SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-122 (Blouse with drawstring)

2 more reviews
Viewed 612 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/09 10:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said... (6/18/09 9:03 AM) Reply
the one without the sleeve bands is definitely my fave. Flattering design. Thanks for your review. I have this traced out and will start the muslin today. I find their description of the front band very consfusing.
amy in mpls said... (6/12/09 5:00 PM) Reply
So cute! Love both versions!
Kellie R. said... (6/10/09 9:54 PM) Reply
Very cute!
Catbird said... (6/10/09 3:11 PM) Reply
Very pretty! I love the color of version #1. I agree that the sleeves give it a Jetsonesque quality, but you wear it well. I think your narrow ruffle idea would work beautifully with this top. What a horror show those BWOF instructions can be! Even simple things are made to seem as complex as a Japanese tea ceremony. Congratulations for perservering.
michellep74 said... (6/10/09 1:09 PM) Reply
Very pretty blouse--both versions! Congrats on persevering through the sleeve bands.
Karen6790 said... (6/10/09 9:38 AM) Reply
I like the sleeveless version - for all that the sleeve bands put you through, I think sleeveless is a better look. I like that the husband attempted to decipher the instructions for you, he's a keeper. Great job.
Christas said... (6/10/09 9:21 AM) Reply
Cute top! The second version is my favorite.
graustark said... (6/10/09 8:03 AM) Reply
Thanks, y'all! And yes, I did put the casing on the outside, since they didn't mention making buttonholes to thread the tie through. Oh, and I bought a bodkin to turn the tie, rather than trying to use pencils or knitting needles and oh WOW am I happy about spending that $3!
CynthiaSue said... (6/10/09 0:52 AM) Reply
i have this cut out! i'm so glad there's a review. your pictures and top are lovely. Did you sew the casing on the outside. ?The instructions don't really say whether to sew it on the outside or inside.
Vintage Joan said... (6/9/09 11:38 PM) Reply
Nice! I agree that the sleeves as designed are a bit "out there" -- I like your idea of making this sleeveless. Your first (non-sleeveless) version is a gorgeous color, though! Oh, and those are the perfect buttons you've used on version 2. It's great that you now have a button trove. Everyone should have one. :) Yay, Aunt Dora!
pterion said... (6/9/09 11:21 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt - I like the one without the sleeve bands best, although both versions are flattering. The vintage buttons were a good score!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Monkeysbug Festival Bustle Skirt

photo
by: p3patch

Review
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Pattern Details
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-31

photo
by: callmeRuth

Review