Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3789 3990 (Khaliah Ali - Misses Shirts) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 462 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:scrappycat
photo
About scrappycatstar
TN USA
Member since: 9/11/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/09 3:50 PM
Last Updated:6/6/09 4:00 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This is a very pretty fabric and your top turned out nicely. Very summery looking.
6/6/09 4:15 PM
homejewel said...
That's a very nice top. I really like your fabric.
6/6/09 6:29 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty top. You can alter the princess lines without altering the sleeve. When you make it again, do the OPPOSITE of a FBA for princess seams This should eliminate the fullness in the front without affecting the armscye.
6/6/09 6:29 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely shirt. It could be that you need to lower the fullness of the princess seams so that it corresponds with the fullness of your bust if your bust has dropped with age, which is common. Instructions with clear diagrams are given in Fit for Real People. You might be able to buy a copy from a good sewing shop, a bookshop or online from the McCall's website.
6/6/09 7:19 PM
JeanM said...
Beautiful shirt! You can adjust where the fullness of the princess seam falls, just as mentioned by Nancywin and FreyaStark, if the rest of the shirt fits correctly. And the adjustment shouldn't affect the armhole. I use Swedish tracing paper (or the non-woven interfacing printed with a grid) - trace my pattern pieces and pin-fit the tracings (and then I still have the original pattern, as I expect I won't always be the shape I am currently!).
6/6/09 8:17 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful blouse, really love it.
6/6/09 8:27 PM
marec said...
Very pretty blouse-nice work!! The fabric looks very cool and summery.
6/6/09 9:14 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful shirt - I have this pattern and have taken it out/put it back but you are inspiring me to take out and use!!
6/6/09 10:16 PM
Em's Summer said...
A very pretty top! Great job!
6/6/09 10:38 PM
Tere Sews said...
This is a great pattern. I have made it a half a dozen times. I found that the D cup was designed for a fuller upper chest so try pin fitting the princess seam to tweak it to fit. But really pretty good right out of the envelope.
6/8/09 8:46 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Very Pretty Top! I've made this too and found that the bust line sat higher than my own bust. I attributed it to the same thing... gravity ;) Love your choice of fabric here.
6/8/09 3:39 PM
Sewshot said...
I'm working on fitting this pattern to myself now. I had to lower the bust point by a good bit, and that part now fits. (But the princess seams fall so far to the outside of my bust, putting extra fullness between the bust and the armscye, that I think I'll have to re-draw those seamlines, moving them toward the center.) It sounds like you want to lower the bustline for yourself, too. There's a great tutorial online for that, at: https://agrilifebookstore.org/publications_details.cfm?whichpublication=2291 However, that alteration is just the beginning of changes I have to make for myself if I continue to use this pattern.
10/23/09 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Named Clothing 005
photo
Review by chenille on 4/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4384
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/14/09
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 7937 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us