SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> That Purple Top (That Purple Top)

Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/09 9:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lunchladyland said...
Darling top!!! Looks like you worked really hard on the pattern - you could start your own Pattern Line with this one!!! Superb!!
1/20/10 10:47 PM
Angie Jones said...
Beautiful top! Thanks for all of the details about your adventure, it inspires me to learn how to draft my own patterns as well.
7/18/09 7:31 AM
Bambi Lynne said...
Very unique top! I need some inspiration to get to my sewing again and this may do it!
7/15/09 8:15 AM
slvrsage said...
Cute top and interesting review!
7/7/09 11:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Awesome work! I'm so impressed that you did all this in only 7.5 hours. It's a very cute and original top.
7/6/09 8:27 PM
Jali said...
Actually, I am surprised about the time taken for the drafting myself. I had the idea floating in my head for most of the days involved, so I kind of knew the plan when I got to the sewing room. Cutting out took the longest, sewing was mostly straight lines and there are no closures and that saved some time.
7/2/09 10:36 PM
AnneM said...
Nice style. And I can't believe you did all that in 7 1/2 hours; takes me that long starting from a pattern. Congrats on your top. Even that muslin is cute.
7/2/09 8:51 PM
armathi2 said...
This is quite an accomplishment for your first self drafted pattern. I appreciate your attention to detail and your very informative work in progress review. Your red and black 'That Purple Top' turned out greatl.
7/2/09 9:49 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Man you are fast! Great to see that you pulled it off. And what a clever design! Really great review too
6/30/09 1:09 PM
Jali said...
Much appreciate your comments everyone. Thank you.
6/30/09 7:30 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW!!! Great job! You are an inspiration
6/28/09 1:00 PM
carolynw said...
I truly love this top - wonderful job and great review!
6/28/09 9:48 AM
dwindy said...
Adorable top. Good necklace, too
6/28/09 9:32 AM
Kayseri said...
Your final top is lovely, well done.
6/28/09 2:45 AM
poplin said...
Spectacular! Fabulous! Congratulations!
6/27/09 11:23 PM
Re Becca said...
That turned out AWESOME! I love the colors. Great job.
6/27/09 10:55 PM
donna mel said...
fun review, its like a little episode of project runway.
6/23/09 10:45 PM
poplin said...
Like Renren said: it's going to be spectacular.
6/23/09 1:57 PM
MaryBeth said...
Fascinating! This muslin is looking good. Great process documentation too. A+
6/23/09 8:07 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
What a great review! I like the chronology because it shows a pattern of events. I also don't think your sketching is messy. And your purple top is beautiful; love the topic!
6/23/09 7:57 AM
Re Becca said...
That is super cute! You are so talented, I can't wait to see the red one!
6/23/09 7:49 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the kind comments. I ran into some problems cutting the muslin and these just gave me a lift:)
6/21/09 9:45 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I like what you're doing. I'm sure you're going to be much more satisfied with the blouse you design and make for yourself than if you had bought the one you saw. So much more satisfying. Can't wait to see the finished product. M
6/20/09 1:06 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I love your sketch!!!
6/20/09 10:39 AM
Renren said...
I do not believe you do anything in a messy way, Jali!!! I'm glad 'That Purple Top' inspired you to draft your own pattern. It's going to be spectacular, I'm sure . . . I'll be watching for it and good luck in the My Pattern contest!
6/20/09 9:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

McCall's 6513

photo
by: renelope

Review
Jalie 2111

photo
by: Steph A

Review
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

More Info
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

More Info