Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 953 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:KozyKitty
photo
About KozyKittystar
MD USA
Member since: 7/17/08
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 3:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kkkkaty said...
lovely!
6/8/09 4:00 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- pretty!
6/8/09 4:06 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!!! stunning!
6/8/09 4:41 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress and perfect fit!
6/8/09 6:31 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous!! You look stunning in this dress!
6/8/09 7:54 PM
Athene said...
Your dress is fabulous and you look fabulous in it. This is such a great pattern.
6/8/09 10:17 PM
sewsincere said...
Very, very pretty dress!
6/9/09 11:09 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is simply gorgeous! The color is so rich and vibrant. Great job!
6/9/09 8:00 PM
Caroleleah said...
KozyKitty, your dress is exquisite! Perfect color for you, and great fit! I've been wanting to buy this pattern, but have one question perhaps you can answer: As it wraps to the back to hook, then zip, are you able to reach it to hook it yourself in the back? I'm single, so no husband to help hook my dress in the morning! :) Is the dress awkward at all to fasten? Thanks for your help. LOVE your dress!!!
6/10/09 7:16 AM
theluxuriousvagabond said...
This looks stunning! The deep red is a fantastic color on you, and I love your choice of fabric type.
6/11/09 3:00 PM
jhansby said...
Gorgeous!!
6/14/09 4:44 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Vicki, I love this dress! Interestingly I picked it out for a formal gala I'm attending at the end of next month (before remembering that this was the same pattern you made that I loved) and so I will be "muslining" this this week. I decided to go with a 12 when I was cutting the pattern pieces out b/c of the waist as the finished measurement was 28" but now after reading your review I may go down to a 10 (or even 8) and then add to the pattern tissue at the waistline as it will definitely be too small for me in those sizes given that it's at zero ease for me at the 12. I like that you used the bemberg rayon instead of the dupioni silk for the lining - about how much dupioni silk did you end up using then?
3/2/10 12:29 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely Dress! Perfect Fit --THANK YOU so much for details and photos of your muslin to correct the fit issues on the bodice. I am not an expert sewer, and was trying to figure out how to deal with exactly the gapping in my muslin that you addressed. Hope this will work for me -- I'm attempting it as a ball gown. . .
1/27/13 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 6355
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 12/7/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Avery Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 08-2010-03 Blouse
photo
Review by treefrog on 10/24/11
Read Review

Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8824 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us