SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5243 (Maggy London Knit Dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 530 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Riesie said...
The dress is darling on you. And lucky you, to get to the garment district to go shopping! I am green with envy.
6/17/09 11:10 AM
CynthiaSue said...
did Cidell take this??!! I love the people gawking in the background! Adorable dress. The "just above the knee" length is perfect for this style!! excellent review.
6/17/09 11:29 AM
Jali said...
What a fantastic photoshoot! Your dress looks perfect flutterring in the wind and it is much cooler than the pattern photo for sure.
6/17/09 11:52 AM
maryfrana said...
Fabulous dress, and wonderful photos. I also appreciate the detailed review. Love this pattern. Sigh. Another one to buy. I love piping and you make wonderful use of it here.
6/17/09 11:57 AM
Renren said...
I thought you had made a petticoat . . . but this is an homage to Marilyn Monroe, then? Lovely! I think the people watching you think you are Someone, one of the Beautiful People (and you are!) Lovely dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
USMCMom said...
What wonderful fabric, and it looks great on you! I have this in my stash but don't feel brave enough yet to try it...Maybe in the fall, in long sleeves. Enjoy your dress.
6/17/09 12:02 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love this picture! The dress is snazzy too.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Great action shop, I mean shot. I sure envy your cute figure, which looks great in this dress.
6/17/09 12:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
Adorable, dress and photo. Too bad our pattern companies don't do some creative photography like this. Great review.
6/17/09 12:14 PM
meli88a said...
The dress looks great on you - it makes your legs look so long and shapely!
6/17/09 12:50 PM
crazygrad said...
Very cute! Love the print- you look great!
6/17/09 12:56 PM
a.me.s said...
so cute! I love your city pic :)
6/17/09 1:15 PM
Leora said...
Love this style, perfect fabric selection!
6/17/09 2:15 PM
Mufffet said...
BEAUTIFUL! Great picture in the City!
6/17/09 3:06 PM
Pamaro said...
Oooh, what a pretty dress. LOVE the fabric and the style. The gentleman in the background picture seems to like it also! :)
6/17/09 3:38 PM
NC Carol said...
Totally spiff. Great fabric/pattern match-up. Location shots, eh? Very fancy.
6/17/09 4:45 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous photo!!!! You look like a model, only better! Love the dress too.
6/17/09 8:40 PM
Karen6790 said...
Great dress, and what a fabulous photo.
6/17/09 10:52 PM
Gelbean said...
Don't look now but there is some guy checking you out. Love the photo and the dress!
6/18/09 0:14 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love your reviews and this dress is great looking. Your work and prodigious output is inspiring.
6/18/09 7:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Love this dress!
6/18/09 7:24 AM
Secretsugar said...
Lovely as always! Thanks for the idea about using piping (or faux piping) to define this sort of detail when sewing with busy prints. Adding that to my mental bag of sewing tricks right now....
6/18/09 7:59 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You are picture perfect in that dress!
6/18/09 2:45 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I spent so much time on all of your links that it took me two days to finish reading this review! Lovely dress, great picture & t-riffic figure! :-)
6/19/09 3:34 PM
AnneM said...
Great dress, and it looks fantastic for your trip to NY. (Nice fabrics you got, also.)
6/27/09 8:42 PM
kerrynw said...
Great dress, great photo!
7/14/09 12:20 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I don't know how I missed this one before, but I love your version!! The icky pattern envelope picture had turned me off, but yours is great. Nice job!
7/28/09 3:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now