Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5396 (Unlined jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 331 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/09 10:43 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
Lovely jacket - you look radiant in it!
6/21/09 10:48 PM
Christas said...
This is SO cute! I love the pretty green fabric ...... looks great on you.
6/21/09 11:01 PM
Nancywin said...
Very pretty spring colored jacket. I really like the PP patterns because you get the right order of all the alterations so that they work out right.
6/21/09 11:33 PM
Renren said...
Very nice and thanks for all the info. You look lovely in this jacket and I'll bet you brighten up whatever corner of the world you wear this jacket. So cheerful.
6/22/09 0:32 AM
marjenann said...
Wow!!! Your jacket is just my style! Love the color, fabric and style! A definite winner!
6/22/09 6:20 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love this color on you and the jacket look great.
6/22/09 6:51 AM
Peggy L said...
Great color for you. The jacket looks great.
6/22/09 7:48 AM
Rustybobn said...
I like that one a lot. It appears that you stitched the tab down, rather than allowing it to float over the elastic gathers as in the pattern. How did you do that?
6/22/09 10:12 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - love the colour and agree it's too bad it's OOP - could use anice jacket pattern like this
6/22/09 2:42 PM
Raye Ann said...
this looks great on you! really nice jacket. thanks for all the fitting info.
6/22/09 11:47 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Don't chunk that pattern yet. Yesterday well heeled daughter had on a soft khaki jacket that was almost identical to this one worn with jeans, heels and a fabulous handbag. I was so taken with it that I came for another look at yours and bought the oop pattern on ebay just now. I just thought that back jacket detail was so trendy that I will do my own version age appropriate version this fall with (low heels of course as I have to be able to walk.) Nice jacket you have sewn. If you have any pointers on the back belt please add them. My daughter's jacket was top stitched down.
6/23/09 10:46 AM
OP Gal said...
Okay, here's the answer to the questions about sewing down the back tab. The gathering consists of zig zagging over three rows of elastic between the princess seams. I noticed that if you moved, the tab could bend and reveal the rows of zig zagging which I didn't think was a good look. So, I just top stitched the tab to the jacket.
6/23/09 7:00 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Did you eliminate the elastic and use the topstitched tab to hold conventional gathers ? Thank you for showing and explaining your work with this pattern. I have become a Palmer Pletsch fan lately from watching their dvds and was really taken with the style of this pattern. I could not do gathers all around a jacket being an apple- think this in the back would work for me, maybe.
6/24/09 10:18 AM
OP Gal said...
mssewcrazy--No, I sewed the elastic to produce the gathers and topstitched the tab over the zig zagging. I'm an apple, too, and I think this works for me.
6/25/09 6:19 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I saw this jacket close-up and loved it. The color looks fab on you too!
6/25/09 8:59 PM
Aunt Gail said...
You write such great reviews - and I think we share the same body type so your experience counts DOUBLE wonderful. I only wish you would include some extra pix of the patter alterations you do.
7/28/09 11:48 PM
Aunt Gail said...
You write such great reviews - and I think we share the same body type so your experience counts DOUBLE wonderful. I only wish you would include some extra pix of the patter alterations you do.
7/28/09 11:48 PM
Debbie Cook said...
How did I miss this? I only saw it "pop up" in the sidebar rotation today and clicked on it. Great jacket! Fantastic color on you! I love everything about this and may have to order it even at OOP prices.
8/15/09 9:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

StyleArc Jade Dress jade
photo
Review by momsurfing on 3/21/12
Read Review

Burda 9828 Pattern
Burda 9828 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
New Look 6278 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1716
photo
Review by Willowwear... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Cool Cowl Tank
Cool Cowl Tank

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chloe Handbag
Chloe Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us