Online Sewing Class: The Contemporary Couture Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 441 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews: 466 (patterns: 433)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 127 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 12:42 PM
Last Updated:6/9/09 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by SueV using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GwendolenG said... (6/26/14 11:29 AM) Reply
Thank you for the note about cutting out--I always cut out first and would have lost the info! Thanks for a great review--I love your fabric choices, too!
Diane E said... (9/7/09 12:36 PM) Reply
Love your bag! Beautiful fabric. Looks like a great way to use smaller pieces of special fabric.
Mrs. Columbo said... (6/30/09 4:44 PM) Reply
Your bag is lovely .. I thought I'd seen all the nice bag patterns these companies had put out but I guess not .. sigh .. one more to buy :) Love the fabric choices .. nice and bright :) Very femme.
JDpenelope said... (6/22/09 7:41 PM) Reply
Nice job and review. I'm on a bag sewing toot and am trying to gleen all the tips possible. Thanks for giving me a few more.
fryman said... (6/10/09 5:49 PM) Reply
Great photos and great bag. Go Girl!
jso4fun said... (6/10/09 2:36 PM) Reply
Yay! I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern! So great to hear that it looks as good "in person" as on the cover art, and that it is so easy to put together! Thank you! You did a great job, and your bag is fabulous!
ColorMeHome said... (6/10/09 8:37 AM) Reply
Super cute! Your choice of fabric is very creative.
sarahb said... (6/10/09 8:28 AM) Reply
Love it-I think I'll have to get this pattern...
SueV said... (6/9/09 11:38 PM) Reply
Karmeng, No, I do not think canvas will be too heavy. I used a heavier cotton which I interfaced. I also interfaced the lining (but that silk can be flimsy and I usually interface it). I think the bag took more time in finding, organizing, and cutting the pattern. EACH piece has it's own pattern (i.e., front, back, side 1, side 2, facing front, facing back, facing side 1, etc.) because it assumes you are making it out of a "collage" of fabrics. BUT, if you are just making it with 1 fabric, you can cut 2 and eliminate 1/2 the pattern pieces. The other time consuming part was labeling the pattern pieces that were not labeled. But once it was cut and ready to sew, it was way less than 2 hours, and that was with a few mistakes on my part (I sewed an inside pocket in upside down, straps on the wrong sides) and so I had to redo. But the inside zipper went in quicklywith the instructions, and then it's just sides, facings (which by the way, look nice out of a contrasting fabric, and is also a nice feature (having facings) because you can use a fabric that has some heft to it and an actual lighter weight lining). I used a different fabric, but same weight as the outside bag, the chartreuse for the facing.
KarmenG said... (6/9/09 10:27 PM) Reply
Love your bag!!! This pattern is one I have on my To Do list very shortly but have been afraid it'll be time consuming. I plan to make view A. How much time did it take you? Do you think a home dec canvas type fabric will be too heavy? I love the design and shape. Thanks for doing the review.
gatorgirl4325 said... (6/9/09 5:00 PM) Reply
Great fabric for that bag. Now I have to consider that pattern because your purse looks fabulous!
Ann Smith said... (6/9/09 3:37 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern too with the idea of using some of those great Japanese cottons I have. Now to get to it....
moonchild61 said... (6/9/09 2:55 PM) Reply
I love this bag! Nice Job!
Izzie said... (6/9/09 1:42 PM) Reply
Cute, cute, cute!!! I've keep looking at this pattern, and now I'll have to get it. Love the fabric too...you're lucky to have a close source for Kokka fabrics, I have to say I'm just a tad jealous! ;)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

New Look 6802

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
No Pattern Used Shower curtain

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Pattern Details
Checkbook Cover Paper Pattern

Checkbook Cover Paper Pattern

Pattern Details