Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Macphee sewing workshop: 311 (Best of Linda's Tops (BLT)) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 604 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR
About ssssdebstar
UT USA
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 5:36 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Very pretty, jw
6/17/09 5:40 PM
USMCMom said...
I've never heard of the technique of "chenilling". Could you elaborate? Also, do you have a pic of the fabric before it was chenilled? You've got me hooked...
6/17/09 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
Love what you did with this fabric - have a not to pretty piece and may try chenelling it - great looking top you have made
6/17/09 9:33 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Sows ear to silk purse... Lovely results! and neat pattern too. Thanks!
6/17/09 9:51 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful!
6/17/09 10:19 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully done....Very nice!!
6/18/09 0:34 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket. Very pretty end result.
6/18/09 1:21 AM
Kayseri said...
I think this look fun, and a great use of yards off OTT fabric. I'd also like a description of chenilling.
6/18/09 1:41 AM
SoVintage said...
What a creative use of "ugly" fabric. The finished look is anything but "ugly". I would agree it has a BEAUTIFUL water color effect to it. Great Job. ( I'll add learning "chenilling" to my to do list)
6/18/09 8:44 AM
Gelbean said...
What a great transformation. Very impressive!
6/19/09 8:04 AM
j222b said...
Your review is located under 311 not 31. Can this be fixed?
6/19/09 5:44 PM
RuthieSews said...
That is great, you have actually changed the fabric itself by the technique. I am impressed!
6/19/09 5:54 PM
AnneM said...
What a great idea! The jacket came out great. Definitely the same fabric, but it changed the character completely.
6/19/09 8:18 PM
BonnieJ said...
What a great way to tone down a bright fabric ssssdeb. That turned out beautifully and gave me ideas for some of my own "tacky" fabrics.
6/19/09 8:39 PM
Linda G said...
Your ugly fabric is now beautiful.
6/20/09 5:32 PM
sewfossy said...
Love the effect your chenilling produced. Well worth the effort - a very classy jacket, and definately not ugly!
6/23/09 2:02 PM
Bonnie O said...
Very clever. It looks terrific.
7/2/09 8:40 AM
said...
Amazing fabric improvement! Good positive review of pattern.
7/2/09 1:28 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing job turning your "ugly duckling" into a beautiful swan.
7/3/09 2:15 PM
Laurie Lou said...
you have inspired me to look at my fabric in a whole new way. You made a 100% + change to that fabric.
7/6/09 3:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
You really turned a ho hum fabric into something unique and lovely.
7/7/09 7:18 AM
callmeRuth said...
beautiful!!!
7/7/09 10:39 PM
selvage said...
I love the chenille look, and the chevron effect is wonderfully done. Gorgeous results! I, too, would like to know how to make the chenille--maybe there's a link to some tips somewhere?
7/10/09 4:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us