Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5243 (Maggy London Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 529 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 10:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riesie said...
The dress is darling on you. And lucky you, to get to the garment district to go shopping! I am green with envy.
6/17/09 11:10 AM
CynthiaSue said...
did Cidell take this??!! I love the people gawking in the background! Adorable dress. The "just above the knee" length is perfect for this style!! excellent review.
6/17/09 11:29 AM
Jali said...
What a fantastic photoshoot! Your dress looks perfect flutterring in the wind and it is much cooler than the pattern photo for sure.
6/17/09 11:52 AM
maryfrana said...
Fabulous dress, and wonderful photos. I also appreciate the detailed review. Love this pattern. Sigh. Another one to buy. I love piping and you make wonderful use of it here.
6/17/09 11:57 AM
Renren said...
I thought you had made a petticoat . . . but this is an homage to Marilyn Monroe, then? Lovely! I think the people watching you think you are Someone, one of the Beautiful People (and you are!) Lovely dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
USMCMom said...
What wonderful fabric, and it looks great on you! I have this in my stash but don't feel brave enough yet to try it...Maybe in the fall, in long sleeves. Enjoy your dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love this picture! The dress is snazzy too.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great action shop, I mean shot. I sure envy your cute figure, which looks great in this dress.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable, dress and photo. Too bad our pattern companies don't do some creative photography like this. Great review.
6/17/09 12:14 PM
meli88a said...
The dress looks great on you - it makes your legs look so long and shapely!
6/17/09 12:50 PM
crazygrad said...
Very cute! Love the print- you look great!
6/17/09 12:56 PM
a.me.s said...
so cute! I love your city pic :)
6/17/09 1:15 PM
Leora said...
Love this style, perfect fabric selection!
6/17/09 2:15 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Great picture in the City!
6/17/09 3:06 PM
Pamaro said...
Oooh, what a pretty dress. LOVE the fabric and the style. The gentleman in the background picture seems to like it also! :)
6/17/09 3:38 PM
NC Carol said...
Totally spiff. Great fabric/pattern match-up. Location shots, eh? Very fancy.
6/17/09 4:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous photo!!!! You look like a model, only better! Love the dress too.
6/17/09 8:40 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress, and what a fabulous photo.
6/17/09 10:52 PM
Gelbean said...
Don't look now but there is some guy checking you out. Love the photo and the dress!
6/18/09 0:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love your reviews and this dress is great looking. Your work and prodigious output is inspiring.
6/18/09 7:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love this dress!
6/18/09 7:24 AM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! Thanks for the idea about using piping (or faux piping) to define this sort of detail when sewing with busy prints. Adding that to my mental bag of sewing tricks right now....
6/18/09 7:59 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You are picture perfect in that dress!
6/18/09 2:45 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I spent so much time on all of your links that it took me two days to finish reading this review! Lovely dress, great picture & t-riffic figure! :-)
6/19/09 3:34 PM
AnneM said...
Great dress, and it looks fantastic for your trip to NY. (Nice fabrics you got, also.)
6/27/09 8:42 PM
kerrynw said...
Great dress, great photo!
7/14/09 12:20 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I don't know how I missed this one before, but I love your version!! The icky pattern envelope picture had turned me off, but yours is great. Nice job!
7/28/09 3:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Graca on 4/19/12
Read Review

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5794
photo
Review by Sandi S on 10/15/11
Read Review

Burda 7972 Pattern
Burda 7972 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8321 Pattern
Burda 8321 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us