Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: That Purple Top (That Purple Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 571 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Jali
photo
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/09 9:08 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
I do not believe you do anything in a messy way, Jali!!! I'm glad 'That Purple Top' inspired you to draft your own pattern. It's going to be spectacular, I'm sure . . . I'll be watching for it and good luck in the My Pattern contest!
6/20/09 9:29 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I love your sketch!!!
6/20/09 10:39 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I like what you're doing. I'm sure you're going to be much more satisfied with the blouse you design and make for yourself than if you had bought the one you saw. So much more satisfying. Can't wait to see the finished product. M
6/20/09 1:06 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the kind comments. I ran into some problems cutting the muslin and these just gave me a lift:)
6/21/09 9:45 AM
Re Becca said...
That is super cute! You are so talented, I can't wait to see the red one!
6/23/09 7:49 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
What a great review! I like the chronology because it shows a pattern of events. I also don't think your sketching is messy. And your purple top is beautiful; love the topic!
6/23/09 7:57 AM
MaryBeth said...
Fascinating! This muslin is looking good. Great process documentation too. A+
6/23/09 8:07 AM
poplin said...
Like Renren said: it's going to be spectacular.
6/23/09 1:57 PM
donna mel said...
fun review, its like a little episode of project runway.
6/23/09 10:45 PM
Re Becca said...
That turned out AWESOME! I love the colors. Great job.
6/27/09 10:55 PM
poplin said...
Spectacular! Fabulous! Congratulations!
6/27/09 11:23 PM
Kayseri said...
Your final top is lovely, well done.
6/28/09 2:45 AM
dwindy said...
Adorable top. Good necklace, too
6/28/09 9:32 AM
carolynw said...
I truly love this top - wonderful job and great review!
6/28/09 9:48 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW!!! Great job! You are an inspiration
6/28/09 1:00 PM
Jali said...
Much appreciate your comments everyone. Thank you.
6/30/09 7:30 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Man you are fast! Great to see that you pulled it off. And what a clever design! Really great review too
6/30/09 1:09 PM
armathi2 said...
This is quite an accomplishment for your first self drafted pattern. I appreciate your attention to detail and your very informative work in progress review. Your red and black 'That Purple Top' turned out greatl.
7/2/09 9:49 AM
AnneM said...
Nice style. And I can't believe you did all that in 7 1/2 hours; takes me that long starting from a pattern. Congrats on your top. Even that muslin is cute.
7/2/09 8:51 PM
Jali said...
Actually, I am surprised about the time taken for the drafting myself. I had the idea floating in my head for most of the days involved, so I kind of knew the plan when I got to the sewing room. Cutting out took the longest, sewing was mostly straight lines and there are no closures and that saved some time.
7/2/09 10:36 PM
CarolynGM said...
Awesome work! I'm so impressed that you did all this in only 7.5 hours. It's a very cute and original top.
7/6/09 8:27 PM
slvrsage said...
Cute top and interesting review!
7/7/09 11:39 AM
Bambi Lynne said...
Very unique top! I need some inspiration to get to my sewing again and this may do it!
7/15/09 8:15 AM
Angie Jones said...
Beautiful top! Thanks for all of the details about your adventure, it inspires me to learn how to draft my own patterns as well.
7/18/09 7:31 AM
lunchladyland said...
Darling top!!! Looks like you worked really hard on the pattern - you could start your own Pattern Line with this one!!! Superb!!
1/20/10 10:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by TriciaZ on 10/23/11
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5419 Girls' Tops
photo
Review by Edris on 6/20/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us