SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5890 

29 more reviews
Viewed 800 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 7:58 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Linda- thanks for reviewing this as it is on my "short list" of patterns to pick up when they go on sale. The color is great and looks wonderful with your dress. I'm with you that this is a very odd way to finish the edge of the collar. What about stitching over it with the wrong side of the coverstitch showing or some similar stitch (in matching thread). That might be a little less obvious than trim. My other trick is to hang it in the closet for a week or two and then re-evaluating!
6/9/09 9:45 PM
carolynw said...
Linda I think it looks quite nice but I do understand that it may be disappointing to you in some areas - seconding Peggy's suggestion - let it hang for a while and it may seem more acceptable. Lovely color - matches the dress perfectly - very thoughtful review
6/10/09 9:13 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for alerting us to a possible dislike about this pattern. I agree with Peggy, a coverstitch hem might be just the ticket. They look good both sides.
6/10/09 10:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Dang! I know what you mean about not liking to have the underside of your garment/seams showing. I don't like it either. BUT I'm wondering if you might be able to just fold that shawl collar UNDER when wearing it instead of back, thus exposing a folded edge instead of the wrong side of your fabric. Know what I mean, jelly bean? If you had it belted at the waist, seems like that would work (and maybe even if not belted). I just hate to see it go to waste because it's PERFECT with your dress, AND I love that color!
6/10/09 1:26 PM
AdaH said...
I wish I had read this review before I made the cardi. I dislike the way they do the shawl collar. I am not finished with it yet and wonder if I even want to. My knit is not as drapy as it needs to be. "I will not sew another pattern together until I have searched PR" first.
3/20/10 0:16 AM
Mazzygirl said...
I've made 2 of these with long sleeves, using a mesh fabric (one was a lovely embroidered lace mesh, the other a heavier printed mesh, both of which looked nice on either side so the turned back collar was fine). I used a rolled hem on the edges which eliminated the problem you had with the turned over hem (which I also didn't like) & the rolled hem looked lovely on the mesh. I also ignored the tucks in one jacket as the mesh scrunched up nicely on its own anyway. On a 3rd jacket I've now made where I did do turned hems, on the coller I turned them the opposite way to what the directions said, ie. to the right side. This also worked well. (I turned under to the wrong side on sleeve & bodice hems) I'll be making a few more of these in some plain fabrics as it is such a flattering style to throw over a cami top. I absolutely love the lime green knit you've used & am sorry you weren't more pleased with your result as I think you did a beautiful job on it.
4/28/10 11:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 162225-1002

photo
by: UglyCute

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-127

photo
by: starryfish

Review