SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5824 

7 more reviews
Viewed 295 times 
Reviewed by:atcsgame
photo

 
 
About atcsgame
NY USA
Member since: 7/5/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 12:37 PM
Last Updated:6/15/09 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GlobalMom said...
What a great bag! And thanks for the tips - I'll probably sew bags over the summer and it's nice to get some ideas on how to do it before I cut the first fabric.
6/15/09 11:42 AM
sewtime said...
Cute bag!!! Love the fabric and handle!!
6/15/09 4:53 PM
JDpenelope said...
You did a nice job with this pattern. May I ask what you used for cushioning and was it difficult to sew? Were the instructions clear for sewing the adjustable straps? Thanks.
7/6/09 7:31 AM
atcsgame said...
I used Fusible Fleece and Decor Bond for the interfacing. I do cut my interfacing smaller (seam allowance) so I do not sew through all those layers. The instructions for the adjustible strap is very clear. You can use this strap on any bag in the future. It was a birthday gift for my sister and she is thrilled with the bag. She uses it for her work laptop.
7/7/09 5:25 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for this info. I made myself a similar laptop bag from Simp 4391, but the instructions--which I definitely needed--for adjustable straps were inadequate, so I made non-adjustable straps. Like you, I left the fusible fleece in the seam allowances, because that helps to cushion the edges. But it gets very difficult if not impossible to sew if there is too much bulk, as you suggest. I might get this McCall's pattern if I make another bag for my dear step daughter. Thanks again.
7/13/09 9:36 AM
Hilary said...
Your bag looks really nice; thanks for the tips1
10/4/09 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 7988

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review