SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt (Sandra Betzina Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1217 times 
Reviewed by:Susan Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Susan Smithstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/28/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/26/03 5:37 AM
Last Updated:12/26/03 5:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Susan Smith said...
Lisa - the faux suede I used was very fine, Rosenberg described it as blouse weight, which I hadn't seen before, all the other faux suede and leather were too heavy for the double binding, this was perfect. I chalked the lines on the suede then cut. The pattern recommends using a single layer if bulky. I think reducing the height of the collar would work
12/27/03 3:50 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Susan, this is such a great, artsy coat. But, I made one two years ago and it didn't work for me either. I cut the smallest size, cut it down even more and was still overwhelmed with fabric. I think you are right, this is one of those garments best suited to somone tall. However, your coat did turn out very nicely - perhaps you could wear it with the collar unbuttoned so that you don't feel so closed in? I have always thought that this pattern would have worked for me if I had added a shawl collar instead. Unfortunately, I was too lazy to make it again.
12/26/03 3:40 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Arg! why didn't I proof that before I said submit? I meant to say 'Did you fold the edges under on your binding' and I'm planning to 'use a single layer to reduce the bulkiness' ... *egg on face*
12/26/03 10:36 AM
Lisa Laree said...
This is a very timely review for me, Susan...I have been telling myself that this is the project I will tackle as soon as everyone goes back to school/work. I have a faux suede to use for the binding, too -- did you folded the edges under on yours? I'm planning to cut VERY CAREFULLY and only use one layer, so as to reduce the binding. You're the only one who has reviewed this coat who has recommended omitting the sleeve detail, too...that's also something I have wondered about. I had pretty much decided to go for it; now I'm wavering. Tall and willowy I am not, but I'm planning to use it as a topcoat over jackets for the chillier of Alabama winter days, so perhaps I can get away with an Uncle Fester look just to be warm... (I got a chuckle out of that! ) Thanks for the reveiw!
12/26/03 10:33 AM
Linda E. said...
your coat is great. Thanks, for the review.
12/26/03 10:10 AM
Susan Smith said...
Try it now, the other folder is set to shared as well
12/26/03 9:55 AM
Linda E. said...
are your pictures set to shared It tells me they are not available
12/26/03 9:27 AM
Susan Smith said...
Sorry - when I click on the link it comes up fine
12/26/03 8:54 AM
Linda E. said...
picture is not available.
12/26/03 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

New Look 6000

photo
by: Karen Carr

Review
Kwik Sew 3462

photo
by: cleverclog...

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

More Info
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

More Info