SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3300 (Bra)

16 more reviews
Viewed 965 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 274
Favored by: 122 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/09 6:43 PM
Last Updated:6/18/09 11:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Lingerie    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kv said...
What a gorgeous bra
4/20/14 2:29 PM
kv said...
What a gorgeous bra
4/20/14 2:29 PM
carole said...
You did a great job .Did it save money compared to the 25.00 average price and does it maybe cost more for the first one but the next ones are cheaper since you can squeeze more out of a yard ? How is the fit does it feel good on . I have a problem with sliping down straps ,I imagine you can set them in a better place to prevent that . Good job . Thanks for your taking the trouble to show all of us who have this interest in making our bras . Carole
8/3/09 11:34 AM
koo104 said...
I've been trying to find the Bra sew along. Can you add a link to it?
6/20/09 11:38 AM
Charrlie said...
Awsome
6/20/09 1:09 AM
quathy said...
so elegant and beautiful! thanks for the tips about lycra - i hadn't thought about using that. i'm currently making one of these in tricot and powernet.
6/19/09 5:49 PM
Renee' S said...
Nancy I have this pattern but I never even opened the envelope. After I read your first review I pulled out my pattern and read through the instructions and thought I could do this. Then I read this second review and I got on line and placed my order from Sew Sassy. Thank you for posting your reviews it's the inspiration I needed to break out of my sewing comfort zone.
6/19/09 11:53 AM
sewbehind said...
Thanks for adding those additional things to your review, Nancy. Your bra is very lovely, but it is ALL about support with bras. About two years ago, I was professionally fitted and it was as you say, most of the support came from the band. I had a lot of people ask me if I had lost weight. It is all about that space between the torso and the breast that gives a fuller busted person that illusion. I am going to try this pattern. Thanks.
6/19/09 11:33 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. I've never thought about making bras, and I'm still not sure I would, but your review and clear explanation of everything makes me think I COULD if I wanted to. That Polish website was amazing - you know a good bra can make a difference, but that really shows it. Beautiful result here, I can imagine there are quite a few more on your list to make now.
6/19/09 11:31 AM
Rustybobn said...
Thanks for that link--amazing difference. I think I'll send that link to my daughter, as I've been trying to get her into a 36DD rather than the 38C that she insists on buying. Your bra is lovely. I've used that pattern myself and really like it.
6/19/09 11:28 AM
Nancywin said...
I don't read Polish either, but as they say, a picture is worth a thousand words.
6/19/09 11:02 AM
Kayseri said...
That is one good looking bra. As well as the good fit everything looks beautifully finished.
6/19/09 7:26 AM
o3b said...
Sigh. I wish I could read Polish. But I can see those pics (that finally. loaded) and am amazed at how when the bustline is supported and moved up, the belly looks smaller, too. Or is it just that the suits are supporting the belly as well? Again, maybe if I could read Polish... Your comments about support - that is what I need to hear. I've been (and still am) afraid to make my own due to the support issue.
6/19/09 5:51 AM
kerrynw said...
Very impressed! Beautiful bra and comprehensive review. Thanks!
6/19/09 4:05 AM
l3designs said...
Beautiful.... I really need to make myself some new ones.
6/19/09 1:17 AM
SweetieSweetata said...
Thank you for posting this review! Bra fittings have always been a pain for me, and I have caused pain for others when I worked at a lingerie store. The idea of sewing a good supportive bra and being able to adjust the pattern to meet our needs... It just blows my mind!
6/19/09 1:08 AM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful and a great review! I too would like to know about the support.
6/18/09 10:27 PM
Athene said...
Such a pretty bra and I really like that you were able full coverage on the side fronts.
6/18/09 9:24 PM
Enid E said...
How pretty and it fits so well! Will you make one for me? :-) You have inspired me to to try this avenue of sewing....I spend way too much on RTW bras, and I am not happy with the fit. Great job!
6/18/09 8:45 PM
dbsewer said...
I, too, would like to know how well this supports large busts because that's my issue. I made a bra ages ago and wore it until it started to crumble. These home-made bras are so comfy. Yours is very pretty and I agree with other comments that it looks professional and it's too bad you can't wear on the outside.
6/18/09 7:48 PM
crazygrad said...
gorge- I just love the colors you used. It is a shame you'll wear a top over it. Maybe you should become Sue Ellen Mishke?
6/18/09 7:37 PM
sewbehind said...
That looks so professional, Nancy. May I ask how supportive this bra is? (particularly for a large bust)
6/18/09 7:34 PM
SewInspired907 said...
Wow that looks amazing! And comfortable..and flattering...very impressive
6/18/09 6:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

McCall's 5974

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

More Info