SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Viewed 805 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 199
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 186
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 7:58 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
I've made 2 of these with long sleeves, using a mesh fabric (one was a lovely embroidered lace mesh, the other a heavier printed mesh, both of which looked nice on either side so the turned back collar was fine). I used a rolled hem on the edges which eliminated the problem you had with the turned over hem (which I also didn't like) & the rolled hem looked lovely on the mesh. I also ignored the tucks in one jacket as the mesh scrunched up nicely on its own anyway. On a 3rd jacket I've now made where I did do turned hems, on the coller I turned them the opposite way to what the directions said, ie. to the right side. This also worked well. (I turned under to the wrong side on sleeve & bodice hems) I'll be making a few more of these in some plain fabrics as it is such a flattering style to throw over a cami top. I absolutely love the lime green knit you've used & am sorry you weren't more pleased with your result as I think you did a beautiful job on it.
4/28/10 11:34 PM
AdaH said...
I wish I had read this review before I made the cardi. I dislike the way they do the shawl collar. I am not finished with it yet and wonder if I even want to. My knit is not as drapy as it needs to be. "I will not sew another pattern together until I have searched PR" first.
3/20/10 0:16 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang! I know what you mean about not liking to have the underside of your garment/seams showing. I don't like it either. BUT I'm wondering if you might be able to just fold that shawl collar UNDER when wearing it instead of back, thus exposing a folded edge instead of the wrong side of your fabric. Know what I mean, jelly bean? If you had it belted at the waist, seems like that would work (and maybe even if not belted). I just hate to see it go to waste because it's PERFECT with your dress, AND I love that color!
6/10/09 1:26 PM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for alerting us to a possible dislike about this pattern. I agree with Peggy, a coverstitch hem might be just the ticket. They look good both sides.
6/10/09 10:50 AM
carolynw said...
Linda I think it looks quite nice but I do understand that it may be disappointing to you in some areas - seconding Peggy's suggestion - let it hang for a while and it may seem more acceptable. Lovely color - matches the dress perfectly - very thoughtful review
6/10/09 9:13 AM
Peggy L said...
Linda- thanks for reviewing this as it is on my "short list" of patterns to pick up when they go on sale. The color is great and looks wonderful with your dress. I'm with you that this is a very odd way to finish the edge of the collar. What about stitching over it with the wrong side of the coverstitch showing or some similar stitch (in matching thread). That might be a little less obvious than trim. My other trick is to hang it in the closet for a week or two and then re-evaluating!
6/9/09 9:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
McCall's 6544

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review

Pattern