Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2009-117 (Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 745 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:KrystalL
photo
About KrystalLstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 6/27/05
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 56 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/26/09 9:04 PM
Last Updated:6/27/09 0:20 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Great dress - looks like a good fit from here and the print hides any sewing imperfections. I like the seaming details of this design, and I think they would look great in a solid colour (but on the other hand, I have tried sewing points like that before and I know it's not easy!)
6/26/09 9:21 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Lovely dress! I'm going to have to keep the rhinestone cover-up tip in my bag of tricks...love that idea :)
6/26/09 9:25 PM
poorpigling said...
Looks good to me..and looks good on you too..you can wear this anywhere.. The print is so right for this summer..
6/26/09 9:27 PM
JoanneM said...
This dress is so pretty on you.
6/26/09 9:55 PM
michellep74 said...
Lovely dress! I liked this when I saw it in the magazine, so it's really nice to see it sewn up.
6/26/09 10:17 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress - love the fabric
6/26/09 11:17 PM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dress looks terrific on you. Nice work.
6/26/09 11:29 PM
maedchen said...
looks terrific!
6/26/09 11:38 PM
eibhlin said...
Wow, your creations are always so beautiful. You have a wonderful eye for feminine fashions and fabrics. Very beautiful!
6/26/09 11:40 PM
TalyQ said...
I have been drawn to that dress since I saw it. It looks great on you. When I get better at fitting my figure, I might try it.
6/27/09 2:18 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress in a gorgeous fabric. Well done.
6/27/09 3:48 AM
Elke said...
This dress is gorgeous on you! The style and fabric look great together.
6/27/09 7:30 AM
kerrynw said...
Beautiful dress, great fit and lovely fabric.
6/27/09 7:51 AM
halleyscomet said...
Love the style on you! The colors are great on you too!
6/27/09 8:33 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous dress! Thanks for the tip, too. I am definitely going to buy the items listed and give it a whirl. Tracing is something I loathe!
6/27/09 8:37 AM
Kay Y said...
That is a lovely dress and it is gorgeous on you!
6/27/09 10:17 AM
mochimo said...
Lovely dress! Do you think it would work in a non-stretch fabric?
6/27/09 10:24 AM
Gold said...
Super cute dress!! Great job! I love that fabric.
6/27/09 12:11 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Great dress, it look really good on you! Perfect for summer, you look ready for an island vacation.
6/27/09 2:20 PM
Christas said...
Very pretty dress .... you look beautiful in it!
6/27/09 3:02 PM
figtree said...
Thank you for the review, your dress is beautiful! A friend wants me to make this for her but when I saw the points i was a bit worried. I'll def do a muslin first!
6/27/09 3:28 PM
KrystalL said...
Hi, mochimo. The dress fits snugly around the hips and bottom, so using a stretch fabric will probably work best.
6/27/09 4:19 PM
Markie1 said...
Thank you for a very helpful review--this dress looks wonderful on you. In fact, if you were kneeling on a window seat, you would give the model a run for her money!
6/27/09 7:17 PM
SandraB said...
Such a lovely dress.
6/27/09 9:19 PM
michalklimer said...
it is a great dress. the fabric is amazing and the dress is beautiful! Thanks for the review!
6/28/09 0:23 AM
Jali said...
I like your choice of fabric better. This is a lovely dress on you. I often think of trying to test run more difficult sewing on a less visible side too.
6/28/09 6:45 AM
Heidi Ho said...
Wow!!That dress looks great and fits you perfectly!! I love the print.
6/28/09 5:51 PM
Sheila457 said...
Great dress.
7/3/09 6:51 AM
Pamaro said...
What a terrific-looking dress. The beauty of prints is that they hide any imperfections we might perceive. Nice call on adding crystals. That's one of the benefits of sewing our own clothing, there's always something we can change or add to achieve the finished result.
7/5/09 6:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

BurdaStyle Downloadable Jason vest Jason Vest
photo
Review by QuiltSewSe... on 6/16/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8155
photo
Review by lynnewill on 7/6/09
Read Review

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us