SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2009-128 (Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 739 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/09 11:28 PM
Last Updated:6/29/09 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElsaD said...
I'm just finishing this dress and quite like it. Am also short. I like the bust enhancing pleats -- but perhaps also need them. However, I did reduce the front bodice between bust and necklline and that might have reduced the puffiness you're referring to. Will post a review soon. Your front photo is very small so its hard to see but I don't think it makes you look like a ball at all. You did a very good job.
6/29/09 1:01 AM
becca a said...
Elsa, thanks. I posted a link to the front. I hope you like your dress better than I like this one.
6/29/09 1:49 AM
wreninrome said...
well now you have a great lounging at home, cooking and i don't care what I get on it dress...I think it looks pretty good but I do see what you mean about the front being puffy. You look too small from the side and back to need that extra material
6/29/09 6:25 AM
Passion4Sewing said...
I LIKE how it looks on you. The fabric is cute. I like how you used a border print.
6/29/09 7:47 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
I think the dress is lovely, too bad you're not pleased with it!
6/29/09 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
I may be missing something from the photos but have to say - I do like this on you and you so do not look like a green ball!!
6/29/09 9:04 AM
Barbara V said...
I agree with "clin"...I like this on you. I like the lovely green color, border print interest and overall style. Do wear it out and I bet you will receive many compliments!
6/29/09 9:32 AM
cabinbaby said...
Hmmmm, well I like the fabric and the dress. I think you look great.
6/29/09 11:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Making a dress out of fabric you hate is always such a gamble--sometimes it's hard to separate the style from the fabric. I think this would be very cute with slight tweaking, but there are a lot of patterns out there to try!
6/29/09 11:24 AM
Lisa p said...
I really like this dress. I love the colour , style and print !!!!
6/29/09 11:28 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your kind comments, I really appreciate the feedback. The dress is really much more garish in person. It is a very bright green which doesn't show up in the picture. I may tweak the pattern and try again with fabric I like.
6/29/09 12:15 PM
becca a said...
Sorry duplicate comment. I don't know why almost all my comments on PR reviews double themselves.
6/29/09 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, thanks for a really informative review! I think it looks fine on you in the pictures but could see this working maybe a little better with a drapier fabric.
6/29/09 1:28 PM
Sew Shy said...
I think this looks good - especially since it fits you so well everywhere else! Maybe you should hang it in the closet for a while and come back to it?
6/29/09 6:13 PM
becca a said...
Sorry, duplicate comment reappeared.
6/29/09 7:40 PM
Sara The Slayer said...
Oooooo I like it a lot. Was looking at this pattern myself. Thanks for the review.
7/4/09 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now