SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2157 (Givenchy Dress with uneven hem)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1739 times 
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 75
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/03 7:30 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Very (expensive) RTW-looking!
12/30/03 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That's beautiful Kathleen. I love what you did with the neckline. -Ann
12/30/03 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great!
12/30/03 8:16 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So feminine and lovely!
12/30/03 8:32 AM
Sew it seams said...
Kathleen, I just finished this dress for a bridesmaid for a wedding on Jan 3rd. This was one of four different dresses, but all with the same fabric. (Each girl chose her own dress style). Your sollution to the side drape of the lining is great. I wish I had thought of that! The fabric used for all of my dresses is not quite as drapy as your chiffon. Your dress looks lovely. I did the same thing with attaching the shoulder straps to both pieces as you did. I'll review mine as soon as I have time. Thanks for your review.
12/30/03 9:32 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty dress that looks fantastic on you.
12/30/03 11:00 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Great fit, great fabric, great dress!!
12/30/03 11:42 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone! I'm glad you like it. Debe, I look forward to seeing the dress you made. (and Gorgeous Things thanks for your advice about this dress - some time ago!)
12/30/03 5:28 PM
mudcat said...
Lovely dress, Kathleen. I must be blind though because I can't see the differences in the necklines (my monitor reads dark though so I may be missing the detail).
12/30/03 7:07 PM
KathleenS said...
mudcat, the original neckline has a slight cowl drape, whereas mine is flat against the chest. The original as a result is rather lower as well (eek).
12/30/03 7:30 PM
kathi s said...
Wow! Beautiful job. I think your neckline improves the design which could be kind of fussy looking on anyone with a real bosom.
12/30/03 10:47 PM
kathi s said...
Oh my gosh, I was just reviewing my comment in my head, and I suddenly realized how it must have sounded! I meant a large bosom. Red face!
12/30/03 11:15 PM
AnneM said...
I like your lining treatment. I can tell you don't live anywhere near where I live! (You would freeze in that dress around here right now.)
12/31/03 6:39 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
The fabric you chose looks just wonderful with this pattern, and this dress looks lovely on you.
1/1/04 8:51 AM
Annette H said...
Looked through your gallery and am speechless - your skills are great. High fashion, meticulous workmanship. Wow.
3/19/04 9:19 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Kathleen, your dress is beautiful! As you know, I'm working on it myself, and I'm curious about your lining - you say you attached the dress and lining along the upper edge, then rolled the neckilne hem. Why did you roll the hem? Wasn't attaching the two layers RS together a good solution? Also, did your lining fabric show in the back cowl? I'm thinking about self-lining the inside of the cowls, just in case.
1/21/05 1:25 AM
KathleenS said...
Åsa,my outer fabric was chiffon, so if I had joined the lining and fabric along the neckline edge RS together, the seam allowances would have shown through the fabric. I think if my fabric hadn't been transparent I would prefer the "RS together and stitch" solution. I think that if someone is standing just behind me looking into the cowl/down my back the lining shows sometimes but not always. The lining never flips to the outside so wouldn't show to someone standing at a distance. I think I would prefer a self-lining for the whole dress - if possible - rather than facings for just the cowls. I've sent you a more detailed answer in a PM.
1/21/05 5:09 AM
TJay said...
Hello there, you have pretty much explained all I wanted to know about this dress. I made a rough 'copy' of this dress, just for practice, I did notice a few areas where the dress was loose. I am a size 14 top but a size 12 bottom, how would I taper these to fit? It is now obvious that my sewing techniques are from experience not from reading too many books. Apart from that, the dresss you have made looks absolutely delightful, I almost want to say it is much better than shown in the picture, the texture of the fabric you used seems to me to complement the dress a lot more. Simply beautiful, and great idea for changing the neckline, it makes the dress a little less 'showy' and makes it more suitable for a larger range of occasions. Thank you!
6/21/06 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 5581

photo
by: sewsewboy

Review
McCall's 6362

photo
by: Gigi1168

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now