Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: 17 (Princess Sheath Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 795 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/16/09 9:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryBeth said...
Very nicely fit, Kay. Your hard work has paid off and the dress is lovely.
6/16/09 10:01 PM
Mahler said...
This fabric aged in your stash like good wine. What a great fabric used for a finely tweaked pattern. You are so patient. So this is the dress you had to finish in a rush. Congratulations for the final result. I love the this red and black linen. It has flair and style. What about the jacket ? ;-) And... forget about avoiding wrinkles, I am writing this comment while wearing my Go Pattern red dress, after a day at work. You don't want to see it.
6/16/09 10:20 PM
CarolynGM said...
Fit just doesn't get any better than this. If I were you, I would make at least 100 of these. Thanks for the superb photo tutorials also. This review is a sewing lesson to be studied again and again.
6/16/09 10:24 PM
Marji said...
Beautiful lines on that dress. I really appreciate the line drawings to be able to see the lovely seaming. The fabric is lovely too, but some of that seaming gets lost in the check of the linen. Great fit, nice job.
6/16/09 11:11 PM
Aixoise said...
Wow! All that - and perfectly matched plaids, too. So impressive. The fit is great, the style becoming. I'm intrigued by the construction method in your tutorial and will have to try it with my next sleeveless project. Thanks for this thorough review.
6/16/09 11:17 PM
Liana said...
What a beautiful dress, and the fit is perfection. Truly lovely in every detail. Enjoy the envious looks you're sure to get when wearing this. :)
6/17/09 1:27 AM
Annette1 said...
Kay, this is one of the prettiest dresses I've EVER seen. It's LINEN, and not a wrinkle to be seen, with your underlining and lining. What a GREAT review, showing the "burrito" method of getting the armholes stitched (a part I always DREAD). I also had not known about "balancing the darts." AND you got all those squares to line up PERFECTLY, despite all those princess seams! This is just perfect, and you have wool to coordinate too! :o) I can't wait to see the jacket.
6/17/09 2:05 AM
cindyann said...
Gorgeous, Kay!
6/17/09 7:56 AM
rozzybabe said...
The fabric is a little unusual, not a "pattern" I've seen in linen before. Great job in getting a super fit. Since I'm seriously thinking of investing in PMB, & you've obviously used the software a fair amount, do you think it's a good drafting software? I'd LOVE to have your opinion!
6/17/09 9:16 AM
cmarie12 said...
It is a lovely dress! You can see all of your time and effort in the final product!!!
6/17/09 9:37 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow, Kay after all these years, I just "got" that you draft from Wild Ginger. How amazing! It was so helpful to read this as it makes perfect sense to me that you might still have to do some alterations on the computer assimilated dress. Because the computer can't take into account all the hundreds of figure types....But you've mastered that no problem and you must feel like you have limitless possibilities now. This custom dress looks like a million bucks on you! I wonder if the "burrito" is the same technique that Connie Long uses for lining sleeveless dresses. I loved reading how you dealt with the "pooling" and the darts. This is so helpful to visualize. Enjoy your new custom dress!!
6/17/09 11:09 AM
Catbird said...
This is beautiful, Kay, and what a great review you've written. I love those bateau necklines and you seem to like them too! It's a very flattering style for you. This really is lovely and I enjoyed the journey from the muslin to the finish line.
6/17/09 2:35 PM
Deepika said...
I am so jealous. You have a pattern for a perfectly fitting dress. You look fabulous!!!! The review is super helpful as well. Thanks!
6/17/09 4:59 PM
tigerlily8510 said...
Fabulous fit & fabric. Sometimes it seems so hard to find a classy fabric for a dress that isn't shiny or sparkly, lol!
6/17/09 5:22 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, the fit and construction is superb!
6/17/09 7:29 PM
lmg said...
A beautifully fitting sheath with precision matching, underlining, lining......I am in awe. And a terrific review to boot.
6/17/09 10:02 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful dress in it's simplicity. It showcases a really lovely fabric.
6/17/09 11:08 PM
snapdragonfly said...
Incredible!
6/18/09 9:10 PM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful dress. Fits you perfectly.
6/19/09 6:30 AM
Athene said...
Very attractive.
6/21/09 0:25 AM
Peggy L said...
Kay - this dress is perfection! The fit, the construction, etc is wonderful.
6/21/09 7:38 AM
Re Becca said...
WOW! From looking at the picture of this, one would never imagine that there were so many shaping seams because you did a perfect job of matching that plaid. But the shaping is so subtle and perfect, you would not be able to accomplish this without the seaming.
6/21/09 6:53 PM
moushka said...
Kay, thank you for the details on your beautiful dress. This is such a classic style, you could make it a dozen times and not run out of inspiration. It's so interesting to read about the quirks of PMB. Knowing how it drafts is important info for someone thinking of purchasing it. There's obviously much more to it than just plugging in numbers and spitting out a pattern :)
12/1/09 11:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Cutting Line Designs 12269
photo
Review by Irene Q on 9/3/11
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Tommy Boxers Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3764 Jackets
photo
Review by mhoutz on 9/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8759 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6789 Pattern
New Look 6789 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us