Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4920 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 423 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/09 12:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Oh, I do love the style lines and pleats on this dress! Very, very flattering on you so do make another. :)
6/26/09 12:15 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You really do rock those vintage patterns. This one doesn't look too loose in the waist, it's perfect. The neckline looks like it could come down some, however. I just found the old Dick Van Dyke shows on Netflix. Laura Petre wore the most beautiful dresses and slacks. Too bad it's in B/W.
6/26/09 12:17 PM
msladyj said...
Love the dress. It looks wonderful.
6/26/09 1:20 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
There's just something so special about a vintage pattern -- doncha just love 'em??!! Excellent job!
6/26/09 1:43 PM
moonchild61 said...
Love the dress and the bow just makes it!
6/26/09 2:40 PM
CynthiaSue said...
the color really "pops" on you!! looks great. Linen is a pain sometimes!! It lets me down more often than not. Wear it often this summer though!
6/26/09 2:51 PM
feldmanTcat said...
I am so glad you made this - this was one of the first patterns I bought and I am afraid to tackle it, as those pleats look scary. Love the look, great job, PLEASE make it again so we can see more. This looks great and I agree, a very stiff firm fabric is key.
6/26/09 4:11 PM
michellep74 said...
I think this looks great on you--you really should wear it, if for nothing other than the color. The fit looks fine.
6/26/09 4:18 PM
Riesie said...
I think this looks terrific on you - both the dress and the color, which is SUPER! And the weird thing is, I am pretty sure I made this dress when I was a teenager, LOL!! Now I am going to have to troll through my mom's old photo albums to see if I'm right.
6/26/09 4:41 PM
Andreahg said...
Thanks for all the kinds words!
6/26/09 6:26 PM
JudiBee2 said...
That is a very nice dress on you. You did a great job grading it.
6/26/09 6:39 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT dress, Andrea. I too love that waistline treatment, as well as the COLOR of your fabric. AND I don't think it looks too big either! :o)
6/26/09 10:33 PM
MamaSewing said...
Another terrific dress!!! Great job.
6/26/09 11:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another great dress! I like your whole look with the dress and your fab hairstyle.
6/27/09 1:28 AM
lynda828 said...
Fantastic pattern, I agree with Sherill Miller I would love to see the neckline lowered a little for a modern twist. The fit is perfect and loooove the colour on you - perfect
6/27/09 6:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

KnipMode Magazine 02-2011-12
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/18/11
Read Review

By Hand London Anna Dress
By Hand London Anna Dress

Details
Price: $23.39
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)
Colette Patterns Ceylon Pattern (1009)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 36361-1000
photo
Review by JEF on 2/25/09
Read Review

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us