Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3785 (Misses Special Occasion Gowns) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 528 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:jrizzoli
photo
Friend of PR
About jrizzoli
Member since: 1/31/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 10:04 PM
Last Updated:9/5/09 0:17 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Oh my!! This is so beautiful and you made this after not sewing for so many years - simply wonderful!! Lucky Barb- she looks every inch the MOTG!!
6/28/09 10:41 PM
Kayseri said...
This is a fabulous effort, especially after such a long break.
6/29/09 2:20 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I love how the silk drapes- so luxurious! The color looks great on her. What is a bubble hem?
6/29/09 7:54 AM
Lisamarieg said...
great dress very pretty
6/29/09 8:06 AM
moonchild61 said...
Lovely dress!
6/29/09 8:34 AM
persevering said...
You made this after 25 years of not sewing!!!! It is absolutely lovely, well-fitted, in luxurious silk in design and color that totally suits your friend appropriately and beautifully dressed for her son's wedding. Congratulations!
6/29/09 10:10 AM
barbcl said...
Such a lovely dress, and a great review. Thanks!
6/29/09 10:24 AM
marjenann said...
Oh! Oh! I love this dress! It is ravishing!! Can't wait to see more of your garments!!
6/29/09 10:45 AM
bconky said...
It turned out beautifully. Amazing you have not done garment sewing in 25 years. You should do more of it.
6/29/09 4:28 PM
jrizzoli said...
Thanks for the gracious comments! It inspires me to continue. I've included a picture of the bubble hem. It's made by gathering the outer fabric to the lining which is narrower in width. The lining is also cut shorter than the outer fabric, so once sewn together, the lining pulls up the outer fabric to the inside of the garment which ends up "bubbling". I hope that makes sense. It creates a very soft look for the hem.
6/30/09 0:44 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Just lovely.... welcome back to sewing! You will truly enjoy the availability of information / techniques / notions and such. Regretfully you will hate the dearth of fabric stores in the bricks and mortar style. While some areas still have stores... esp. when living near NY LA Chicago, the rest of us do without. I guess it is a trade off. Your friends dress is just beautiful and you did a beautiful job for your friend. BRAVO!
6/30/09 8:09 AM
sewing addict said...
Beautiful dress. Great review. I have this pattern and can't wait to get started
6/30/09 8:47 AM
MaryDB said...
Terrific job, and your friend looks lovely in the dress. I have this pattern, and it's just taken a big jump to the head of the line for a dress I need to wear to a wedding. Great review!
6/30/09 11:24 AM
eugenia123 said...
What an extraordinary achievement - I'm in awe. It's a beautiful dress and your friend looks lovely in it - what a good friend you are!!
6/30/09 12:06 PM
bananaoil said...
Lucky Barb! And she looks beautiful in that dress. Thanks for your review, you were smart to go to the store to see what looked best on. I've read that advice before but never taken it to heart. Now i'll consider doing this when I need something special because I would not have been able to guess from the pattern envelope, with the elongated model, the dress could look so lovely on a real person.
9/5/09 12:18 PM
CypGrl said...
What a great dress! It looks anything but matronly as so many of the dresses for mothers do.
9/6/09 10:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

StyleArc Diana Top Diana Top
photo
Review by GoodbyeVal... on 4/6/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3768 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-117 Ring Top #117
photo
Review by Nata on 2/11/06
Read Review

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us