Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1085 (Sandra Betzina Wrap Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 669 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Bonny Dune
photo
About Bonny Dunestar
Member since: 1/21/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/09 8:44 AM
Last Updated:6/25/09 2:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
A picture says a thousand words...thanks for the warnings about this one.
6/25/09 2:56 PM
Dee2 said...
Sorry the pattern did not work out for you. Your review did make me laugh a few times! Hopefully view A will work better.
6/25/09 7:23 PM
Riesie said...
Too funny! Sorry it didn't work but if you ever decide to take up work as a comic you have the perfect outfit, LOL!!
6/25/09 9:35 PM
Athene said...
Sorry it did not turn out for you. I buy most SB patterns but do not have this one. I will have to take a really good look at the instructions in store before I consider this pattern. Thank you for the very honest review. Maybe you can save the fabric by trying to cut it into a different top that uses less fabric.
6/26/09 1:50 AM
Bonny Dune said...
I am a fan of the SB patterns too, and usually they are outstanding. That's why I felt I wanted to get the word out about this one. Such a disappointment. There's a lot of fabric there, but I am not sure how to save it. I actually just moved on to a Burda maxi dress. I feel like I am done with this one.
6/26/09 9:38 AM
mwl6666 said...
I've been waiting for someone else to review this pattern since I sewed it up about two months ago. I thought I had seriously misread the instructions for view B, but I had the exact same issues with the construction and the wearability as you did. I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to put on the garment to look like the model in the photo. You mentioned the top might look better on a thin woman, which I am, but there's no way this mess of fabric can be worn by anyone. I've made Sandra Betzina patterns before, with excellent results, but this one is total crap. The pattern and the garment went right into my trash can.
7/6/09 11:51 AM
Bonny Dune said...
mwl6666 I am so glad you spoke up. I keep thinking it's just me. I really did go through the stupid pattern step by step several times to see what I had missed. I have decided Vogue is the one who messed up. This is a $27 pattern, I expect better for that kind of money. It's sad, I have never had any issues with Sandra's patterns.
7/9/09 11:28 PM
Renren said...
Gosh, I just read through the pattern thinking I would sew this next. Now I think maybe I better move on and pick another pattern. How frustrating for you . . . all that effort and time and money. But thanks for the warning.
9/7/09 5:52 PM
LBH said...
Loved your review! Thanks for saving me from this. I've bought (but not tried) the pattern. Still holding out hope for view A. Again, great review!
2/25/10 9:31 PM
o3b said...
Bonny Dune - I just ran across this review whilst looking at your others. I am shaped very similarly to you through the torso, so I know that it will not work for me, either. At a recent ASG meeting, a lady brought in her wardrobe to show us and it included this pattern. She is a very lean lady, and this did look good on her. She did state very emphatically that the directions on WHERE to attach the ties are WRONG. They should not be sewn pointing down from the hem, but should be sewn as an extension of the hem - i.e. pointing towards the sides of the body, not the feet. Regardless, I could not and would not wear this w/o fabric below the tie line b/c I would not want to fiddle with it every time I bent over. Thanks for you pics. The ASG mtg made me wonder about this pattern, but I can tell it won't work for me, even with the ties sewn on in the correct place. Anyway, I hope you were able to reuse the fabric on something else and hope this info might help someone else coming to check out your review and find out what they "did wrong".
5/14/10 6:07 AM
o3b said...
P.S. I was hoping to see a review on the Burda 409 pants that I saw along with pics of another of your reviews. I like them on you and particularly like the waistband. I want to make them up now.
5/14/10 6:10 AM
Bonny Dune said...
I keep meaning to write up the review for Burda 409. I have been sick for a while and I just have not caught up yet. I will try to push that up the list.
5/24/10 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Wild Ginger PMB3 Bib Overalls
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 5/19/04
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Annika
photo
Review by Char in KS on 2/20/12
Read Review

Burda 7557 Pattern
Burda 7557 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3961 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us