Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2157 (Givenchy Dress with uneven hem) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1732 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/03 7:30 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Very (expensive) RTW-looking!
12/30/03 7:36 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That's beautiful Kathleen. I love what you did with the neckline. -Ann
12/30/03 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
Beautiful dress. Looks great!
12/30/03 8:16 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
So feminine and lovely!
12/30/03 8:32 AM
Sew it seams said...
Kathleen, I just finished this dress for a bridesmaid for a wedding on Jan 3rd. This was one of four different dresses, but all with the same fabric. (Each girl chose her own dress style). Your sollution to the side drape of the lining is great. I wish I had thought of that! The fabric used for all of my dresses is not quite as drapy as your chiffon. Your dress looks lovely. I did the same thing with attaching the shoulder straps to both pieces as you did. I'll review mine as soon as I have time. Thanks for your review.
12/30/03 9:32 AM
jlg said...
Very, very pretty dress that looks fantastic on you.
12/30/03 11:00 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Great fit, great fabric, great dress!!
12/30/03 11:42 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone! I'm glad you like it. Debe, I look forward to seeing the dress you made. (and Gorgeous Things thanks for your advice about this dress - some time ago!)
12/30/03 5:28 PM
mudcat said...
Lovely dress, Kathleen. I must be blind though because I can't see the differences in the necklines (my monitor reads dark though so I may be missing the detail).
12/30/03 7:07 PM
KathleenS said...
mudcat, the original neckline has a slight cowl drape, whereas mine is flat against the chest. The original as a result is rather lower as well (eek).
12/30/03 7:30 PM
kathi s said...
Wow! Beautiful job. I think your neckline improves the design which could be kind of fussy looking on anyone with a real bosom.
12/30/03 10:47 PM
kathi s said...
Oh my gosh, I was just reviewing my comment in my head, and I suddenly realized how it must have sounded! I meant a large bosom. Red face!
12/30/03 11:15 PM
AnneM said...
I like your lining treatment. I can tell you don't live anywhere near where I live! (You would freeze in that dress around here right now.)
12/31/03 6:39 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
The fabric you chose looks just wonderful with this pattern, and this dress looks lovely on you.
1/1/04 8:51 AM
Annette H said...
Looked through your gallery and am speechless - your skills are great. High fashion, meticulous workmanship. Wow.
3/19/04 9:19 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Kathleen, your dress is beautiful! As you know, I'm working on it myself, and I'm curious about your lining - you say you attached the dress and lining along the upper edge, then rolled the neckilne hem. Why did you roll the hem? Wasn't attaching the two layers RS together a good solution? Also, did your lining fabric show in the back cowl? I'm thinking about self-lining the inside of the cowls, just in case.
1/21/05 1:25 AM
KathleenS said...
Åsa,my outer fabric was chiffon, so if I had joined the lining and fabric along the neckline edge RS together, the seam allowances would have shown through the fabric. I think if my fabric hadn't been transparent I would prefer the "RS together and stitch" solution. I think that if someone is standing just behind me looking into the cowl/down my back the lining shows sometimes but not always. The lining never flips to the outside so wouldn't show to someone standing at a distance. I think I would prefer a self-lining for the whole dress - if possible - rather than facings for just the cowls. I've sent you a more detailed answer in a PM.
1/21/05 5:09 AM
TJay said...
Hello there, you have pretty much explained all I wanted to know about this dress. I made a rough 'copy' of this dress, just for practice, I did notice a few areas where the dress was loose. I am a size 14 top but a size 12 bottom, how would I taper these to fit? It is now obvious that my sewing techniques are from experience not from reading too many books. Apart from that, the dresss you have made looks absolutely delightful, I almost want to say it is much better than shown in the picture, the texture of the fabric you used seems to me to complement the dress a lot more. Simply beautiful, and great idea for changing the neckline, it makes the dress a little less 'showy' and makes it more suitable for a larger range of occasions. Thank you!
6/21/06 6:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Burda 9792 Start3: Shirt
photo
Review by U. Chicago on 7/21/07
Read Review

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sophia Scallop Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 0004 Flounce Skirt
photo
Review by Deepika on 9/2/06
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Croquet Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6783 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us