SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3785 (Misses Special Occasion Gowns)

7 more reviews
Viewed 532 times 
Reviewed by:jrizzoli
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jrizzoli
Member since: 1/31/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 10:04 PM
Last Updated:9/5/09 0:17 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Oh my!! This is so beautiful and you made this after not sewing for so many years - simply wonderful!! Lucky Barb- she looks every inch the MOTG!!
6/28/09 10:41 PM
Kayseri said...
This is a fabulous effort, especially after such a long break.
6/29/09 2:20 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I love how the silk drapes- so luxurious! The color looks great on her. What is a bubble hem?
6/29/09 7:54 AM
Lisamarieg said...
great dress very pretty
6/29/09 8:06 AM
moonchild61 said...
Lovely dress!
6/29/09 8:34 AM
persevering said...
You made this after 25 years of not sewing!!!! It is absolutely lovely, well-fitted, in luxurious silk in design and color that totally suits your friend appropriately and beautifully dressed for her son's wedding. Congratulations!
6/29/09 10:10 AM
barbcl said...
Such a lovely dress, and a great review. Thanks!
6/29/09 10:24 AM
marjenann said...
Oh! Oh! I love this dress! It is ravishing!! Can't wait to see more of your garments!!
6/29/09 10:45 AM
bconky said...
It turned out beautifully. Amazing you have not done garment sewing in 25 years. You should do more of it.
6/29/09 4:28 PM
jrizzoli said...
Thanks for the gracious comments! It inspires me to continue. I've included a picture of the bubble hem. It's made by gathering the outer fabric to the lining which is narrower in width. The lining is also cut shorter than the outer fabric, so once sewn together, the lining pulls up the outer fabric to the inside of the garment which ends up "bubbling". I hope that makes sense. It creates a very soft look for the hem.
6/30/09 0:44 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Just lovely.... welcome back to sewing! You will truly enjoy the availability of information / techniques / notions and such. Regretfully you will hate the dearth of fabric stores in the bricks and mortar style. While some areas still have stores... esp. when living near NY LA Chicago, the rest of us do without. I guess it is a trade off. Your friends dress is just beautiful and you did a beautiful job for your friend. BRAVO!
6/30/09 8:09 AM
sewing addict said...
Beautiful dress. Great review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get started
6/30/09 8:47 AM
MaryDB said...
Terrific job, and your friend looks lovely in the dress. I have this pattern, and it's just taken a big jump to the head of the line for a dress I need to wear to a wedding. Great review!
6/30/09 11:24 AM
eugenia123 said...
What an extraordinary achievement - I'm in awe. It's a beautiful dress and your friend looks lovely in it - what a good friend you are!!
6/30/09 12:06 PM
bananaoil said...
Lucky Barb! And she looks beautiful in that dress. Thanks for your review, you were smart to go to the store to see what looked best on. I've read that advice before but never taken it to heart. Now i'll consider doing this when I need something special because I would not have been able to guess from the pattern envelope, with the elongated model, the dress could look so lovely on a real person.
9/5/09 12:18 PM
CypGrl said...
What a great dress! It looks anything but matronly as so many of the dresses for mothers do.
9/6/09 10:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Cutting Line Designs 62612

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review