SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-128 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 739 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 11:28 PM
Last Updated:6/29/09 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElsaD said...
I'm just finishing this dress and quite like it. Am also short. I like the bust enhancing pleats -- but perhaps also need them. However, I did reduce the front bodice between bust and necklline and that might have reduced the puffiness you're referring to. Will post a review soon. Your front photo is very small so its hard to see but I don't think it makes you look like a ball at all. You did a very good job.
6/29/09 1:01 AM
becca a said...
Elsa, thanks. I posted a link to the front. I hope you like your dress better than I like this one.
6/29/09 1:49 AM
wreninrome said...
well now you have a great lounging at home, cooking and i don't care what I get on it dress...I think it looks pretty good but I do see what you mean about the front being puffy. You look too small from the side and back to need that extra material
6/29/09 6:25 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I LIKE how it looks on you. The fabric is cute. I like how you used a border print.
6/29/09 7:47 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
I think the dress is lovely, too bad you're not pleased with it!
6/29/09 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
I may be missing something from the photos but have to say - I do like this on you and you so do not look like a green ball!!
6/29/09 9:04 AM
Barbara V said...
I agree with "clin"...I like this on you. I like the lovely green color, border print interest and overall style. Do wear it out and I bet you will receive many compliments!
6/29/09 9:32 AM
cabinbaby said...
Hmmmm, well I like the fabric and the dress. I think you look great.
6/29/09 11:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Making a dress out of fabric you hate is always such a gamble--sometimes it's hard to separate the style from the fabric. I think this would be very cute with slight tweaking, but there are a lot of patterns out there to try!
6/29/09 11:24 AM
Lisa p said...
I really like this dress. I love the colour , style and print !!!!
6/29/09 11:28 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments, I really appreciate the feedback. The dress is really much more garish in person. It is a very bright green which doesn't show up in the picture. I may tweak the pattern and try again with fabric I like.
6/29/09 12:15 PM
becca a said...
Sorry duplicate comment. I don't know why almost all my comments on PR reviews double themselves.
6/29/09 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, thanks for a really informative review! I think it looks fine on you in the pictures but could see this working maybe a little better with a drapier fabric.
6/29/09 1:28 PM
Sew Shy said...
I think this looks good - especially since it fits you so well everywhere else! Maybe you should hang it in the closet for a while and come back to it?
6/29/09 6:13 PM
becca a said...
Sorry, duplicate comment reappeared.
6/29/09 7:40 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Oooooo I like it a lot. Was looking at this pattern myself. Thanks for the review.
7/4/09 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

No Pattern Used *n/a

photo
by: SquirrelSo...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now