Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2971 (MISSES' TOP AND SKIRT) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 731 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo
About Auntie Allynstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/09 10:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clareew said...
Love your outfit, your choice of fabrics is wonderful. I bought the fabric to make this a couple of weeks ago. Your review is very timely. I hadn't thought about the difficulties of shortening the skirt. I will have to have a thorough study.
6/29/09 10:34 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
I'm 5'10", so bear that in mind when looking at the skirt length on me. I think the easiest way to shorten this skirt would be to trim an equal amount from the bottom of pattern pieces #6 (front) and 12 (lower front and back). You might want to also shorten the applique section a bit.
6/29/09 10:52 AM
sewtime said...
Beautify done, you will have just the outfit to wear!!
6/29/09 11:55 AM
DorothyK said...
I love this outfit on you. I have the pattern also, but I'm glad I didn't made it before reading your review. I'm only slightly over 5'3" so I'll have to be very careful with the length. Thanks for the review; I will refer to it while sewing this pattern... and enjoy Versailles.
6/29/09 12:02 PM
Elona said...
What a striking ensemble! With your height, it's a winner.
6/29/09 12:22 PM
carolynw said...
Well for sure you will be most stylish and chique and tres au courant in this outfit - enjoy Versailles!!
6/29/09 1:45 PM
carnelian said...
Ah...I was thinking of Raoul Duffy and the French Riviera...you will look wonderful at Versailles. The streamers of the top fabric are a great choice.
6/29/09 2:25 PM
Christas said...
What a very unique and pretty outfit! You will look lovely during your travels!
6/29/09 4:09 PM
milo1000 said...
What a lovely and respectful outfit to wear to Versailles. You will look spectacular!
6/30/09 2:38 AM
Jane S said...
You will look chic and fun loving in this great outfit. Bravo!
6/30/09 7:39 AM
marjenann said...
Exquisite outfit, absolutely breathtaking!! You look amazing!!!
6/30/09 8:22 AM
barbcl said...
Really fabulous couture outfit! Have a great trip.
6/30/09 9:30 AM
Em's Summer said...
You look wonderful in this!
6/30/09 1:31 PM
zazzie said...
I am very surprised, as the pattern was definitely not my style and thought no one could pull it off; but I actually love this outfit on you !! You really look great in this, obviously you know what your style is. And I would not "roll eyes" on you if we had to meet for a caf´┐Ż anywhere in France !
6/30/09 5:40 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
your whole look is beautiful! thanks for the construction tips.
7/2/09 9:59 AM
magoe6217 said...
This outfit is so wonderful on you. You are a true artist. I love it but I am 5'2" and shrinking-would love to try it but am afraid it would be a disaster on me after investing weeks of work. True??
7/6/09 5:15 PM
zigzag74 said...
I am making this skirt now and cannot for the life of me figure out how to attach piece no. 12 so your description is very helpful. I also would like to ask you about the pocket...is there something missing in the instructions? i haven't sewn it yet, out of fear of doing something irretrievably wrong, but it seems that there are no instructions on cutting open the top to create an opening for the hand to slide in. But I'm envious and filled with admiration at your gorgeous creation and have gotten renewed courage to go back to the pieces on the table!
7/8/09 10:32 PM
zigzag74 said...
p.s. appreciate the note on the zipper. i'm going to forgo that and just head straight for the elastic.
7/8/09 10:36 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Zigzag, you don't have to "open up" the top of the pocket. This step isn't as hard as you think. In step 19, you put one of the pocket pieces together with the upper side piece #11, right sides together, and sew the pocket to the side piece between the large circles. Then you clip to the large circles and turn the pocket piece to the wrong side of the upper side piece #11. Then, you take the remaining pocket piece and place it on the pocket piece that's sewn to the upper side; you sew the two pocket pieces together (right sides together), avoiding sewing through the upper side piece. This gives you a pocket sack that's sewn to the upper side piece. Then you sew three sides of the upper side piece #11 (the piece with the pocket sack) to the big piece #12 (this was the tricky part to figure out). When you finally sew the top of the upper side/pocket, you make sure that you don't catch the finished edge of the upper side/pocket piece in the stitching. Hope this helps you! Carry on with this project . . . you CAN do it
7/9/09 5:09 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
One last thought about the pockets -- you could leave them off altogether! Eliminating them will not change the finished look of the garment. Also, these pockets are VERY LOW on the garment, not very functional. I'd leave the pockets off in a heartbeat if I couldn't figure them out (I've eliminated welt pockets from several garments for the same reason).
7/10/09 8:15 AM
zigzag74 said...
thank you so much for your kind suggestions. i have been reading and re-reading the instructions so much that my family thinks i read with my lips moving....your tip sent me back to step 19 and i just realized that i sewed the TWO pockets together in step 19 so now i have to decide whether to rip it apart or just eliminate the pockets which, you're right, are pretty low (excuses, excuses). I hope you Pirouette in Paris in your skirt and know that you saved the sanity of at least one home sewist this year. good deed and very much appreciated by an over ambitious fan of Koos.
7/10/09 8:59 PM
Ann Smith said...
I so love your version of this. I've wanted to make it for a long time but I'm so short. You inspire me.
7/17/09 11:33 AM
ruby said...
I think this looks wonderful. I'm working on the kaftan (1106) and loving the play of fabrics and the architecture. Reading your description and seeing the picture, I will definitely be getting and making this pattern!
7/20/09 12:21 PM
gotasew said...
Nice job! I have made this pattern - the top twice and the skirt once, however I love it. People stop me in the street when I wear the skirt and ask where I bought it. I have plans to make the skirt in different brown type fabrics. Your review - though I read it after making the pattern was helpful and on the mark. Thankyou
10/8/09 9:16 PM
PJDiddy said...
Thank you for your instructions. I'm sitting here trying to figure out how to add the pocket piece to the lower front/back and it's like reading Greek. I'm going back to the skirt now (after 2 days of reading and pinning with renewed enthusiasm. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Oh, and I love the way your skirt came out.... just like the pattern picture. Hope you enjoyed Versailles.
5/18/10 4:29 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Why am I not surprised that you made this great outfit?! It is on the tiop of my to do pile- thanks for the wonderful review!
6/23/10 2:34 PM
Bonnie123 said...
True art! I love this pattern. One day I will get up the nerves to sew it.
11/18/11 4:16 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us