SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 17 (Princess Sheath Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 816 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/09 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tallygirl said...
I am completely amazed by the tweaking to obtain this great fitting dress, beautiful workmanship
10/8/14 3:59 PM
moushka said...
Kay, thank you for the details on your beautiful dress. This is such a classic style, you could make it a dozen times and not run out of inspiration. It's so interesting to read about the quirks of PMB. Knowing how it drafts is important info for someone thinking of purchasing it. There's obviously much more to it than just plugging in numbers and spitting out a pattern :)
12/1/09 11:20 AM
Re Becca said...
WOW! From looking at the picture of this, one would never imagine that there were so many shaping seams because you did a perfect job of matching that plaid. But the shaping is so subtle and perfect, you would not be able to accomplish this without the seaming.
6/21/09 6:53 PM
Peggy L said...
Kay - this dress is perfection! The fit, the construction, etc is wonderful.
6/21/09 7:38 AM
Athene said...
Very attractive.
6/21/09 0:25 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful dress. Fits you perfectly.
6/19/09 6:30 AM
snapdragonfly said...
Incredible!
6/18/09 9:10 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful dress in it's simplicity. It showcases a really lovely fabric.
6/17/09 11:08 PM
lmg said...
A beautifully fitting sheath with precision matching, underlining, lining......I am in awe. And a terrific review to boot.
6/17/09 10:02 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, the fit and construction is superb!
6/17/09 7:29 PM
tigerlily8510 said...
Fabulous fit & fabric. Sometimes it seems so hard to find a classy fabric for a dress that isn't shiny or sparkly, lol!
6/17/09 5:22 PM
Deepika said...
I am so jealous. You have a pattern for a perfectly fitting dress. You look fabulous!!!! The review is super helpful as well. Thanks!
6/17/09 4:59 PM
Catbird said...
This is beautiful, Kay, and what a great review you've written. I love those bateau necklines and you seem to like them too! It's a very flattering style for you. This really is lovely and I enjoyed the journey from the muslin to the finish line.
6/17/09 2:35 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow, Kay after all these years, I just "got" that you draft from Wild Ginger. How amazing! It was so helpful to read this as it makes perfect sense to me that you might still have to do some alterations on the computer assimilated dress. Because the computer can't take into account all the hundreds of figure types....But you've mastered that no problem and you must feel like you have limitless possibilities now. This custom dress looks like a million bucks on you! I wonder if the "burrito" is the same technique that Connie Long uses for lining sleeveless dresses. I loved reading how you dealt with the "pooling" and the darts. This is so helpful to visualize. Enjoy your new custom dress!!
6/17/09 11:09 AM
cmarie12 said...
It is a lovely dress! You can see all of your time and effort in the final product!!!
6/17/09 9:37 AM
rozzybabe said...
The fabric is a little unusual, not a "pattern" I've seen in linen before. Great job in getting a super fit. Since I'm seriously thinking of investing in PMB, & you've obviously used the software a fair amount, do you think it's a good drafting software? I'd LOVE to have your opinion!
6/17/09 9:16 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous, Kay!
6/17/09 7:56 AM
Annette1 said...
Kay, this is one of the prettiest dresses I've EVER seen. It's LINEN, and not a wrinkle to be seen, with your underlining and lining. What a GREAT review, showing the "burrito" method of getting the armholes stitched (a part I always DREAD). I also had not known about "balancing the darts." AND you got all those squares to line up PERFECTLY, despite all those princess seams! This is just perfect, and you have wool to coordinate too! :o) I can't wait to see the jacket.
6/17/09 2:05 AM
Liana said...
What a beautiful dress, and the fit is perfection. Truly lovely in every detail. Enjoy the envious looks you're sure to get when wearing this. :)
6/17/09 1:27 AM
Aixoise said...
Wow! All that - and perfectly matched plaids, too. So impressive. The fit is great, the style becoming. I'm intrigued by the construction method in your tutorial and will have to try it with my next sleeveless project. Thanks for this thorough review.
6/16/09 11:17 PM
Marji said...
Beautiful lines on that dress. I really appreciate the line drawings to be able to see the lovely seaming. The fabric is lovely too, but some of that seaming gets lost in the check of the linen. Great fit, nice job.
6/16/09 11:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fit just doesn't get any better than this. If I were you, I would make at least 100 of these. Thanks for the superb photo tutorials also. This review is a sewing lesson to be studied again and again.
6/16/09 10:24 PM
Mahler said...
This fabric aged in your stash like good wine. What a great fabric used for a finely tweaked pattern. You are so patient. So this is the dress you had to finish in a rush. Congratulations for the final result. I love the this red and black linen. It has flair and style. What about the jacket ? ;-) And... forget about avoiding wrinkles, I am writing this comment while wearing my Go Pattern red dress, after a day at work. You don't want to see it.
6/16/09 10:20 PM
MaryBeth said...
Very nicely fit, Kay. Your hard work has paid off and the dress is lovely.
6/16/09 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now