SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5824 

7 more reviews
Viewed 296 times 
Reviewed by:atcsgame
photo

 
 
About atcsgame
NY USA
Member since: 7/5/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 12:37 PM
Last Updated:6/15/09 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said... (10/4/09 7:45 PM) Reply
Your bag looks really nice; thanks for the tips1
JDpenelope said... (7/13/09 9:36 AM) Reply
Thanks for this info. I made myself a similar laptop bag from Simp 4391, but the instructions--which I definitely needed--for adjustable straps were inadequate, so I made non-adjustable straps. Like you, I left the fusible fleece in the seam allowances, because that helps to cushion the edges. But it gets very difficult if not impossible to sew if there is too much bulk, as you suggest. I might get this McCall's pattern if I make another bag for my dear step daughter. Thanks again.
atcsgame said... (7/7/09 5:25 PM) Reply
I used Fusible Fleece and Decor Bond for the interfacing. I do cut my interfacing smaller (seam allowance) so I do not sew through all those layers. The instructions for the adjustible strap is very clear. You can use this strap on any bag in the future. It was a birthday gift for my sister and she is thrilled with the bag. She uses it for her work laptop.
JDpenelope said... (7/6/09 7:31 AM) Reply
You did a nice job with this pattern. May I ask what you used for cushioning and was it difficult to sew? Were the instructions clear for sewing the adjustable straps? Thanks.
sewtime said... (6/15/09 4:53 PM) Reply
Cute bag!!! Love the fabric and handle!!
GlobalMom said... (6/15/09 11:42 AM) Reply
What a great bag! And thanks for the tips - I'll probably sew bags over the summer and it's nice to get some ideas on how to do it before I cut the first fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Marfy 2264

photo
by: yorkshire ...

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1011

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review