SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5243 (Maggy London Knit Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 530 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RobinMCPA said...
I don't know how I missed this one before, but I love your version!! The icky pattern envelope picture had turned me off, but yours is great. Nice job!
7/28/09 3:00 PM
kerrynw said...
Great dress, great photo!
7/14/09 12:20 PM
AnneM said...
Great dress, and it looks fantastic for your trip to NY. (Nice fabrics you got, also.)
6/27/09 8:42 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I spent so much time on all of your links that it took me two days to finish reading this review! Lovely dress, great picture & t-riffic figure! :-)
6/19/09 3:34 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You are picture perfect in that dress!
6/18/09 2:45 PM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! Thanks for the idea about using piping (or faux piping) to define this sort of detail when sewing with busy prints. Adding that to my mental bag of sewing tricks right now....
6/18/09 7:59 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love this dress!
6/18/09 7:24 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love your reviews and this dress is great looking. Your work and prodigious output is inspiring.
6/18/09 7:08 AM
Gelbean said...
Don't look now but there is some guy checking you out. Love the photo and the dress!
6/18/09 0:14 AM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress, and what a fabulous photo.
6/17/09 10:52 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous photo!!!! You look like a model, only better! Love the dress too.
6/17/09 8:40 PM
NC Carol said...
Totally spiff. Great fabric/pattern match-up. Location shots, eh? Very fancy.
6/17/09 4:45 PM
Pamaro said...
Oooh, what a pretty dress. LOVE the fabric and the style. The gentleman in the background picture seems to like it also! :)
6/17/09 3:38 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Great picture in the City!
6/17/09 3:06 PM
Leora said...
Love this style, perfect fabric selection!
6/17/09 2:15 PM
a.me.s said...
so cute! I love your city pic :)
6/17/09 1:15 PM
crazygrad said...
Very cute! Love the print- you look great!
6/17/09 12:56 PM
meli88a said...
The dress looks great on you - it makes your legs look so long and shapely!
6/17/09 12:50 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable, dress and photo. Too bad our pattern companies don't do some creative photography like this. Great review.
6/17/09 12:14 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great action shop, I mean shot. I sure envy your cute figure, which looks great in this dress.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love this picture! The dress is snazzy too.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
USMCMom said...
What wonderful fabric, and it looks great on you! I have this in my stash but don't feel brave enough yet to try it...Maybe in the fall, in long sleeves. Enjoy your dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
Renren said...
I thought you had made a petticoat . . . but this is an homage to Marilyn Monroe, then? Lovely! I think the people watching you think you are Someone, one of the Beautiful People (and you are!) Lovely dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
maryfrana said...
Fabulous dress, and wonderful photos. I also appreciate the detailed review. Love this pattern. Sigh. Another one to buy. I love piping and you make wonderful use of it here.
6/17/09 11:57 AM
Jali said...
What a fantastic photoshoot! Your dress looks perfect flutterring in the wind and it is much cooler than the pattern photo for sure.
6/17/09 11:52 AM
CynthiaSue said...
did Cidell take this??!! I love the people gawking in the background! Adorable dress. The "just above the knee" length is perfect for this style!! excellent review.
6/17/09 11:29 AM
Riesie said...
The dress is darling on you. And lucky you, to get to the garment district to go shopping! I am green with envy.
6/17/09 11:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: lyndle

Review
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

More Info
Kitschy Coo Skater Dress

photo
by: kidmd

Review