SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8590 (TOTES AND DOUBLE BAGS)

8 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 452
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 117 people
patterns reviewed: 419
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 12:42 PM
Last Updated:6/9/09 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
Cute, cute, cute!!! I've keep looking at this pattern, and now I'll have to get it. Love the fabric too...you're lucky to have a close source for Kokka fabrics, I have to say I'm just a tad jealous! ;)
6/9/09 1:42 PM
moonchild61 said...
I love this bag! Nice Job!
6/9/09 2:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
I bought this pattern too with the idea of using some of those great Japanese cottons I have. Now to get to it....
6/9/09 3:37 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great fabric for that bag. Now I have to consider that pattern because your purse looks fabulous!
6/9/09 5:00 PM
KarmenG said...
Love your bag!!! This pattern is one I have on my To Do list very shortly but have been afraid it'll be time consuming. I plan to make view A. How much time did it take you? Do you think a home dec canvas type fabric will be too heavy? I love the design and shape. Thanks for doing the review.
6/9/09 10:27 PM
SueV said...
Karmeng, No, I do not think canvas will be too heavy. I used a heavier cotton which I interfaced. I also interfaced the lining (but that silk can be flimsy and I usually interface it). I think the bag took more time in finding, organizing, and cutting the pattern. EACH piece has it's own pattern (i.e., front, back, side 1, side 2, facing front, facing back, facing side 1, etc.) because it assumes you are making it out of a "collage" of fabrics. BUT, if you are just making it with 1 fabric, you can cut 2 and eliminate 1/2 the pattern pieces. The other time consuming part was labeling the pattern pieces that were not labeled. But once it was cut and ready to sew, it was way less than 2 hours, and that was with a few mistakes on my part (I sewed an inside pocket in upside down, straps on the wrong sides) and so I had to redo. But the inside zipper went in quicklywith the instructions, and then it's just sides, facings (which by the way, look nice out of a contrasting fabric, and is also a nice feature (having facings) because you can use a fabric that has some heft to it and an actual lighter weight lining). I used a different fabric, but same weight as the outside bag, the chartreuse for the facing.
6/9/09 11:38 PM
sarahb said...
Love it-I think I'll have to get this pattern...
6/10/09 8:28 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Super cute! Your choice of fabric is very creative.
6/10/09 8:37 AM
jso4fun said...
Yay! I've been waiting for someone to review this pattern! So great to hear that it looks as good "in person" as on the cover art, and that it is so easy to put together! Thank you! You did a great job, and your bag is fabulous!
6/10/09 2:36 PM
fryman said...
Great photos and great bag. Go Girl!
6/10/09 5:49 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice job and review. I'm on a bag sewing toot and am trying to gleen all the tips possible. Thanks for giving me a few more.
6/22/09 7:41 PM
Mrs. Columbo said...
Your bag is lovely .. I thought I'd seen all the nice bag patterns these companies had put out but I guess not .. sigh .. one more to buy :) Love the fabric choices .. nice and bright :) Very femme.
6/30/09 4:44 PM
Diane E said...
Love your bag! Beautiful fabric. Looks like a great way to use smaller pieces of special fabric.
9/7/09 12:36 PM
GwendolenG said...
Thank you for the note about cutting out--I always cut out first and would have lost the info! Thanks for a great review--I love your fabric choices, too!
6/26/14 11:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now