Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8649 (Vintage OOP Child's Dress) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 720 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:callmeRuth
photo
About callmeRuthstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 122
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 122
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/09 9:24 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TalyQ said...
Ruth, I think that will look great. I am a bit interested in you sketch book =). Do you usually sketch/color things you are going to sew? Can we see a few more pictures (maybe on the blog)? I think that would be a very nice way to keep track of my sewing. Thanks.
6/8/09 5:21 AM
SoVintage said...
Difficult choice, can I assume that the green band would also be dotted swiss? I have looked at your drawings several times and I like without the band and the green jacket, but you can't go wrong either way. Patiently waiting to see the finished product.
6/8/09 8:14 AM
wreninrome said...
I think they're both cute, but IMO the green band is a fun, current style while without it is a classic, more adult look. I'm with SoVintage on the without band look being my fave.
6/8/09 11:59 AM
callmeRuth said...
TalyQ: I only sketch out designs when I'm playing around with fabric choices or design details. Here's a link to another page of my sketchbook: http://sewchic.blogspot.com/2008/09/sewing-with-plan.html Yes, I do think a sketchbook would be a good way of keeping track of sewing projects. That was my intent at one time, but now I just put everything on my blog.
6/9/09 1:27 AM
ryansmumAria said...
soooo sweet!
6/11/09 8:03 AM
JodiB said...
I love this pattern, and the colors you've chosen for it. I cant wait to see the finished dress. Now if only i could find a copy of this pattern lol
6/11/09 1:35 PM
Lisamarieg said...
really cute I bet your daughter loves it I to like the sketch with the green band I love bands for hems no blind hemming!
6/13/09 5:19 PM
callmeRuth said...
Lisamarieg---that is a plus about adding the band--no hemming!
6/14/09 7:31 PM
kathleencramer said...
Great tip on the darts. Thanks!
6/21/09 0:58 AM
kathleencramer said...
Wow! It turned out so great! I just love it!! do you want to sell the pattern to me?
6/24/09 10:51 PM
MamaSewing said...
Wonderful, adorable dress! The fabrics are beautiful. (And you call yourself slow-my childs vintage dress isn't finished from the vintage contest earlier this year!)
6/24/09 11:26 PM
Sewnsewmom said...
Beautiful! I love the colors.
6/25/09 0:45 AM
wreninrome said...
that is just tooooo cute! that could make the cover of a magazine
6/25/09 7:06 AM
Larri Seams Inspired said...
Ruth - This dress is so beautiful! I'm betting it will be the one your pretty daughter remembers wearing as her favorite from her childhood. Your love for her shows in this dress. Your review of it is so informative and fantastic. Thanks!
6/25/09 7:31 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Beautiful creations! All three! The dress looks great on your dd~ LOVE the pics adding in the kitty!! I never have anyone to model my kids' creations. I wonder if she'll always be that blonde.
6/25/09 8:06 AM
Amanda S. said...
Super duper cute!
6/25/09 8:54 AM
Christas said...
Ruth, I have been excitedly watching your progress on Emily's dress. I must say that the final dress and jacket could not be any more perfect! The contrasting fabrics, the lovely vintage pattern, and the way you have expertly sewn everything together, adds up to one absolutely gorgeous little girl's dress! I agree with Sewer5 that this dress will probably be one Emily always remembers from her childhood. Lovely, lovely work! And.... could that little Emily be ANY CUTER! I don't think so!
6/25/09 9:14 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
Ruth, this dress is just ADORABLE!! I absolutely LOVE that pattern!! I wish I had it so that I could make a dress just like Emily's for one of my little sisters!! This dress suits Emily PERFECTLY: the fabric, the style, and of course the "twirl factor"!!! Beautifully sewn!!
6/25/09 10:50 AM
busymomof3 said...
Just precious!!! Your little model looks beautiful in the very pretty dress!
6/25/09 11:43 AM
Kayseri said...
Oh man, to be three again and wear sweet dresses like this. Emily's dress looks wonderful, and all your hard work has paid off.
6/28/09 4:00 AM
Sandy S said...
I love everything about this dress! You've done a wonderful job. Your daughter looks absolutely adorable in it!
7/1/09 7:27 AM
Lana E said...
Oh wow! I have a "thing" for vintage fashion and you've sewn this little girls dress and bolero up beautifully! I love love love those bright spring colors and just the style is too adorable! I tip my hat to you-this outfit is just divine!
7/2/09 1:13 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
This is very cute ! I love the conception work
7/2/09 3:03 PM
Rhonda at Living Water said...
The dress and jacket are gorgeous! I love the vintage pattern and the fabric is perfect for it. The pictures of your daughter are darling.
7/7/09 7:21 PM
Spider3 said...
Sweet! Put some wings on her & we're talking "Angel". I loved the way you documented your instructions - I felt like I was there every day, every step of the way.
7/24/09 11:57 AM
smoody said...
I also have 2 little ladies to sew for and I love vintage patterns! Your beautiful work has encouraged me to pull them out and make a masterpiece. Thank you and wonderful workmanship!!!!
7/24/09 6:54 PM
RobinMCPA said...
The dress is so cute, but your daughter and her kitty are just adorable!!!
7/27/09 10:19 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Loes Hinse Designs 5107 Bistro Jacket
photo
Review by Tee Jay on 9/14/03
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2006-25 Phoenix Top
photo
Review by brissie71 on 6/29/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2466 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book

Details
Price: $25.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us