SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3780 

8 more reviews
Viewed 588 times 
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo

 
 
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 0:03 AM
Last Updated:7/1/09 4:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
colormefun said...
oh man, posted at 12:03! Didn't make the Ugly Fabric contest. I hate it when real life gets in the way of sewing...
7/1/09 1:43 AM
wreninrome said...
I've found that vintage patterns run much smaller than today's patterns...too bad on the contest because the dress is really cute!
7/1/09 5:15 AM
Kayseri said...
Great dress. I especially love the black lining being longer than the skirt.
7/1/09 5:47 AM
KathyBKnits said...
Very cute dress! I love the contrasting band at the hem and the belt with it.
7/1/09 10:21 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute dress, though. Nice use of your fabric, rather than defaulting to a hawaiin shirt. Good save on the size.
7/1/09 10:26 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Nice sundress. I like what you did with making the lining longer than the dress, too. I know how you feel when you miss the cut-off time for the contests just by minuites. Did same in the past, too. That fabric doesn't look as ugly the way you put it to use. I like it on that dress. You most likely should get a lot of compliments from your friends etc., when wearing the dress in public. I recall that they did change the pattern sizes quite a while back, too, upping them to the next size. I like your dress better with the wide brimmed hat than the jacket and the belt.
7/1/09 10:28 AM
khunter said...
so cute! I wish I was young enough to wear a dress just like it!
7/1/09 10:52 AM
Em's Summer said...
Ugly fabric? It's so pretty and looks wonderful as that dress! Great job! Sorry you missed the cutoff!
7/1/09 11:15 AM
meli88a said...
Ugly fabric... huh? I love your fabric!
7/1/09 2:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Totally cute! :)
7/1/09 4:05 PM
morzel said...
Absolutley cute dress! Looks great, especially with the cardi and belt.
7/1/09 4:08 PM
Mary Nanna said...
so gorgeous - you look stunning!
7/1/09 4:57 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Glad that they allowed you into the Uggly Fabric Contest and snuck you in under the wire.
7/1/09 8:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
7/2/09 7:36 AM
petro said...
I'm vacillating between like/don't like the print , it definitely works with the sundress - but I'm visualising it in cotton, and its a poly - which maybe tips it over into the ugly camp. Cute dress though. Definitely successful use of the fabric.
7/2/09 3:58 PM
colormefun said...
Thanks for all the compliments! OceanPeg- Thanks! I'm so glad they let me in too! Petro- I know what you mean about the fabric. That same vacillation is what led me to buy it because i loved the vintage styled beach thing and then hate it when i got home. Honestly though, I love it now so i'm glad i did this contest or that poor fabric would have remained in a plastic bin, unloved for the rest of its unnatural life.
7/3/09 10:36 AM
Mebber said...
You turned this "ugly" fabric into a wearable funky dress with a lot of character. It looks great! Good match of fabric to pattern - shows creative foresight. Congrats!
7/6/09 7:41 PM
Mebber said...
You turned this "ugly" fabric into a wearable funky dress with a lot of character. It looks great! Good match of fabric to pattern - shows creative foresight. Congrats!
7/6/09 7:41 PM
HLT said...
Nicely styled!
7/8/09 9:49 PM
MagpieJen said...
This turned out to be such a cute dress! You had quite a few challenges, and the fabric is one of them - I agree with petro, the fact that this is a poly and not a cotton or rayon puts it in the ugly camp :-). Wonderful job!
7/10/09 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

brerrabbit.com Mimi G

photo
by: Sew tell m...

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now