SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5396 (Unlined jacket)

7 more reviews
Viewed 335 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/09 10:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
How did I miss this? I only saw it "pop up" in the sidebar rotation today and clicked on it. Great jacket! Fantastic color on you! I love everything about this and may have to order it even at OOP prices.
8/15/09 9:04 AM
Aunt Gail said...
You write such great reviews - and I think we share the same body type so your experience counts DOUBLE wonderful. I only wish you would include some extra pix of the patter alterations you do.
7/28/09 11:48 PM
Aunt Gail said...
You write such great reviews - and I think we share the same body type so your experience counts DOUBLE wonderful. I only wish you would include some extra pix of the patter alterations you do.
7/28/09 11:48 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I saw this jacket close-up and loved it. The color looks fab on you too!
6/25/09 8:59 PM
OP Gal said...
mssewcrazy--No, I sewed the elastic to produce the gathers and topstitched the tab over the zig zagging. I'm an apple, too, and I think this works for me.
6/25/09 6:19 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Did you eliminate the elastic and use the topstitched tab to hold conventional gathers ? Thank you for showing and explaining your work with this pattern. I have become a Palmer Pletsch fan lately from watching their dvds and was really taken with the style of this pattern. I could not do gathers all around a jacket being an apple- think this in the back would work for me, maybe.
6/24/09 10:18 AM
OP Gal said...
Okay, here's the answer to the questions about sewing down the back tab. The gathering consists of zig zagging over three rows of elastic between the princess seams. I noticed that if you moved, the tab could bend and reveal the rows of zig zagging which I didn't think was a good look. So, I just top stitched the tab to the jacket.
6/23/09 7:00 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Don't chunk that pattern yet. Yesterday well heeled daughter had on a soft khaki jacket that was almost identical to this one worn with jeans, heels and a fabulous handbag. I was so taken with it that I came for another look at yours and bought the oop pattern on ebay just now. I just thought that back jacket detail was so trendy that I will do my own version age appropriate version this fall with (low heels of course as I have to be able to walk.) Nice jacket you have sewn. If you have any pointers on the back belt please add them. My daughter's jacket was top stitched down.
6/23/09 10:46 AM
Raye Ann said...
this looks great on you! really nice jacket. thanks for all the fitting info.
6/22/09 11:47 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - love the colour and agree it's too bad it's OOP - could use anice jacket pattern like this
6/22/09 2:42 PM
Rustybobn said...
I like that one a lot. It appears that you stitched the tab down, rather than allowing it to float over the elastic gathers as in the pattern. How did you do that?
6/22/09 10:12 AM
Peggy L said...
Great color for you. The jacket looks great.
6/22/09 7:48 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love this color on you and the jacket look great.
6/22/09 6:51 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!!! Your jacket is just my style! Love the color, fabric and style! A definite winner!
6/22/09 6:20 AM
Renren said...
Very nice and thanks for all the info. You look lovely in this jacket and I'll bet you brighten up whatever corner of the world you wear this jacket. So cheerful.
6/22/09 0:32 AM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty spring colored jacket. I really like the PP patterns because you get the right order of all the alterations so that they work out right.
6/21/09 11:33 PM
Christas said...
This is SO cute! I love the pretty green fabric ...... looks great on you.
6/21/09 11:01 PM
pterion said...
Lovely jacket - you look radiant in it!
6/21/09 10:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

McCall's 6512

photo
by: trumbelina

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

More Info