Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1205 (Marseilles Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1817 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/02 10:38 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Oooh, Diane, way cute shirt. I, too, Have this pattern and some slinky in my stash. Hmmmm. Thanks for the inspration.
4/18/02 10:49 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What is the burrito technique? (I forgot to ask in my previous comment.) Is there a written reference somewhere?
4/18/02 10:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very pretty! Darn it, it's one of the few TS/LH patterns that I don't own - yet. :-)
4/18/02 11:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, that is a great shirt - I want that pattern.
4/19/02 0:43 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, your work is so inspiring! I love the shirt! I would have bought the pattern, if only it was not $16.00 sigh!
4/19/02 1:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Mary Ann, the burrito technique is described and detailed in both "Power Sewing Step-byStep" and "No Time to Sew" by Sandra Betzina. I'm not totally sure it would work on this shirt, but some variation might.
4/19/02 2:08 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
The idea is to begin applying the under and upper collar away from the end of the collar in front, so that you get a clean turn at the neckline. I'm going to experiment later on.
4/19/02 2:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane E. I just finish making this shirt out of some stable striped knit I have had for several years. I also have some slinky that I am thinking about using to make one of these tops. Yours is really quit nice.
4/20/02 9:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mini said...
Diane, thanks for the tip on using the burrito for this shirt. I did it and it worked perfectly. I made a muslin of this shirt several years ago and rejected it because the proportions seemed wrong for my figure. I recently tried it again with a full bust adjustment. Now I really like it, especially with the improved collar treatment.
3/10/04 10:52 PM
PVA said...
Diane, Thank you for the "burrito" tip on this review. I really like the style, and your version is just beautiful. I must give it a try.
5/12/04 6:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

StyleArc Diana Top Diana Top
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 4/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117 Ring Top #117
photo
Review by Nata on 2/11/06
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us