Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 425 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 12:42 PM
Last Updated:6/9/09 12:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I've keep looking at this pattern, and now I'll have to get it. Love the fabric too...you're lucky to have a close source for Kokka fabrics, I have to say I'm just a tad jealous! ;)
6/9/09 1:42 PM
moonchild61 said...
I love this bag! Nice Job!
6/9/09 2:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
I bought this pattern too with the idea of using some of those great Japanese cottons I have. Now to get to it....
6/9/09 3:37 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great fabric for that bag. Now I have to consider that pattern because your purse looks fabulous!
6/9/09 5:00 PM
KarmenG said...
Love your bag!!! This pattern is one I have on my To Do list very shortly but have been afraid it'll be time consuming. I plan to make view A. How much time did it take you? Do you think a home dec canvas type fabric will be too heavy? I love the design and shape. Thanks for doing the review.
6/9/09 10:27 PM
SueV said...
Karmeng, No, I do not think canvas will be too heavy. I used a heavier cotton which I interfaced. I also interfaced the lining (but that silk can be flimsy and I usually interface it). I think the bag took more time in finding, organizing, and cutting the pattern. EACH piece has it's own pattern (i.e., front, back, side 1, side 2, facing front, facing back, facing side 1, etc.) because it assumes you are making it out of a "collage" of fabrics. BUT, if you are just making it with 1 fabric, you can cut 2 and eliminate 1/2 the pattern pieces. The other time consuming part was labeling the pattern pieces that were not labeled. But once it was cut and ready to sew, it was way less than 2 hours, and that was with a few mistakes on my part (I sewed an inside pocket in upside down, straps on the wrong sides) and so I had to redo. But the inside zipper went in quicklywith the instructions, and then it's just sides, facings (which by the way, look nice out of a contrasting fabric, and is also a nice feature (having facings) because you can use a fabric that has some heft to it and an actual lighter weight lining). I used a different fabric, but same weight as the outside bag, the chartreuse for the facing.
6/9/09 11:38 PM
sarahb said...
Love it-I think I'll have to get this pattern...
6/10/09 8:28 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Super cute! Your choice of fabric is very creative.
6/10/09 8:37 AM
jso4fun said...
Yay! I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern! So great to hear that it looks as good "in person" as on the cover art, and that it is so easy to put together! Thank you! You did a great job, and your bag is fabulous!
6/10/09 2:36 PM
fryman said...
Great photos and great bag. Go Girl!
6/10/09 5:49 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice job and review. I'm on a bag sewing toot and am trying to gleen all the tips possible. Thanks for giving me a few more.
6/22/09 7:41 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
Your bag is lovely .. I thought I'd seen all the nice bag patterns these companies had put out but I guess not .. sigh .. one more to buy :) Love the fabric choices .. nice and bright :) Very femme.
6/30/09 4:44 PM
Diane E said...
Love your bag! Beautiful fabric. Looks like a great way to use smaller pieces of special fabric.
9/7/09 12:36 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 8632 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by Jocelot on 6/15/10
Read Review

Burda 8373 Pattern
Burda 8373 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6714 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6714 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

By Hand London Victoria Blazer
photo
Review by Lindablue on 4/14/14
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Clutch Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us