Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 3830 (Misses' straight skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 745 times 78 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:6/13/09 8:25 PM
Last Updated:6/14/09 5:10 PM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.96  List Price: $14.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty skirt, Nancy!
6/13/09 8:36 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty skirt, the fabric is gorgeous.
6/13/09 9:10 PM
khunter said...
I absolutely love it . You do such a professional job!
6/13/09 9:36 PM
Christas said...
Each one of your skirts looks so nice and fits you so perfectly.
6/13/09 11:23 PM
LaVerneDee said...
Fabulous skirt! I love the green paisley!
6/13/09 11:43 PM
FreyaStark said...
I love blue and green, and paisley, too!
6/14/09 0:50 AM
Renren said...
Sandra Betzina has a method of adding a vent to a skirt with lining. I've never done it but I remember reading about it. Nice skirt!
6/14/09 1:23 AM
Renren said...
Sorry, forgot to tell you--the vent/lining technique was covered in the Skirts chapter of SB's Power Sewing. But yours looks perfect as is.
6/14/09 8:34 AM
morzel said...
Nice skirt! Lovely fabric and great pattern matching at CB.
6/14/09 8:52 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi!! What is "twill tape"? Does it come in a package?
6/14/09 9:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thanks for the great review on your lovely, paisley pencil skirt. Your work is always impeccable, Nancy!
6/14/09 10:03 AM
Nancywin said...
Twill tape is usually cotton or polyester tape that does not stretch. I like to buy the 1/4". A similar product is called Tailor's tape. I bought a HUGE roll from zipperstop.com and it will last me about 2 lifetimes! You can buy it in smaller quantities in packages, but it is sometimes hard to find. I have also purchased smaller quantities on ebay.
6/14/09 10:06 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review - especially for mentioning that you generally stabilize at the waist with this. All your skirts look great and I really like how you matched the pattern at the back zipper/seam (on your blog). Also the helpfulness or not of the book mentioned regarding the lining vent. Can you please advise from your experience, for the measurements of one's actual hips, which size you would suggest? (i.e. one's hips measurement = x in., therefore choose pattern's actual hip measurements y in., which equals x in. + ? in.)
6/14/09 12:23 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful craftsmenship. lovely lining. my jaw dropped at how good that lapped zipper is! the main link for your "composite" picture when you click on the thumbnail isn't working. but everything else is.
6/14/09 2:58 PM
maryfrana said...
Such beautiful workmanship. Love this print too.
6/14/09 3:59 PM
Aixoise said...
Nice job on the skirt; thanks for recommending the pattern. I couldn't get my mind around C. Long's vent lining instructions, either. I just "deconstructed" the vent assembly on some Talbot's tailored skirts and copied their method. I know I have good instructions somewhere in the piles of books and magazines. If I ever find them, I'll let you know.
6/14/09 5:34 PM
Em's Summer said...
All versions look great, but I especially love the green paisley skirt! Great job!
6/14/09 7:15 PM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful skirt Nancy, and a reminder that simple classic shapes are ultimately the best. I love the green.
6/14/09 7:59 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great looking skirt. Your lapped zipper method is fawless.
6/14/09 8:31 PM
persevering said...
Your care and efforts to explain your procedures are very much appreciated. :)
6/15/09 11:56 AM
MissCelie said...
That is pretty fabulous Nancy! Go Burda with the trend setting!
6/15/09 8:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by jrbarham on 3/16/12
Read Review

New Look 6613 Pattern
New Look 6613 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other LL007 Padfolio
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 2/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us