SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5824 

7 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:atcsgame
photo

 
 
About atcsgame
NY USA
Member since: 7/5/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 12:37 PM
Last Updated:6/15/09 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Your bag looks really nice; thanks for the tips1
10/4/09 7:45 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this info. I made myself a similar laptop bag from Simp 4391, but the instructions--which I definitely needed--for adjustable straps were inadequate, so I made non-adjustable straps. Like you, I left the fusible fleece in the seam allowances, because that helps to cushion the edges. But it gets very difficult if not impossible to sew if there is too much bulk, as you suggest. I might get this McCall's pattern if I make another bag for my dear step daughter. Thanks again.
7/13/09 9:36 AM
atcsgame said...
I used Fusible Fleece and Decor Bond for the interfacing. I do cut my interfacing smaller (seam allowance) so I do not sew through all those layers. The instructions for the adjustible strap is very clear. You can use this strap on any bag in the future. It was a birthday gift for my sister and she is thrilled with the bag. She uses it for her work laptop.
7/7/09 5:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
You did a nice job with this pattern. May I ask what you used for cushioning and was it difficult to sew? Were the instructions clear for sewing the adjustable straps? Thanks.
7/6/09 7:31 AM
sewtime said...
Cute bag!!! Love the fabric and handle!!
6/15/09 4:53 PM
GlobalMom said...
What a great bag! And thanks for the tips - I'll probably sew bags over the summer and it's nice to get some ideas on how to do it before I cut the first fabric.
6/15/09 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Burda 7587

photo
by: junethstar

Review
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now