Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5328 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 910 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Amanda S.
photo
About Amanda S.starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 6/27/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 170 people
patterns reviewed: 89
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/09 9:27 AM
Last Updated:6/25/09 6:12 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing for fun said...
Great review! Thanks for the details on fit. I suspect the original pattern might work fro me without an FBA. Love the color!
6/25/09 9:47 AM
Christas said...
I am so glad you stuck with this top and didn't call it a wadder too soon. Your adjustments were absolutely perfect and made such a pretty and stylish blouse. The color is gorgeous and (as always!) the inside is just as pretty as the outside. It is so inspiring to see someone take so much care to make sure the inside also looks nice. Very well done!
6/25/09 9:50 AM
mochalover said...
Very nice job, as always. Green and white are a great looking combo.
6/25/09 10:04 AM
Michelle L said...
Fantastic color! Thanks for the review...although the fact that the bust was oversized and low makes me think that I could probably sew it up right out of the envelope!! Great work, and great save!
6/25/09 10:08 AM
Re Becca said...
That turned out to be very flattering, I am glad that you stuck with it.
6/25/09 10:13 AM
Sallygirl said...
This is one of those patterns that did nothing for me until I saw it on you. It is adorable, and you did an awesome job sticking with it and making it fit you perfectly. I also love the apple green with white pants. I was in wadder land at the same time you were so every time I read your blog I was right there with you!
6/25/09 10:14 AM
Sheila457 said...
Great looking top.
6/25/09 10:15 AM
Elke said...
Great looking blouse and the color is pretty and cheerful!
6/25/09 10:44 AM
sewbehind said...
Very cute, Amanda. I always love to look at the insides of your garments as much as the outside.
6/25/09 11:19 AM
Gold said...
Cute top!
6/25/09 11:39 AM
busymomof3 said...
I LOVE your top!! I want one! Thank you so much for you review, very good! Makes me want to sew it.
6/25/09 11:40 AM
Braemar said...
Beautiful blouse.....it suits you so well. Thank you for the informative review. This is very helpful.
6/25/09 11:48 AM
Raye Ann said...
Amanda- what a wonderful job on your blouse! this is the first review of yours that i have seen, i think- and i am very impressed with the finishing tecniques you used. your adjustments did make a huge difference to the look of the design. great job!
6/25/09 12:52 PM
Terri Smith said...
Nice review of a difficult alteration. The green is a great color on you, and the fit, both front and back, are terrific.
6/25/09 1:22 PM
eugenia123 said...
Really pretty top and beautifully made - and I love that apple green color, it looks great on you.
6/25/09 1:28 PM
chango said...
Your top looks so great! The color, the fit, and the finishing inside. I did try this pattern as a beginner (it ended up in my scrap bag!), so you are right, it is not recommended . I have sewn a few shirts since then, successfully, and after seeing your version of it, I think I'm ready to try this one again. Thanks for the very informative review.
6/25/09 1:29 PM
AquariJenn said...
Very helpful review. Your top is very cute and well made. The color looks great on you. I've had this pattern on my list since it came out. I think I need to make it up. I only hope mine looks as cute as yours. :)
6/25/09 1:45 PM
barbcl said...
Great result and fabulous color on a difficult project. The blouse looks adorable, and your gathering is beautiful.
6/26/09 9:39 AM
Jali said...
Beautiful top in a beautiful colour! You effort is well worth it.
6/26/09 12:04 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Love it!! This one is on my wishlist, so I'll definitely be revisiting your review... thanks!
6/26/09 12:43 PM
nancyc said...
Your persistence really paid off. Your blouse is lovely!
6/26/09 8:50 PM
cleverkitty said...
It really looks good, I like the color and style on you. You sew wonderful!!!
6/26/09 10:51 PM
carolynw said...
Wonderful that you stuck with this because it looks so good on you - the whole outfit says summer - really classy summer!!
6/26/09 11:01 PM
tanroc75 said...
Beautiful top! You always do such a fantastic job! Thanks so much for your detailed review.
6/27/09 7:03 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you look wonderful in this terrific blouse. I have a RTW shirt just like it and it's on my list to buy. Thanks for the useful review and encouraging fit advice.
6/28/09 11:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Neue Mode 23215 coat
photo
Review by Tini on 2/1/05
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marco Shirt for Men Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 375
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 1/31/11
Read Review

Fusible Interfacing DVD
Fusible Interfacing DVD

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size L-XL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6656 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us