SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Macphee sewing workshop> 311 (Best of Linda's Tops (BLT))

3 more reviews
Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ssssdebstar
UT United States
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 93
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 76
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/09 5:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Judy Wentz said...
Very pretty, jw
6/17/09 5:40 PM
USMCMom said...
I've never heard of the technique of "chenilling". Could you elaborate? Also, do you have a pic of the fabric before it was chenilled? You've got me hooked...
6/17/09 7:10 PM
carolynw said...
Love what you did with this fabric - have a not to pretty piece and may try chenelling it - great looking top you have made
6/17/09 9:33 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Sows ear to silk purse... Lovely results! and neat pattern too. Thanks!
6/17/09 9:51 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful!
6/17/09 10:19 PM
sewtime said...
Beautifully done....Very nice!!
6/18/09 0:34 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket. Very pretty end result.
6/18/09 1:21 AM
Kayseri said...
I think this look fun, and a great use of yards off OTT fabric. I'd also like a description of chenilling.
6/18/09 1:41 AM
SoVintage said...
What a creative use of "ugly" fabric. The finished look is anything but "ugly". I would agree it has a BEAUTIFUL water color effect to it. Great Job. ( I'll add learning "chenilling" to my to do list)
6/18/09 8:44 AM
Gelbean said...
What a great transformation. Very impressive!
6/19/09 8:04 AM
j222b said...
Your review is located under 311 not 31. Can this be fixed?
6/19/09 5:44 PM
RuthieSews said...
That is great, you have actually changed the fabric itself by the technique. I am impressed!
6/19/09 5:54 PM
AnneM said...
What a great idea! The jacket came out great. Definitely the same fabric, but it changed the character completely.
6/19/09 8:18 PM
BonnieJ said...
What a great way to tone down a bright fabric ssssdeb. That turned out beautifully and gave me ideas for some of my own "tacky" fabrics.
6/19/09 8:39 PM
Linda G said...
Your ugly fabric is now beautiful.
6/20/09 5:32 PM
sewfossy said...
Love the effect your chenilling produced. Well worth the effort - a very classy jacket, and definately not ugly!
6/23/09 2:02 PM
Bonnie O said...
Very clever. It looks terrific.
7/2/09 8:40 AM
said...
Amazing fabric improvement! Good positive review of pattern.
7/2/09 1:28 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Amazing job turning your "ugly duckling" into a beautiful swan.
7/3/09 2:15 PM
Laurie Lou said...
you have inspired me to look at my fabric in a whole new way. You made a 100% + change to that fabric.
7/6/09 3:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
You really turned a ho hum fabric into something unique and lovely.
7/7/09 7:18 AM
callmeRuth said...
beautiful!!!
7/7/09 10:39 PM
selvage said...
I love the chenille look, and the chevron effect is wonderfully done. Gorgeous results! I, too, would like to know how to make the chenille--maybe there's a link to some tips somewhere?
7/10/09 4:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Other Buttercup Bag

photo
by: berngard3

Review