Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2008-113 (Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 347 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:rsersh
photo
About rsershstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/17/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 3:41 PM
Last Updated:6/18/09 4:54 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
What a wonderful little top! It has a lot of style for something so simple.
6/18/09 4:28 PM
eugenia123 said...
Great top and really pretty fabric - it looks lovely on you.
6/18/09 4:58 PM
michalklimer said...
I love it! I have this burda and I looked at the pattern, but it's difficult to see the way the top fits on the model! so I thought - it looks so simple, it oroibably doesn't look that good! But it does! it looks lovely!!! Thanks for the review!
6/19/09 1:37 AM
Lisa p said...
Thankyou for your helpful review. I intend to make this with some silk chiffon i have in teh stash. I might make a muslin first to check the head fit !!
6/19/09 3:15 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute top, lovely print.
6/19/09 4:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Fabulous! You look great, glad it wasn't too painful as well :-).
6/19/09 12:43 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really cute top. I don't know the type of fabric...(I know linen has nubbies on it), but it is a nice print! You look so cute!
6/20/09 0:14 AM
rsersh said...
Everyone is just so sweet and encouraging. Thanks so much!
6/22/09 1:43 PM
michalklimer said...
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
7/13/09 7:31 AM
michalklimer said...
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
7/13/09 8:00 AM
rsersh said...
Hi there, MichalK. Here's my interpretation: With this blouse, the elastic casing is created using the seam allowance from stitching the peplum to the top. Once the two are sewn, you take the allowance, press it up, and then stitch along the edge of the allowance to the top (again). This will create a little "tube" that you can put your elastic in. Be sure not to stitch the allowance to the top in its entirety at first. You'll want to stop an inch or two from where you started so that you can put the elastic in and get it right. Once you're happy with the fit, you can finish sewing the allowance to the top. Hope that helps!
7/14/09 4:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 8672 Misses' Skirt
photo
Review by knottygnom... on 1/25/12
Read Review

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver & S Forest Path Cape Digital Pattern  ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6901
photo
Review by aminat on 1/21/10
Read Review

McCalls 6606 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6606 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us