Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5890 thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 792 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 195
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 182
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 7:58 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Linda- thanks for reviewing this as it is on my "short list" of patterns to pick up when they go on sale. The color is great and looks wonderful with your dress. I'm with you that this is a very odd way to finish the edge of the collar. What about stitching over it with the wrong side of the coverstitch showing or some similar stitch (in matching thread). That might be a little less obvious than trim. My other trick is to hang it in the closet for a week or two and then re-evaluating!
6/9/09 9:45 PM
carolynw said...
Linda I think it looks quite nice but I do understand that it may be disappointing to you in some areas - seconding Peggy's suggestion - let it hang for a while and it may seem more acceptable. Lovely color - matches the dress perfectly - very thoughtful review
6/10/09 9:13 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for alerting us to a possible dislike about this pattern. I agree with Peggy, a coverstitch hem might be just the ticket. They look good both sides.
6/10/09 10:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang! I know what you mean about not liking to have the underside of your garment/seams showing. I don't like it either. BUT I'm wondering if you might be able to just fold that shawl collar UNDER when wearing it instead of back, thus exposing a folded edge instead of the wrong side of your fabric. Know what I mean, jelly bean? If you had it belted at the waist, seems like that would work (and maybe even if not belted). I just hate to see it go to waste because it's PERFECT with your dress, AND I love that color!
6/10/09 1:26 PM
AdaH said...
I wish I had read this review before I made the cardi. I dislike the way they do the shawl collar. I am not finished with it yet and wonder if I even want to. My knit is not as drapy as it needs to be. "I will not sew another pattern together until I have searched PR" first.
3/20/10 0:16 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I've made 2 of these with long sleeves, using a mesh fabric (one was a lovely embroidered lace mesh, the other a heavier printed mesh, both of which looked nice on either side so the turned back collar was fine). I used a rolled hem on the edges which eliminated the problem you had with the turned over hem (which I also didn't like) & the rolled hem looked lovely on the mesh. I also ignored the tucks in one jacket as the mesh scrunched up nicely on its own anyway. On a 3rd jacket I've now made where I did do turned hems, on the coller I turned them the opposite way to what the directions said, ie. to the right side. This also worked well. (I turned under to the wrong side on sleeve & bodice hems) I'll be making a few more of these in some plain fabrics as it is such a flattering style to throw over a cami top. I absolutely love the lime green knit you've used & am sorry you weren't more pleased with your result as I think you did a beautiful job on it.
4/28/10 11:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Downloadable 10003 Twister Dress
photo
Review by Bonnie123 on 1/30/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8292 Coats
photo
Review by KarlaB on 1/26/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8889 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us