Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt (Sandra Betzina Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1207 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Susan Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Susan Smithstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/28/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/03 5:37 AM
Last Updated:12/26/03 5:43 AM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
picture is not available.
12/26/03 7:55 AM
Susan Smith said...
Sorry - when I click on the link it comes up fine
12/26/03 8:54 AM
Linda E. said...
are your pictures set to shared It tells me they are not available
12/26/03 9:27 AM
Susan Smith said...
Try it now, the other folder is set to shared as well
12/26/03 9:55 AM
Linda E. said...
your coat is great. Thanks, for the review.
12/26/03 10:10 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This is a very timely review for me, Susan...I have been telling myself that this is the project I will tackle as soon as everyone goes back to school/work. I have a faux suede to use for the binding, too -- did you folded the edges under on yours? I'm planning to cut VERY CAREFULLY and only use one layer, so as to reduce the binding. You're the only one who has reviewed this coat who has recommended omitting the sleeve detail, too...that's also something I have wondered about. I had pretty much decided to go for it; now I'm wavering. Tall and willowy I am not, but I'm planning to use it as a topcoat over jackets for the chillier of Alabama winter days, so perhaps I can get away with an Uncle Fester look just to be warm... (I got a chuckle out of that! ) Thanks for the reveiw!
12/26/03 10:33 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Arg! why didn't I proof that before I said submit? I meant to say 'Did you fold the edges under on your binding' and I'm planning to 'use a single layer to reduce the bulkiness' ... *egg on face*
12/26/03 10:36 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Susan, this is such a great, artsy coat. But, I made one two years ago and it didn't work for me either. I cut the smallest size, cut it down even more and was still overwhelmed with fabric. I think you are right, this is one of those garments best suited to somone tall. However, your coat did turn out very nicely - perhaps you could wear it with the collar unbuttoned so that you don't feel so closed in? I have always thought that this pattern would have worked for me if I had added a shawl collar instead. Unfortunately, I was too lazy to make it again.
12/26/03 3:40 PM
Susan Smith said...
Lisa - the faux suede I used was very fine, Rosenberg described it as blouse weight, which I hadn't seen before, all the other faux suede and leather were too heavy for the double binding, this was perfect. I chalked the lines on the suede then cut. The pattern recommends using a single layer if bulky. I think reducing the height of the collar would work
12/27/03 3:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 4290 T Shirt tops
photo
Review by Sandi S on 2/27/09
Read Review

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2318 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3095 jacket
photo
Review by shard on 4/24/04
Read Review

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Skater Shoes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us