Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-108 (Waistcoat/Vest) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 310 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:eugenia123
photo
Friend of PR
About eugenia123starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/08
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 10:31 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
This is very flattering on you. I like that one could accessorize with this waistcoat and advance a casual outfit up one notch especially your version with the silver thread woven in.
6/14/09 10:50 AM
Beek said...
This is such a cute vest/top. It looks great over a sleeveless tank - makes the outfit more versatile. Nice review - thanks!
6/14/09 10:52 AM
Lori V said...
This looks great on you, a very nice wardrobe addition.
6/14/09 11:09 AM
cabinbaby said...
Very nice vest. I love your version.
6/14/09 12:49 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice! Your fabric choice is really pretty.
6/14/09 1:55 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is a lovely vest. It looks very nice on you. Great job!!
6/14/09 1:58 PM
Lynz said...
Your waiscoat looks great on you.
6/14/09 2:18 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for a great review. This looks great on you and now I HAVE to make it! Your tips will be revisited by me often, I suspect. Great job.
6/14/09 4:25 PM
Karen6790 said...
This turned out really pretty. I love the linen, that little bit of shine really adds something, and the buttons were worth the search, it all came together beautifully.
6/14/09 4:33 PM
Linda G said...
Thanks for the review. I have looked at this pattern several times and I think your review has convinced me to make it up, I have some left over wool from a pair of slacks, not really enough for a jacket but I could make this vest. I am thinking it would look great in the winter over a turtleneck.
6/14/09 6:25 PM
Catbird said...
I like how this turned out! You've done a beautiful job, as you always do. And I like the buttons you've chosen. I agree that it would look great in satin. Velvet, too!
6/14/09 7:41 PM
lamstu said...
This pattern is on my cutting table even now! Your review will be helpful as I proceed with my first ever BWOF. And your great result is so encouraging.
6/15/09 2:49 AM
Lizz said...
Thanks so much for the helpful tips, especially pressing the sleeves the correct direction. I am planning on adding this to my sewing list ASAP!
6/15/09 10:16 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Looks great!! Very helpful review also.
6/15/09 10:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sucy a snazzy waistcoat on you. Burdie's version did not catch my eye as yours did. I like the cap sleeves on you, emphasizing your sleek arms.
6/16/09 0:50 AM
kerrynw said...
Very cute vest!
7/14/09 12:26 PM
Aunt Gail said...
I would like you to think about making the dress up version - with a satin collar but the body be a burnout velvet with a black sheer lining? Just a thought. Great work and review.
8/15/09 3:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vanilla House Designs P144
photo
Review by Peggy L on 5/9/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 502 Pattern
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1610 Misses Dress
photo
Review by tanyamaile on 11/22/13
Read Review

Jalie 3136 Pattern
Jalie 3136 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3889 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3889 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us