SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2009-122 

15 more reviews
Viewed 343 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 2:56 AM
Last Updated:6/18/09 3:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 31 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jali said...
I can see why you love that fabric. It looks lovely made into this top, dressy, but not too much. For cutting polyester chiffon, I have read a tip in the Tips/Techniques section of PR that suggests using a base paper, newspaper for instance, and cutting fabric and paper as one. I have tried it and it does help with the slipping quite a bit. Linkhere.
6/18/09 6:15 AM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty top. I love brown, too. Thanks for a useful review. I'm planning to try BWOF patterns in a few months time - I'm sure it will be an experience!
6/18/09 6:34 AM
britsnotebook said...
Fantastic top! Thanks for the detailed review - this is really great! I am going to have to add this to my list.
6/18/09 7:43 AM
JDpenelope said...
Your review of this versatile and pretty top is entertaining, as well as educational! It takes time to put photos together, but is so helpful to the reader, and is much appreciated. I have a shelf of Burda WOF magazines, and have only sewn one pattern from them, also a top. This pattern and your review might be the inspiration I need to tackle another one.
6/18/09 8:13 AM
Michelle L said...
Thank you for the tip about the spray starch. I have always shied away from chiffon, charmeuse, and other "slippery" fabrics because I just had no idea how to handle them! But I might have to give them a try now.
6/18/09 8:42 AM
jannw said...
lovely top and an entertaining review..I'll have to try the spray starch..great idea on using the eyelets instead of buttonholes
6/18/09 9:43 AM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful top! I have considered sewing this one so was much interested in all your great tips! Thank you!
6/18/09 10:11 AM
kidmd said...
Beautiful! It looks great on you. I have been eyeing this pattern as well and will be adding it to the must sew list. Thanks for your review!
6/18/09 11:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
I just traced this one yesterday, so thanks for the detailed review. And congrats on your first BWOF - you learned the best lesson in your first one, not to try to follow the instructions if they don't make sense, just use logic and your experience and do what seems right. That's the best way with their patterns in the end. Great result with a difficult fabric especially.
6/18/09 12:02 PM
homejewel said...
This review was very helpful in many ways. Thank you for taking the time to explain in detail and pictures how you worked with chiffon and also BWOF patterns.
6/18/09 1:12 PM
pterion said...
Lovely top and terrific review!
6/18/09 1:47 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks really nice on you! Sounds like you met Burda's instructions head on. Good review.
6/18/09 8:54 PM
kerrynw said...
Thank you for your comprehensive review. Your top looks great. I have cut this pattern out but still haven't made it up:(
6/19/09 3:57 AM
Renren said...
Thanks to everyone for your comments and good luck to everyone in the process of sewing this top . . . I think you will love this top, especially if you use a drapey fabric.
6/19/09 11:42 AM
Patzee said...
What a terrific review! Your fabric tips are greatly appreciated.
6/19/09 5:59 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your top is lovely! Thanks for all of the tips about starching your fabric and tracing BWOF. Great job!
6/19/09 8:16 PM
wineyjudy said...
You did a wonderful job on this blouse! It is really cute and stylish. Great review too!
6/20/09 11:17 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Beautiful top! And the tips on tracing the patterns and spraying the fabric were really helpful. Chiffon--eww! Such a challenge--so much that I try to avoid it.
6/21/09 9:13 AM
SewSara said...
I also avoid chiffon (scared), but it really works for this pattern. Thanks for all the great tips!
6/25/09 9:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fabulous looking top, Renren! I like those cool mood beads! Lovely merge of fabric and style. Thank you so much for your very helpful review with all the nice tips. I especially like how you deal with chiffon and now I know what I'll add to my list on my next visit to Home Depot!
8/29/09 11:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Chris W Designs Evelyn

photo
by: SewButterf...

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Claire Handbag

Claire Handbag

Buy Now
Elan 530

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review