SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8582 (Marcy Tilton)

21 more reviews
Viewed 2259 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 1:24 AM
Last Updated:9/28/11 8:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marciab said...
Looks absolutely great on you!!
6/8/09 1:42 AM
Kayseri said...
Good looking top. I like your idea of when in doubt on a pattern make the most extreme version for the muslin.
6/8/09 3:19 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Looks great on you. I like the unusual sides too which I didn't like on the pattern illustration.
6/8/09 5:25 AM
DesertMorning said...
Beautiful top!! This pattern is on my wish list already. I like your photo much better than the pattern illustration. I love it. Did you make the pants too?
6/8/09 6:12 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful and I love the longer length on you. You've certainly made me rethink this pattern. It seems to me that success with Marcy's patterns depends on learning what size to cut to fit. And that's true of any pattern company or designer, isn't it. Thanks so much for the review.
6/8/09 6:40 AM
JoanneM said...
Great fit. Cute top!
6/8/09 6:59 AM
Tere Sews said...
I loved this pattern too. I found it easy to fit and very flattering. I did a simple binding around the neck because my fabric was not the same on both sides but I intend to try the twist neck binding next time.
6/8/09 8:29 AM
mm said...
Another great Marcy Tilton pattern.
6/8/09 8:49 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fabulous top! I have admired this pattern. I love your fabric, too. You have flawless taste!
6/8/09 8:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sleek looking top on you, Ann!
6/8/09 8:59 AM
Barbara V said...
Ann, having seen your top in person I have to say it is not only a great extreme style for you; but an extremely flattering style on you....just a terrific fit!
6/8/09 9:09 AM
carolynw said...
Ann you always look so nice in the patterns you choose - however, this one is perhaps one of the nicest I have seen on you - love the color - $1 per yard - sure looks a whole lot more expensive. Thanks fo rthe great review
6/8/09 9:36 AM
khunter said...
so cute! I just bought my first Marcy Tilton pattern. I can't wait to sew it up. Love your reviews!!!
6/8/09 10:41 AM
SueV said...
This version is really cute. I made the rounded neck, shorter length (with short sleeves) with "Portland" black rayon knit and haven't reviewed it yet but will. I used a mesh at the neck edge. I had success with my version too. I like this longer version with the cowl. thanks for the review
6/8/09 11:24 AM
persevering said...
How lovely you look in this top and accessories! Thanks for your review and especially for sharing the sizing details.
6/8/09 11:50 AM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this top is fantastic and wonderfully flattering. I love the fabric and the twisted neck. I've been wondering what to make next, and now I think this pattern will be it.
6/8/09 12:34 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Looks fabulous on you!
6/8/09 1:14 PM
Kelly D. said...
As good as this looks in the picture, I can testify that it looks even better in person! The perfect marriage of pattern and fabric.
6/8/09 2:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
This top is gorgeous! You look very elegant as always. Another one for my wish list.
6/8/09 7:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann, nobody does this look better than you!
6/8/09 9:51 PM
Patti B said...
Oooooh, I love it! Once again you have inspired us all.
6/9/09 0:08 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Thank you for the review. I think I will make this after seeing how nice yours looks!
6/9/09 0:59 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow Ann....the tunic and you in it are absolutely gorgeous ! I always enjoy seeing what you sew, as we are about the same size.
6/9/09 6:47 AM
gaginny said...
Gorgeous....simply gorgeous.....you choice of material is super.....the fit is great and, as always, you look beautiful in the outfit.
6/9/09 8:15 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: well, this certainly is a winner on you. Looks terrific, and I must say that you've made the $1 a yard fabric into a designer-looking top. Guess I'll be heading to FabriX while in SFO.
6/9/09 9:28 AM
cmarie12 said...
Ann - I agree with Phyllis! No one sews or wears these styles as well as you do!
6/9/09 10:11 AM
Riesie said...
Well, I have to say I am glad the pattern worked out so much better for you than it did for me. You may be uncomfortable in the high neck but it looks terrific on you.
6/9/09 9:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love it! Great necklace too. I wasn't at all attracted to this pattern until I saw it on you. Now I think it's a fabulous look.
6/12/09 9:27 PM
cherylzone said...
I LOVE this pattern....and it looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the review!
6/30/09 6:25 PM
kiddo said...
Just beautiful!!!
7/18/09 0:49 AM
gotasew said...
Thankyou. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet. I will move it further up the wait list now that I have read your review.
10/8/09 9:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful top and you wear it well! I really like the style.
6/2/10 8:07 PM
Patti B said...
Ann, the new version is even more lovely than the first one. Great use for that interesting fabric. Are you trying to sew up your stash all at once? hee hee
6/2/10 9:17 PM
drsue said...
I love this! I bought that same CJ fabric, I would never have thought of the contrast binding but it looks fabulous!
6/2/10 10:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Love the creative way you made a unique and well-fitted garment! You venture into your designs with such abandon and courage and come out with great, fun, wearable results!
6/2/10 10:31 PM
sew2little said...
Love this version! Great combination of fabrics! Marci
6/3/10 0:50 AM
Sheila457 said...
You have an eye for beautiful prints another lovely garment.
6/3/10 1:02 AM
jso4fun said...
Gorgeous fabric and it looks so good with this pattern! Congratulations on another wonderful look. You are such an inspiration to me!
6/3/10 1:22 AM
jso4fun said...
Sorry about that. I accidentally posted this twice. You live and you learn!
6/3/10 1:23 AM
manola6176 said...
fabulous
6/3/10 4:01 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love that fabric to death, oh my goodness. And it looks so great made up in this top.
6/3/10 6:31 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Very nice!
6/3/10 7:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm loving these longer tops on you...this one is really neat with wonderful fabric choice!
6/3/10 11:12 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous!! I love love this top on you. And what a to-die-for fabric and it's PERFECT paired with that stripe! I have made this pattern, but not this particular view. Thanks for posting!!
6/3/10 1:36 PM
Karendee said...
This black and white version of the MT top is amazing and looks so good on you.
6/3/10 5:12 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this version on you and I am tempted to buy this, but I wonder how it would look on my wide hips.
6/21/10 8:13 AM
Hilary said...
These are really beautiful on you, I would never have looked twice at this pattern but you may convince me :o)
12/15/10 8:28 PM
DorothyK said...
Another great fabric with a tried and true pattern. You know how to match them up perfectly. Looks fabulous.
9/29/11 11:57 AM
sfshaza said...
Ah! You look fabulous! I love how you used this fabric. :)
9/30/11 3:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Folkwear 233

photo
by: miausiau

Review
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now