SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2907 (MISSES'/MISSES' PETITE PANTS)

22 more reviews
Viewed 550 times 
Reviewed by:SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraBstarstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/09 4:26 PM
Last Updated:6/14/09 4:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Caroleleah said...
Thank you, Sandra, for your candid review! I also have curves (and generally love it, except for getting Vogue pants to fit! lol!), and have wondered about this pattern. It's been on my Wish List for awhile, but I was concerned about how it would look on a lady who doesn't have such a straight figure. I agree w/ the others - you've done a magnificent job on the pants, and they're really very sharp, even tho' they didn't end up suiting your figure the way you'd hoped. Again, thank you - perhaps it would be best if I take this one off of the Wish List. *sigh*
6/15/09 7:17 PM
katie lynne said...
Even tho you don't like the way they turned out, you've done a magnificent job. Your work is lovely, this is the first review of yours that I've read. Maybe if they're comfortable enough, you could wear them with a tunic top--because they look like they fit you like a glove. :-) Thanks for sharing.
6/15/09 6:46 PM
Patti B said...
Sandra, you've just saved many other curvy gals from disappointment with this pattern! Lovely job of sewing in spite of the pattern.
6/15/09 10:37 AM
carolynw said...
Hi Sandra - this did not work for me either - may be my body shape or??? but it was a let down as it has very favourable reviews - guess somethigns are not meant to be eh? How about BOLT!!! Justr finished " e-talking" with nephew in Jamaica. Have a great day
6/15/09 9:14 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the candid review, Sandra. Slant front pockets are always a challenge, and these hit lower than most. Love the piping; at least, as you said, you got practice with your piping skills.
6/15/09 5:49 AM
Renren said...
You know, from the front view, when I saw this picture, I said, "Wow, what a sharp looking outfit." Then I saw you weren't too happy with the pants, and I do see a few things in the rear shot that might need tweaking. Still, you've done a really, really nice job. Sorry you did not get the fit you had hoped for because your skills appear to be top notch. Ah, you are a good sewist, and I always look forward to your reviews.
6/14/09 11:10 PM
Nancywin said...
I'm so glad you wrote this review. I have seen/heard so many people do this one, and have been tempted to try it. I have legs like yours, so now I know exactly what they would look like on me! And I agree with wendlesue. I have tried a couple of vogue pants patterns and have never got them to fit right. I've had much better luck with Burda and McCalls. Something about the shape of the crotch curve in Vogue does not work for me, but for some reason I keep trying!
6/14/09 10:17 PM
wendlesue said...
It is too bad these did not work for you. You have a lovely figure! I have tried a couple of vogue pants patterns and have had a lot of fit issues with them. I've had much better results from the Threads pants Simplicity makes. I haven't really written off Vogue yet, but it is so disappointing to do a great job as you have, and end up with a wadder!
6/14/09 8:01 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Sandra, you did such a nice job on these. I'm sorry you're disappointed. If it's any consolation, the pattern didn't work for my curvy daughter, either, so it's not just you.
6/14/09 4:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6243

photo
by: velosewer

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 309681-1001

photo
by: HelenM01

Review