SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1085 (Sandra Betzina Wrap Top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 671 times 
Reviewed by:Bonny Dune
photo

 
 
About Bonny Dunestar
Member since: 1/21/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 10
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/09 8:44 AM
Last Updated:6/25/09 2:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bonny Dune said...
I keep meaning to write up the review for Burda 409. I have been sick for a while and I just have not caught up yet. I will try to push that up the list.
5/24/10 5:14 PM
o3b said...
P.S. I was hoping to see a review on the Burda 409 pants that I saw along with pics of another of your reviews. I like them on you and particularly like the waistband. I want to make them up now.
5/14/10 6:10 AM
o3b said...
Bonny Dune - I just ran across this review whilst looking at your others. I am shaped very similarly to you through the torso, so I know that it will not work for me, either. At a recent ASG meeting, a lady brought in her wardrobe to show us and it included this pattern. She is a very lean lady, and this did look good on her. She did state very emphatically that the directions on WHERE to attach the ties are WRONG. They should not be sewn pointing down from the hem, but should be sewn as an extension of the hem - i.e. pointing towards the sides of the body, not the feet. Regardless, I could not and would not wear this w/o fabric below the tie line b/c I would not want to fiddle with it every time I bent over. Thanks for you pics. The ASG mtg made me wonder about this pattern, but I can tell it won't work for me, even with the ties sewn on in the correct place. Anyway, I hope you were able to reuse the fabric on something else and hope this info might help someone else coming to check out your review and find out what they "did wrong".
5/14/10 6:07 AM
LBH said...
Loved your review! Thanks for saving me from this. I've bought (but not tried) the pattern. Still holding out hope for view A. Again, great review!
2/25/10 9:31 PM
Renren said...
Gosh, I just read through the pattern thinking I would sew this next. Now I think maybe I better move on and pick another pattern. How frustrating for you . . . all that effort and time and money. But thanks for the warning.
9/7/09 5:52 PM
Bonny Dune said...
mwl6666 I am so glad you spoke up. I keep thinking it's just me. I really did go through the stupid pattern step by step several times to see what I had missed. I have decided Vogue is the one who messed up. This is a $27 pattern, I expect better for that kind of money. It's sad, I have never had any issues with Sandra's patterns.
7/9/09 11:28 PM
mwl6666 said...
I've been waiting for someone else to review this pattern since I sewed it up about two months ago. I thought I had seriously misread the instructions for view B, but I had the exact same issues with the construction and the wearability as you did. I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to put on the garment to look like the model in the photo. You mentioned the top might look better on a thin woman, which I am, but there's no way this mess of fabric can be worn by anyone. I've made Sandra Betzina patterns before, with excellent results, but this one is total crap. The pattern and the garment went right into my trash can.
7/6/09 11:51 AM
Bonny Dune said...
I am a fan of the SB patterns too, and usually they are outstanding. That's why I felt I wanted to get the word out about this one. Such a disappointment. There's a lot of fabric there, but I am not sure how to save it. I actually just moved on to a Burda maxi dress. I feel like I am done with this one.
6/26/09 9:38 AM
Athene said...
Sorry it did not turn out for you. I buy most SB patterns but do not have this one. I will have to take a really good look at the instructions in store before I consider this pattern. Thank you for the very honest review. Maybe you can save the fabric by trying to cut it into a different top that uses less fabric.
6/26/09 1:50 AM
Riesie said...
Too funny! Sorry it didn't work but if you ever decide to take up work as a comic you have the perfect outfit, LOL!!
6/25/09 9:35 PM
Dee2 said...
Sorry the pattern did not work out for you. Your review did make me laugh a few times! Hopefully view A will work better.
6/25/09 7:23 PM
michellep74 said...
A picture says a thousand words...thanks for the warnings about this one.
6/25/09 2:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

New Look 6104

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

More Info