Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2009-122 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 343 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 227
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 2:56 AM
Last Updated:6/18/09 3:18 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jali said...
I can see why you love that fabric. It looks lovely made into this top, dressy, but not too much. For cutting polyester chiffon, I have read a tip in the Tips/Techniques section of PR that suggests using a base paper, newspaper for instance, and cutting fabric and paper as one. I have tried it and it does help with the slipping quite a bit. Linkhere.
6/18/09 6:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty top. I love brown, too. Thanks for a useful review. I'm planning to try BWOF patterns in a few months time - I'm sure it will be an experience!
6/18/09 6:34 AM
britsnotebook said...
Fantastic top! Thanks for the detailed review - this is really great! I am going to have to add this to my list.
6/18/09 7:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your review of this versatile and pretty top is entertaining, as well as educational! It takes time to put photos together, but is so helpful to the reader, and is much appreciated. I have a shelf of Burda WOF magazines, and have only sewn one pattern from them, also a top. This pattern and your review might be the inspiration I need to tackle another one.
6/18/09 8:13 AM
Michelle L said...
Thank you for the tip about the spray starch. I have always shied away from chiffon, charmeuse, and other "slippery" fabrics because I just had no idea how to handle them! But I might have to give them a try now.
6/18/09 8:42 AM
jannw said...
lovely top and an entertaining review..I'll have to try the spray starch..great idea on using the eyelets instead of buttonholes
6/18/09 9:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful top! I have considered sewing this one so was much interested in all your great tips! Thank you!
6/18/09 10:11 AM
kidmd said...
Beautiful! It looks great on you. I have been eyeing this pattern as well and will be adding it to the must sew list. Thanks for your review!
6/18/09 11:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just traced this one yesterday, so thanks for the detailed review. And congrats on your first BWOF - you learned the best lesson in your first one, not to try to follow the instructions if they don't make sense, just use logic and your experience and do what seems right. That's the best way with their patterns in the end. Great result with a difficult fabric especially.
6/18/09 12:02 PM
homejewel said...
This review was very helpful in many ways. Thank you for taking the time to explain in detail and pictures how you worked with chiffon and also BWOF patterns.
6/18/09 1:12 PM
pterion said...
Lovely top and terrific review!
6/18/09 1:47 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks really nice on you! Sounds like you met Burda's instructions head on. Good review.
6/18/09 8:54 PM
kerrynw said...
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Your top looks great. I have cut this pattern out but still haven't made it up:(
6/19/09 3:57 AM
Renren said...
Thanks to everyone for your comments and good luck to everyone in the process of sewing this top . . . I think you will love this top, especially if you use a drapey fabric.
6/19/09 11:42 AM
Patzee said...
What a terrific review! Your fabric tips are greatly appreciated.
6/19/09 5:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your top is lovely! Thanks for all of the tips about starching your fabric and tracing BWOF. Great job!
6/19/09 8:16 PM
wineyjudy said...
You did a wonderful job on this blouse! It is really cute and stylish. Great review too!
6/20/09 11:17 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful top! And the tips on tracing the patterns and spraying the fabric were really helpful. Chiffon--eww! Such a challenge--so much that I try to avoid it.
6/21/09 9:13 AM
SewSara said...
I also avoid chiffon (scared), but it really works for this pattern. Thanks for all the great tips!
6/25/09 9:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous looking top, Renren! I like those cool mood beads! Lovely merge of fabric and style. Thank you so much for your very helpful review with all the nice tips. I especially like how you deal with chiffon and now I know what I'll add to my list on my next visit to Home Depot!
8/29/09 11:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Downloadable Jason vest Jason Vest
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 6/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8155
photo
Review by lynnewill on 7/6/09
Read Review

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us