SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2009-108 (Waistcoat/Vest)

7 more reviews
Viewed 311 times 
Reviewed by:eugenia123
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About eugenia123starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/6/08
Reviews written: 47
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 10:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
I would like you to think about making the dress up version - with a satin collar but the body be a burnout velvet with a black sheer lining? Just a thought. Great work and review.
8/15/09 3:09 AM
kerrynw said...
Very cute vest!
7/14/09 12:26 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sucy a snazzy waistcoat on you. Burdie's version did not catch my eye as yours did. I like the cap sleeves on you, emphasizing your sleek arms.
6/16/09 0:50 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Looks great!! Very helpful review also.
6/15/09 10:37 AM
Lizz said...
Thanks so much for the helpful tips, especially pressing the sleeves the correct direction. I am planning on adding this to my sewing list ASAP!
6/15/09 10:16 AM
lamstu said...
This pattern is on my cutting table even now! Your review will be helpful as I proceed with my first ever BWOF. And your great result is so encouraging.
6/15/09 2:49 AM
Catbird said...
I like how this turned out! You've done a beautiful job, as you always do. And I like the buttons you've chosen. I agree that it would look great in satin. Velvet, too!
6/14/09 7:41 PM
Linda G said...
Thanks for the review. I have looked at this pattern several times and I think your review has convinced me to make it up, I have some left over wool from a pair of slacks, not really enough for a jacket but I could make this vest. I am thinking it would look great in the winter over a turtleneck.
6/14/09 6:25 PM
Karen6790 said...
This turned out really pretty. I love the linen, that little bit of shine really adds something, and the buttons were worth the search, it all came together beautifully.
6/14/09 4:33 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for a great review. This looks great on you and now I HAVE to make it! Your tips will be revisited by me often, I suspect. Great job.
6/14/09 4:25 PM
Lynz said...
Your waiscoat looks great on you.
6/14/09 2:18 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is a lovely vest. It looks very nice on you. Great job!!
6/14/09 1:58 PM
Christas said...
This looks so nice! Your fabric choice is really pretty.
6/14/09 1:55 PM
cabinbaby said...
Very nice vest. I love your version.
6/14/09 12:49 PM
Lori V said...
This looks great on you, a very nice wardrobe addition.
6/14/09 11:09 AM
Beek said...
This is such a cute vest/top. It looks great over a sleeveless tank - makes the outfit more versatile. Nice review - thanks!
6/14/09 10:52 AM
Frogstitcher said...
This is very flattering on you. I like that one could accessorize with this waistcoat and advance a casual outfit up one notch especially your version with the silver thread woven in.
6/14/09 10:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

StyleArc Stacie Jean Jacket

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Simplicity 2115

photo
by: Miss Lola

Review
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

More Info
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info