SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3875 OOP (Men's Contour Shirt)

Viewed 143 times 
Reviewed by:feldmanTcat
photo

 
 
About feldmanTcatstar
NH USA
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/09 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I really like the fabric you used on this shirt -- it looks very warm and comfy. Make life easy for yourself: if you're sewing for your fiance and he's a 38" chest, 14 1/2 neck (a standard size) choose a 38" pattern. You can find vintage patterns in this size very easily. I highly recommend Margaret Islander's shirtmaking DVD if you're going to continue making men's shirts. It will make the process SO much easier: you'll never have to decipher really bad pattern instruction again! Let's hear it for vintage!
9/16/09 9:21 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
You would probably also enjoy Shirtmaking by David Page Coffin... book and a VHS tape and now a DVD version is out. Fascinating look at how to make real mens shirts RTW results and custom fit and very custom details. Google for his website... most informative. all that said.. GREAT SHIRT! like the color and the vintage vibes....
6/21/09 10:37 AM
SoVintage said...
Great shirt. Nice Fit. A job well done. Kudos to you!
6/21/09 9:14 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
I love this pattern..it's one of my favorites. One of the things I love about it is the "fold" collar...not often seen these days. You did a fine job on this shirt!
6/21/09 6:39 AM
Renren said...
Great shirt! No wonder fiance wanted you to finish it so he could wear it to work. I've never sewn a continuous lap, but I have seen Margaret Islander demonstrate how to sew one on her shirtmaking DVD. If you can get a copy of it, I bet it will help you out immensely. I borrowed a copy from my local American Sewing Guild (you have to be a member). Check the library, too. BUT . . . your shirt is wonderful (well, your fiance's shirt) the way it is.
6/20/09 8:04 PM
quirkygal said...
What a great shirt!
6/20/09 7:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart. Well done. When you're used to binding the sleeve opening you should find it easier than a conventional placket - I certainly do!
6/20/09 7:06 PM
Peggy said...
What an amazing job you did. The shirt looks fantastic.
6/20/09 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-103

photo
by: LoriB

Review
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now and Zen Shirts

photo
by: Nancywin

Review