SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5109 (Lugano Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1757 times 
Reviewed by:Tiner W
photo

 
 
About Tiner Wstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/29/02
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/29/03 11:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
love your jacket you did a great job. I think the sweater type fabric is good for this jacket. I also agree that a linen would look good for this jacket
12/30/03 5:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I would not have thought of using sweater knit for the jacket but after seeing it made up, I think it does look like a nice sweater type jacket. Thanks for the review.
12/30/03 5:38 AM
Julia Graham said...
Tiner, I don't have this pattern yet but have specifically been thinking about it for a piece of very stable knit I have, so appreciate your comments about using it as a sweater jacket.
12/30/03 6:10 AM
jlg said...
Very nice job, Tiner. You look beautiful in it.
12/30/03 7:21 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Neat pattern for a neat fabric! I'll have to relook at (OK, play with!) my stash and use your combo idea.
12/30/03 7:40 AM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for all the fitting details. You look great in your sweater, it is elegant.
12/30/03 9:41 AM
Peggy L said...
Tiner - I love your jacket! It looks great on you. Go for the Retro - I recently made one after having the pattern for a long time. It was one of those "what took me so long" moments - looks great and was really quick to make.
12/30/03 10:24 AM
MaryG said...
I have been admiring this pattern for a long time now. Yours is so elegant and flattering! I am certainly going to try this one. I also have the Retro aging and am looking forward to making it. Go for the Euros, they're wonderful. Thanks for the review!
12/30/03 11:03 AM
Londa Rohlfing said...
Great job! Ya know, as long as you feel great in a color and wear with flair, you'll look great too - and you do! Zig-zagging hems can often overdo them - and in fabric like this that doesn't ravel, I would suggest just stitching 1/4" from the edge, and perhaps even fusing on a bias fusible tape first to stabilize. You could even do a blind hem in this fabric - with the loft, it is perfect for that. Decrease your upper tension, and be sure to have the jump of the blind hem just barely catch the fold. Be sure to report on your Euros and REtro. Londa
12/30/03 11:58 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Beautiful! I was eyeing this fabric thinking that it looked nice, and seeing it made up confirms that it is in fact beaufitul fabric. Great job!
12/30/03 1:59 PM
10Ksteps said...
Interesting to hear your alterations requirements. Thanks for the good review; I want to try one of Loes' garments and this encourages me.
3/21/05 3:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

No Pattern Used Infinity Dress

photo
by: emr

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5579

photo
by: Char in KS

Review