SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-125 (Dress with ribbon trim)

1 more reviews
Viewed 938 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/09 9:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Wonderful, wonderful! :) I love your project notebook idea, too. And your photos. And your dog. ;)
6/8/09 9:31 PM
peaudane said...
What a fabulous dress! It looks perfect on you! I love the print combined with the yellow ribbon. So how much ribbon did you need?
6/8/09 9:36 PM
Catbird said...
I love it! Your adventurousness is admirable, going after projects that challenge you, and your results are superb. You have a fun sense of style.
6/8/09 9:58 PM
michellep74 said...
Really great looking dress! Great photos, too!
6/8/09 9:58 PM
kathleencramer said...
what a fabulous dress! You did an amazing job.
6/8/09 10:17 PM
Nancy K said...
Dress is fabulous on you and is very well done, congratulations. If you sew what you want instead of letting your skill level determine what you sew not only will get clothing you'll love, but your skill set will multiply much more quickly .
6/8/09 10:17 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your dress looks amazing and expensive.
6/8/09 10:18 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress!
6/8/09 10:18 PM
SewLil said...
It's beautiful. Fits you very nicely.
6/8/09 10:20 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful dress!!! You did a great job with all that ribbon trim!
6/8/09 10:31 PM
Erica B. said...
The dress is gorgeous!
6/8/09 10:37 PM
LindsayT said...
You can order petersham from the Sewing Place for your next project involving ribbon. It behaves like you want it to and curves and everything, especially when you shape it while wet. Great job on this dress! It's adorable on you.
6/8/09 10:44 PM
Lori V said...
Incredible dress, you did a marvelous job. The pictures are wonderful, too.
6/8/09 11:04 PM
mastdenman said...
I love it!!
6/8/09 11:54 PM
Karen6790 said...
Fabulous dress. You sew the way I started out - making what I wanted and figuring out the challenges as I tripped over them. You got a great result with this one, and I second LindsayT's recommendation for petersham. Great dress and photos.
6/9/09 0:20 AM
cabinbaby said...
Wow, what a great review. I like the pictures as much as I like the dress.
6/9/09 0:37 AM
Nancywin said...
This is a great dress and you did such a nice job! Now I'll have to go find my May BWOF and look it up! Keep up the good work!
6/9/09 0:46 AM
Twinset said...
Great dress, your pics are very interesting and so is the review! Thanks!
6/9/09 0:48 AM
katharin said...
You look fabulous in your dress! It's so chic. Great fabric and trim choice. And the photos are cool.
6/9/09 1:05 AM
Em's Summer said...
This has vintage lines! It's just beautiful! And what fun pics! Great review!!!
6/9/09 1:06 AM
SusiM said...
Wow! What a high-fashion dress! You carry the haute couture look very well. Striking and beautiful.
6/9/09 1:42 AM
Renren said...
The dress, the composition of the photographs, and Dinky's little tail puff--it's all just too much!!! Wonderful!
6/9/09 6:29 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I second sewing what you want/like. Your skill level will improve tremendously as long as you go slow and do exactly what you did--go to the experts' websites and find out! This is a great dress and the pictures are great, too. Now- on to the next project!
6/9/09 8:08 AM
carolynw said...
Love this - you look wonderful and love the photography - dress in action!!
6/9/09 8:26 AM
Sallygirl said...
What a cute dress!!! I love the log book too -- great idea!
6/9/09 9:52 AM
Marji said...
That is a fabulously attractive dress. Love your picture styling too. Great combo of color/fabric/trim.
6/9/09 10:08 AM
nicegirl said...
Totally fabulous dress! I'm going to have to look up the line drawing as soon as I get home because I don't remember anything that awesome in the magazine.
6/9/09 10:50 AM
crisford said...
What a fun dress! Looks like you did a fabulous job, the details add so much.
6/9/09 11:05 AM
sewbehind said...
What lovely pictures. Great dress. If it were not for your surroundings, I could imagine you wearing this in Paris. Just had that look to me.
6/9/09 11:27 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Fun review to read. You and Dinky are quite a pair. Your dress looks nice and not at all bargain as implied by "cheap 50% off cotton." Nice job! I'm glad you're tackling projects that you perceive to be a little above your level of expertise: the results are clearly worth it.
6/9/09 5:12 PM
Tez said...
Awesome dress!
6/9/09 5:50 PM
Edris said...
Your dress looks great! Good for you going for what you like and not letting your skill level deter you!
6/9/09 6:10 PM
vivianna said...
Great job! The dress is fabulous and looks perfect on you.
6/9/09 7:07 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your dress is lovely! You look timeless wearing it - it's such a great style on you. Great job!
6/9/09 7:56 PM
graustark said...
Whoa, thanks for all the kind comments and encouragement! I read many of your sewing blogs, and find them really inspiring.

peaudane -- I used two of those cardboard reels of ribbon ... not sure how much is on a reel. I think I had maybe six inches left over!

LindsayT -- thanks for the tip on the petersham ribbon: I will definitely be ordering some. The stuff I used was like sewing snakes! I saw a woman wearing a paneled skirt with ribbon along the panel seams .... that would be fun to try ...

On the photos ... we just took tons of them and kept only the best. I'm really more of a film photographer, but this is one place where digital really has the advantage!
6/9/09 8:50 PM
Christas said...
I have been admiring this pattern in the magazine for a long time. Your version is absolutely WONDERFUL! Fantastic job of sewing!
6/10/09 9:32 AM
rsersh said...
This is just such a great review and the project is totally drool-worthy! Inspiration!
6/10/09 11:31 AM
Beek said...
So fabulously FORTIES! I love this style and I also love the pooch! I need a dress while walking my pup! Great review.
6/10/09 1:59 PM
meli88a said...
WOW. your dress is a million times better looking than the version in the magazine.
6/10/09 10:03 PM
amy in mpls said...
This is just about the freaking cutest dress Ive ever seen! I love it, love it, and your photoshoot with the dog... too cute!
6/12/09 5:05 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Gorgeous! I wasn't sure if I should before but you pushed me to add this pattern to my sew list, thank you so much for the review, you look so so chic!
6/12/09 5:29 PM
MarnieS said...
I never noticed this dress in the magazine. Your version makes me want to sew it! Very good job! Love the fabric choice!
7/31/09 1:34 PM
valerie sews said...
Cute dress and I love love love the photo. At first I thought it was someone walking their dog in Paris!
8/1/09 4:21 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Your version of this dress is totally chic and you inspired me to give it a crack! Did you see on the pattern the slash mark on the sleeve to insert a sleeve vent? That is how you get the sleeve band to button over to the other side. The placket sewn up the vent creates a lapped cuff. Thanks for the heads up.
8/23/09 0:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

brerrabbit.com Jeans for American Girls

photo
by: HOWsMom

Review
Burda 7401

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now