SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2008-113 (Top)

4 more reviews
Viewed 347 times 
Reviewed by:rsersh
photo

 
 
About rsershstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/17/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 3:41 PM
Last Updated:6/18/09 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
What a wonderful little top! It has a lot of style for something so simple.
6/18/09 4:28 PM
eugenia123 said...
Great top and really pretty fabric - it looks lovely on you.
6/18/09 4:58 PM
michalklimer said...
I love it! I have this burda and I looked at the pattern, but it's difficult to see the way the top fits on the model! so I thought - it looks so simple, it oroibably doesn't look that good! But it does! it looks lovely!!! Thanks for the review!
6/19/09 1:37 AM
Lisa p said...
Thankyou for your helpful review. I intend to make this with some silk chiffon i have in teh stash. I might make a muslin first to check the head fit !!
6/19/09 3:15 AM
kerrynw said...
Cute top, lovely print.
6/19/09 4:00 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Fabulous! You look great, glad it wasn't too painful as well :-).
6/19/09 12:43 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Really cute top. I don't know the type of fabric...(I know linen has nubbies on it), but it is a nice print! You look so cute!
6/20/09 0:14 AM
rsersh said...
Everyone is just so sweet and encouraging. Thanks so much!
6/22/09 1:43 PM
michalklimer said...
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
7/13/09 7:31 AM
michalklimer said...
question!!!!! can you help me? I don't understand the instructions for the elastics... I'm supposed to attach the front top to the botton and then somehow the elastics? can u please help? Thanks!
7/13/09 8:00 AM
rsersh said...
Hi there, MichalK. Here's my interpretation: With this blouse, the elastic casing is created using the seam allowance from stitching the peplum to the top. Once the two are sewn, you take the allowance, press it up, and then stitch along the edge of the allowance to the top (again). This will create a little "tube" that you can put your elastic in. Be sure not to stitch the allowance to the top in its entirety at first. You'll want to stop an inch or two from where you started so that you can put the elastic in and get it right. Once you're happy with the fit, you can finish sewing the allowance to the top. Hope that helps!
7/14/09 4:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: CynthiaSue

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Burda 7547

photo
by: ClaireEmil...

Review

Pattern