SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5320 (Puffy Collar Wrap Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 875 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/09 12:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sassy T said...
Love your version and I had envisoned it in a summery colour too.
2/15/12 3:42 PM
Mebber said...
I love this dress. Thanks for the inspiration - always looking for good styles to wear on my SBA bod. I am going to make this to wear to a lakeside wedding.
8/30/09 10:47 AM
Lynz said...
I am definately buying this pattern
7/8/09 12:46 PM
Bonnie O said...
Thanks for this review! Like you, I assumed the collar was a ruffle. It wasn't until I had the fabric cut and the lining cut that I realized it was pleats. I didn't feel right putting the fabric and lining aside but I anticipated I would never made the dress. Now that I've read your review, I am definitely going to try. Your version looks fantastic. I am also considering eliminating the lining so I'm glad to see your tips!
7/6/09 1:00 PM
kerrynw said...
Great dress, great colour, great photos, great review!!!!
7/2/09 4:51 AM
yummymummy38 said...
great dress in a great colour on you! your reviews are always such a treat, your hints but especially your fun photos.
6/25/09 7:56 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Love this dress on you it looks fabulous!!
6/24/09 4:51 PM
SandraB said...
Love your dress and the beautiful, bold colour.
6/24/09 1:08 PM
pfaffkj said...
That dress is just glorious!
6/24/09 10:43 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
I'm drooling with envy! No one would EVER know this is a BED SHEET! The collar is just fabulous, and you did a great job with it!
6/24/09 8:15 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a perfect dress on you! The color is amazing on you as well. No, definitely NOT boring! And why is it a lot of styles have gathering in the back? Most of the time I think that can be so unflattering making us look big when we're not. Yeah, I agree--darts are the way to go for a sleeker fit.
6/24/09 6:36 AM
Darla in PA said...
Very cute dress!
6/23/09 10:01 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful dress! It looks so good on you!
6/23/09 8:04 PM
Gelbean said...
Another great dress. I love the color and the puffy collar.
6/23/09 7:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very nice. It really suits you, and the colour is fabulous. I never thought of Ikea that way before ... I must look more carefully next time.
6/23/09 7:27 PM
kkkkaty said...
sorry duplicate
6/23/09 7:16 PM
kkkkaty said...
oh, I bought this pattern, so pretty.... thx for the review!
6/23/09 7:14 PM
Erica B. said...
Great dress! That color is fabulous on you!
6/23/09 6:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You're such a girly girl. I love how sweet and feminine this dress is on you.
6/23/09 5:48 PM
Nancy K said...
Cute as can be! Love the color on you
6/23/09 5:08 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
LOOOOOVE IT!!
6/23/09 3:56 PM
Ronda Rae said...
This dress looks so awesome on you!! I can agree to fixing the back- it would be much better.
6/23/09 3:39 PM
kim*brown said...
Great idea. You look adorable!
6/23/09 2:39 PM
Mufffet said...
AMAZING. How colorful - Summer is celebrated in this!
6/23/09 2:23 PM
SueV said...
what a great dress! Another winner on you!
6/23/09 2:16 PM
MissCelie said...
This, is beyond words. It's SO STINKING CUTE!! I love it.
6/23/09 2:08 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the dress, Trena. This review is very helpful. You certainly made the fabric work for you. Great pocket treatment and use of the pretty ribbon.
6/23/09 1:57 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Very nice dress. I love the color and it looks exactly like the pattern.
6/23/09 1:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Wild Ginger child\'s play: gored skirt

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Simplicity 3831

photo
by: pinkcatflo...

Review
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now