SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1205 (Marseilles Shirt)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1820 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/02 10:38 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Diane, Thank you for the "burrito" tip on this review. I really like the style, and your version is just beautiful. I must give it a try.
5/12/04 6:35 PM
Mini said...
Diane, thanks for the tip on using the burrito for this shirt. I did it and it worked perfectly. I made a muslin of this shirt several years ago and rejected it because the proportions seemed wrong for my figure. I recently tried it again with a full bust adjustment. Now I really like it, especially with the improved collar treatment.
3/10/04 10:52 PM
said...
Diane E. I just finish making this shirt out of some stable striped knit I have had for several years. I also have some slinky that I am thinking about using to make one of these tops. Yours is really quit nice.
4/20/02 9:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The idea is to begin applying the under and upper collar away from the end of the collar in front, so that you get a clean turn at the neckline. I'm going to experiment later on.
4/19/02 2:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mary Ann, the burrito technique is described and detailed in both "Power Sewing Step-byStep" and "No Time to Sew" by Sandra Betzina. I'm not totally sure it would work on this shirt, but some variation might.
4/19/02 2:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, your work is so inspiring! I love the shirt! I would have bought the pattern, if only it was not $16.00 sigh!
4/19/02 1:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, that is a great shirt - I want that pattern.
4/19/02 0:43 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very pretty! Darn it, it's one of the few TS/LH patterns that I don't own - yet. :-)
4/18/02 11:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What is the burrito technique? (I forgot to ask in my previous comment.) Is there a written reference somewhere?
4/18/02 10:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oooh, Diane, way cute shirt. I, too, Have this pattern and some slinky in my stash. Hmmmm. Thanks for the inspration.
4/18/02 10:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 4926

photo
by: mimi g.

Review
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review