows! Very lovely and unique- good work
misscreativist said... (6/7/09 7:09 AM) Reply
Cathy Loves Fabric: The colour in reality is a more red-toned purple heading towards an orchid/merlot colour, but my camera unfortunately doesn't really capture that... Kayseri: The stretch waistband is great, it just makes the whole thing lie flatter and takes some of the skirt's weight off the crinoline. arianamaniacs: I'll probably use dental floss to gather the net for my next petticoat. I think I'll probably take the cords out and re-sew them to the wrong side to line them up. The other alternative I thought of was to sew ribbon to the reverse side of those corded seams and then take the cord out.
arianamaniacs said... (6/7/09 4:42 AM) Reply
Great job! Neat idea for the stretch waistband. I like to use a cord (dental floss) for gathering too. Tip: gather it from the back side if you're going to leave the cord in and then it can't be seen! =)
JoanneM said... (6/6/09 11:22 PM) Reply
Wow. Stunning.
Kayseri said... (6/6/09 10:08 PM) Reply
Your skirt looks great. I think your idea of using a stretch waistband for a skirt going under a corset is brilliant, especially with the crinoline to cope with.
chacha45 said... (6/6/09 7:41 PM) Reply
Amazing! And really, really beautiful!
Cathy Loves Fabric said... (6/6/09 3:56 PM) Reply
It's beautiful. The color is rich and gorgeous. I don't think anyone is going to be thinking about pj's, lol.
Jill Giard said... (6/6/09 12:52 PM) Reply
Elegant! Thanks for the in-depth review!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick SB300

photo
by: susandf

Review
Butterick 5553

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details