Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8582 (Marcy Tilton) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2253 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 1:24 AM
Last Updated:9/28/11 8:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marciab said...
Looks absolutely great on you!!
6/8/09 1:42 AM
Kayseri said...
Good looking top. I like your idea of when in doubt on a pattern make the most extreme version for the muslin.
6/8/09 3:19 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Looks great on you. I like the unusual sides too which I didn't like on the pattern illustration.
6/8/09 5:25 AM
DesertMorning said...
Beautiful top!! This pattern is on my wish list already. I like your photo much better than the pattern illustration. I love it. Did you make the pants too?
6/8/09 6:12 AM
BillieJean said...
This is just beautiful and I love the longer length on you. You've certainly made me rethink this pattern. It seems to me that success with Marcy's patterns depends on learning what size to cut to fit. And that's true of any pattern company or designer, isn't it. Thanks so much for the review.
6/8/09 6:40 AM
JoanneM said...
Great fit. Cute top!
6/8/09 6:59 AM
Tere Sews said...
I loved this pattern too. I found it easy to fit and very flattering. I did a simple binding around the neck because my fabric was not the same on both sides but I intend to try the twist neck binding next time.
6/8/09 8:29 AM
mm said...
Another great Marcy Tilton pattern.
6/8/09 8:49 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fabulous top! I have admired this pattern. I love your fabric, too. You have flawless taste!
6/8/09 8:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a sleek looking top on you, Ann!
6/8/09 8:59 AM
Barbara V said...
Ann, having seen your top in person I have to say it is not only a great extreme style for you; but an extremely flattering style on you....just a terrific fit!
6/8/09 9:09 AM
carolynw said...
Ann you always look so nice in the patterns you choose - however, this one is perhaps one of the nicest I have seen on you - love the color - $1 per yard - sure looks a whole lot more expensive. Thanks fo rthe great review
6/8/09 9:36 AM
khunter said...
so cute! I just bought my first Marcy Tilton pattern. I can't wait to sew it up. Love your reviews!!!
6/8/09 10:41 AM
SueV said...
This version is really cute. I made the rounded neck, shorter length (with short sleeves) with "Portland" black rayon knit and haven't reviewed it yet but will. I used a mesh at the neck edge. I had success with my version too. I like this longer version with the cowl. thanks for the review
6/8/09 11:24 AM
persevering said...
How lovely you look in this top and accessories! Thanks for your review and especially for sharing the sizing details.
6/8/09 11:50 AM
DorothyK said...
Ann, this top is fantastic and wonderfully flattering. I love the fabric and the twisted neck. I've been wondering what to make next, and now I think this pattern will be it.
6/8/09 12:34 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Looks fabulous on you!
6/8/09 1:14 PM
Kelly D. said...
As good as this looks in the picture, I can testify that it looks even better in person! The perfect marriage of pattern and fabric.
6/8/09 2:14 PM
Schnauzer said...
This top is gorgeous! You look very elegant as always. Another one for my wish list.
6/8/09 7:23 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann, nobody does this look better than you!
6/8/09 9:51 PM
Patti B said...
Oooooh, I love it! Once again you have inspired us all.
6/9/09 0:08 AM
Marilyn N. said...
Thank you for the review. I think I will make this after seeing how nice yours looks!
6/9/09 0:59 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Wow Ann....the tunic and you in it are absolutely gorgeous ! I always enjoy seeing what you sew, as we are about the same size.
6/9/09 6:47 AM
gaginny said...
Gorgeous....simply gorgeous.....you choice of material is super.....the fit is great and, as always, you look beautiful in the outfit.
6/9/09 8:15 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Ann: well, this certainly is a winner on you. Looks terrific, and I must say that you've made the $1 a yard fabric into a designer-looking top. Guess I'll be heading to FabriX while in SFO.
6/9/09 9:28 AM
cmarie12 said...
Ann - I agree with Phyllis! No one sews or wears these styles as well as you do!
6/9/09 10:11 AM
Riesie said...
Well, I have to say I am glad the pattern worked out so much better for you than it did for me. You may be uncomfortable in the high neck but it looks terrific on you.
6/9/09 9:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love it! Great necklace too. I wasn't at all attracted to this pattern until I saw it on you. Now I think it's a fabulous look.
6/12/09 9:27 PM
cherylzone said...
I LOVE this pattern....and it looks wonderful on you. Thanks for the review!
6/30/09 6:25 PM
kiddo said...
Just beautiful!!!
7/18/09 0:49 AM
gotasew said...
Thankyou. I have this pattern but haven't tried it yet. I will move it further up the wait list now that I have read your review.
10/8/09 9:28 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful top and you wear it well! I really like the style.
6/2/10 8:07 PM
Patti B said...
Ann, the new version is even more lovely than the first one. Great use for that interesting fabric. Are you trying to sew up your stash all at once? hee hee
6/2/10 9:17 PM
drsue said...
I love this! I bought that same CJ fabric, I would never have thought of the contrast binding but it looks fabulous!
6/2/10 10:30 PM
sewing for fun said...
Love the creative way you made a unique and well-fitted garment! You venture into your designs with such abandon and courage and come out with great, fun, wearable results!
6/2/10 10:31 PM
sew2little said...
Love this version! Great combination of fabrics! Marci
6/3/10 0:50 AM
Sheila457 said...
You have an eye for beautiful prints another lovely garment.
6/3/10 1:02 AM
jso4fun said...
Gorgeous fabric and it looks so good with this pattern! Congratulations on another wonderful look. You are such an inspiration to me!
6/3/10 1:22 AM
jso4fun said...
Sorry about that. I accidentally posted this twice. You live and you learn!
6/3/10 1:23 AM
manola6176 said...
fabulous
6/3/10 4:01 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love that fabric to death, oh my goodness. And it looks so great made up in this top.
6/3/10 6:31 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Very nice!
6/3/10 7:46 AM
Barbara V said...
I'm loving these longer tops on you...this one is really neat with wonderful fabric choice!
6/3/10 11:12 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous!! I love love this top on you. And what a to-die-for fabric and it's PERFECT paired with that stripe! I have made this pattern, but not this particular view. Thanks for posting!!
6/3/10 1:36 PM
Karendee said...
This black and white version of the MT top is amazing and looks so good on you.
6/3/10 5:12 PM
Nancy K said...
I love this version on you and I am tempted to buy this, but I wonder how it would look on my wide hips.
6/21/10 8:13 AM
Hilary said...
These are really beautiful on you, I would never have looked twice at this pattern but you may convince me :o)
12/15/10 8:28 PM
DorothyK said...
Another great fabric with a tried and true pattern. You know how to match them up perfectly. Looks fabulous.
9/29/11 11:57 AM
sfshaza said...
Ah! You look fabulous! I love how you used this fabric. :)
9/30/11 3:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 146547-1000
photo
Review by FL Girl on 10/30/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by Nujoi1908 on 1/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us