SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5186 (Semi-fitted top)

12 more reviews
Viewed 540 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/09 6:33 PM
Last Updated:7/1/09 6:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
I agree, Ann, one is enough for me too. But I do like the style, there's just got to be a better way. This is a nice looking style on you.
7/1/09 7:06 PM
khunter said...
great top. If it wasn't easy for you , then I am certainly not going to try it. Ha HA. You look great in it though! I love your reviews
7/1/09 7:13 PM
cindyintampa said...
Glad you tried this first. It turned out well in spite of everything.
7/1/09 8:23 PM
Dee2 said...
This style is perfect on you. Very pretty, definitely worth the effort.
7/1/09 8:49 PM
Vivienne said...
Best pattern description - EVER!
7/1/09 9:35 PM
Elona said...
Terrific cautionary advice, Ann! If a pattern irritates you with your skill level, it's a dog! But the final result looks great on you.
7/1/09 9:39 PM
Raye Ann said...
it looks great on you, and thanks for the review. i won't be tackling this one!!lol
7/1/09 10:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Being witness to "fast and easy" turning into "time consuming, difficult and annoying" I have to say in spite of my worries for the success of your blouse, I was delighted to look up and see your gorgeous outcome. That was a great moment with cheers from the ladies around the room! It is indeed very striking. I want one too, but without the struggle.
7/1/09 10:29 PM
solosmocker said...
Ann, I struggled with that neckline too! I somehow eventually fudged it into position. I doubt I could pull it off twice. As far as the sleeves. The directions made no sense to me either, so I just did it "my way" and they worked out fine. I have been hoping someone would come along and do this blouse and explain what I maybe did wrong but at this point is sure looks like the pattern drafting is the issue. This is too bad because the design is fabulous and flattering to many figure types.
7/1/09 11:05 PM
Ann Smith said...
solosmocker, in Terri's review (http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=39453) she addresses these same problems. Some other reviewers haven't mentioned these issues and even say the pattern is easy. I was sure confused!
7/1/09 11:25 PM
donna mel said...
good to know, thanks! i teach sewing and always advise new students to look for the 'fast and easy' label. it would be very frustrating, to say the least, if a beginner were to try and tackle a pattern like this. instead of gaining new seamstresses, butterick is scaring them off! your's came out lovely, tho!!
7/2/09 6:47 AM
Jane S said...
I have this sitting in my to do pile so thanks for your honest warnings. I think you look great in it, despite all your struggles.
7/2/09 7:44 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Such a shame you had so many problems with this blouse. It looks lovely on you. I love the collar. You look great.
7/2/09 8:33 AM
DorothyK said...
Looks great on you, and will be comfortable to wear in your climate. Thanks for the warnings about the instructions.
7/2/09 11:34 AM
Bonnie123 said...
This top is you! You did a great job. I am THINKING about taking this one on.
2/19/10 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 5720

photo
by: katlew03

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Buy Now