SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2008-115 (Double breasted jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:Natasha R.
photo

 
 
About Natasha R.star
Member since: 4/23/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/09 1:58 PM
Last Updated:6/21/09 9:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JoanneM said...
Love this. Great color. My D1 has requested this one for me to make before college starts in the fall. Thanks for the review. Most helpful.
6/21/09 3:24 PM
JoanneM said...
I must have missed the back photo. It is DARLING!!!!!!
6/21/09 3:27 PM
digs57 said...
I love it! You made something to be very proud of. I see what you mean about it being a shade tight - but if you move the top button a bit toward centre, that would give you just the extra breathing room to get rid of the ripples. The back view BTW is fabulous: bravo! (I also very much like the other garments you have on your flickr page)
6/21/09 7:47 PM
MissCelie said...
omg. Seriously. That is a GREAT looking jacket. I love the pockets and the peplum in the back. The seaming details are quite nice too. Excellent job!
6/21/09 10:27 PM
graysquirrel said...
Wow...amazing job! It looks really cute!
6/21/09 10:53 PM
graysquirrel said...
Wow...amazing job! It looks really cute!
6/21/09 10:53 PM
Berniev said...
Beautiful work! YOu look great in it. Thank you for the review.
6/21/09 11:18 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Fantastic job! And that color is wonderful.
6/21/09 11:25 PM
Gelbean said...
Wow, that's one incredible jacket!
6/21/09 11:53 PM
Peacock Chic said...
This jacket has been on my list for a while and your renditions makes me want to make it even more!! Love the color and all the fabulous details. It looks fantastic!
6/22/09 1:06 AM
Mary Nanna said...
Looks great, and very professional, despite your comments about the difficulties you had. Great job! And a 3 star BWOF pattern - give yourself a very big pat on the back!
6/22/09 3:41 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Great job! Everything you make is a learning experience. The front is good (not as bad as you say) and the back is great! Maybe shifting the button as noted in an above comment may help. Anyway I would be really happy if it were mine!
6/22/09 4:50 AM
sarahb said...
Fantastic!
6/22/09 12:10 PM
Kay Y said...
It's so nice to see this one made up - it's one of the patterns in that issue that I really liked. Your jacket looks super on you!
6/22/09 8:28 PM
cgHipp said...
Wow, fantastic job. Love the choice of fabric.
6/24/09 0:40 AM
fuzzygalore said...
That is one good-looking jacket! Thanks for the back picture, which isn't easy to find, it's totally worth it. Why is this a bit small? Did you pick a size by translating your US size, which is garanteed 2 sizes too small? Or did you correctly pick it by measurements, and it's the thicker wool and extra lining that's making too much of a difference?
6/24/09 3:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2180

photo
by: Jasst282

Review