SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2315 (miyake)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1639 times 
Reviewed by:Harriet Rogers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Harriet Rogersstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 9/13/02
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 59
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/03 3:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
I made this dress a few years ago and it is a favorite. Mine is black linen. I'm hoping to make it again this spring. I hope you figure out the photo thing as I am eager to see your dress, one of the more wearable Miyakes.
12/30/03 7:27 PM
Ann Smith said...
I love it!
12/31/03 6:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
This dress looks wonderful on you. I've had this pattern and fabric for it for a couple of years. Your picture and review may inspire me to get on with making it!
1/1/04 4:25 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very pretty!
1/1/04 8:43 AM
katharin said...
You look smashing in this dress!
1/1/04 8:47 AM
mudcat said...
The dress looks fabulous on you.
1/1/04 9:48 AM
Melody said...
You look great in this dress, what good inspiration to start the year. Thanks!
1/1/04 1:56 PM
CatherineN said...
What a beautiful fabric and interesting dress. It looks lide spring.
1/1/04 2:00 PM
moushka said...
Harriet, beautiful dress. It looks wonderful on you! A question: does it cover your bra under the armholes when you move? I'm a little hesitant about showing more than intended. TIA.
1/1/04 8:53 PM
jlg said...
Harriet, very cool dress. You look very pretty.
1/1/04 8:59 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Thanks for all of your compliments. Ann, I'd love to see your black linen, as I'm definitely going to make this again in linen for summer (and besides, I love to look at your creations!) Sue, the sleeves are put together at an angle, so you will never see bra. What you see under arms is a lot of fabric, Hope to get some more detailed pictures of this up, as soon as I figure out the http stuff. Thanks to all for comments.
1/2/04 10:32 AM
sewywabbit said...
This looks great on you.
1/2/04 1:33 PM
Skymom said...
I've had this pattern for years but never made it. Did you have to do amy alterations at the top? I'm worried that the neckline will be too low...did you pin fit the pattern first to make sure you liked how the sleeves joined the dress? You look really great in this dress--I love the colar, and I also really like your hairstyle!
1/7/04 2:25 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Skymom, I didn't do anything to the top: kind of lucked out that it wasn't too low, I think, although now that I think about it, I think the reason it is not low is that the sleeves have to be attached so that they fit over the shoulder and the sleeve piece is not all that wide. Miyake must have planned that the middle of the front would not be low. One thing you will want to adjust is the placement of the sleeve in the front: just ignore the marking on pattern, and when you get to that step in the instructions, pin where it fits you best. Look forward to seeing the results of your efforts, and thanks for the compliments.
1/8/04 10:05 AM
JDpenelope said...
Result is definitely worth it. Looks like a million dollars!
6/25/04 8:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-7

photo
by: 21wale

Review
McCall's 3830

photo
by: Betty Stit...

Review

Pattern

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now