SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2649 (Misses' Dress in Two Lengths)

Viewed 340 times 
Reviewed by:Just T
photo

 
 
About Just T
TX USA
Member since: 6/13/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 9:05 AM
Last Updated:6/15/09 10:48 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Lovely dress quite in keeping with your "theme." BTW, I love your blog.
6/15/09 2:09 PM
EleanorSews said...
It lloks like the perfect summer dress when you have to be out in the heat and just don't want anything restrictive on. You might want to consider tissue fitting and measuring the flat pieces to check on the amount of ease, but I'm thinking crazygrad has a good thought that perhaps this one is supposed to be a looser fit.
6/15/09 1:18 PM
NC Carol said...
Cute dress! I know what it's like to sew something and then have the finished dress not fit the way you like. I used to compare my pattern pieces to similar items in my closet to get a sense of the fit before I cut things out. In Jan. 2009 I took the "Fit for Real People" class at a local sewing store. Now I tissue fit the pattern and pin fit the garment. A lot of work! But my sewing projects definitely fit better. Good luck and keep on sewing!
6/15/09 10:58 AM
lyrae said...
Here's something: I've also done one of the Simplicity "It's So Easy" dresses and it had waaay more ease than I expected. (In fact, the tissue says 7" ease, which I've since found out is at the high end for women's dresses.) It wound up way baggier than the body-skimming photo on the envelope. Your review makes me wonder if that line is drafted larger than their other patterns.
6/14/09 10:21 AM
crazygrad said...
From the pic, the dress is cute. Looking at the pattern, it doesn't look formfitting. Perhaps it is meant to be a looser dress?
6/14/09 9:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Butterick 4790

photo
by: thecurious...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

More Info
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

More Info