Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3780 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 586 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 0:03 AM
Last Updated:7/1/09 4:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
colormefun said...
oh man, posted at 12:03! Didn't make the Ugly Fabric contest. I hate it when real life gets in the way of sewing...
7/1/09 1:43 AM
wreninrome said...
I've found that vintage patterns run much smaller than today's patterns...too bad on the contest because the dress is really cute!
7/1/09 5:15 AM
Kayseri said...
Great dress. I especially love the black lining being longer than the skirt.
7/1/09 5:47 AM
KathyBKnits said...
Very cute dress! I love the contrasting band at the hem and the belt with it.
7/1/09 10:21 AM
AnneM said...
Very cute dress, though. Nice use of your fabric, rather than defaulting to a hawaiin shirt. Good save on the size.
7/1/09 10:26 AM
Oceanpeg said...
Nice sundress. I like what you did with making the lining longer than the dress, too. I know how you feel when you miss the cut-off time for the contests just by minuites. Did same in the past, too. That fabric doesn't look as ugly the way you put it to use. I like it on that dress. You most likely should get a lot of compliments from your friends etc., when wearing the dress in public. I recall that they did change the pattern sizes quite a while back, too, upping them to the next size. I like your dress better with the wide brimmed hat than the jacket and the belt.
7/1/09 10:28 AM
khunter said...
so cute! I wish I was young enough to wear a dress just like it!
7/1/09 10:52 AM
Em's Summer said...
Ugly fabric? It's so pretty and looks wonderful as that dress! Great job! Sorry you missed the cutoff!
7/1/09 11:15 AM
meli88a said...
Ugly fabric... huh? I love your fabric!
7/1/09 2:32 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Totally cute! :)
7/1/09 4:05 PM
morzel said...
Absolutley cute dress! Looks great, especially with the cardi and belt.
7/1/09 4:08 PM
Mary Nanna said...
so gorgeous - you look stunning!
7/1/09 4:57 PM
Oceanpeg said...
Glad that they allowed you into the Uggly Fabric Contest and snuck you in under the wire.
7/1/09 8:01 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
7/2/09 7:36 AM
petro said...
I'm vacillating between like/don't like the print , it definitely works with the sundress - but I'm visualising it in cotton, and its a poly - which maybe tips it over into the ugly camp. Cute dress though. Definitely successful use of the fabric.
7/2/09 3:58 PM
colormefun said...
Thanks for all the compliments! OceanPeg- Thanks! I'm so glad they let me in too! Petro- I know what you mean about the fabric. That same vacillation is what led me to buy it because i loved the vintage styled beach thing and then hate it when i got home. Honestly though, I love it now so i'm glad i did this contest or that poor fabric would have remained in a plastic bin, unloved for the rest of its unnatural life.
7/3/09 10:36 AM
Mebber said...
You turned this "ugly" fabric into a wearable funky dress with a lot of character. It looks great! Good match of fabric to pattern - shows creative foresight. Congrats!
7/6/09 7:41 PM
Mebber said...
You turned this "ugly" fabric into a wearable funky dress with a lot of character. It looks great! Good match of fabric to pattern - shows creative foresight. Congrats!
7/6/09 7:41 PM
HLT said...
Nicely styled!
7/8/09 9:49 PM
MagpieJen said...
This turned out to be such a cute dress! You had quite a few challenges, and the fabric is one of them - I agree with petro, the fact that this is a poly and not a cotton or rayon puts it in the ugly camp :-). Wonderful job!
7/10/09 10:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Vogue Patterns 1248
photo
Review by Marge99 on 8/20/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1079
photo
Review by BenaeQuee on 12/17/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )
Simplicity 2492 Pattern( Size S )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us