SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2959 (Laura Lynn Collection)

6 more reviews
Viewed 761 times 
Reviewed by:annaminiac
photo

 
 
About annaminiac
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 1:56 AM
Last Updated:7/3/09 3:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabycahen said...
Oh, you can email me on gabrielle.cahen@gmail.com
10/26/11 10:57 PM
gabycahen said...
Hey beautiful dress, and thanks for sharing on pattern review. I'm thinking of making this for a Commemoration Ball, like you with a sheer overlay. Did you cut the overlay straight from the pattern or does it have less pieces? Do you think I can used crinkled chiffon on the overlay like this : http://www.nyfashioncenterfabrics.com/gensym-17.html I would really appreciate your advice, Best, Gaby
10/26/11 10:57 PM
annaminiac said...
This is very late, but thanks everyone for the comments, I can't tell you how I agonized over this dress! Karen Easter, thanks for all of your advice. I'm actually going to start taking an intensive patternmaking and design course at Apparel Arts in SF soon, so wish me luck!
4/13/10 8:27 PM
Caroleleah said...
Awwwww...! You're gorgeous, your husband is gorgeous, your dress is gorgeous!! You did a beautiful job!
7/4/09 9:39 PM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful dress, you look gorgeous!
7/4/09 9:20 AM
Woolygal said...
You look beautiful in your gown, a true labor of love.
7/4/09 6:59 AM
digs57 said...
What a fabulous gown! A thousand times lovelier than the pattern photo. Would you also show us your rehearsal dinner dress, please?
7/4/09 5:08 AM
MarthaA24 said...
You did a wonderful job on the dress. It is stunning and you look beautiful. Congratulations!
7/4/09 1:58 AM
Karen Easter said...
Echoing what everyone else has said: beautiful bride, beautiful dress! I actually went and read your whole blog! It's obvious that you have the mind of an engineer, and you're liking using it to tackle design and construction issues in cloth. I have a feeling that you'll be designing more things a lot sooner than you think! I've taught several student engineers in various disciplines to sew... and they always want to do their own designs! And they pick it up very easily. A couple of interesting, inexpensive books are "Make it Your Own" by Lori Bottom and Ronda Chaney, and "Make Your Own Patterns" by Rene Bergh. There are several good but pretty expensive books about pattern drafting and draping, but you can get a good idea of whether you like it from these books... just a thought. ; )
7/4/09 0:40 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Absolutely stunning dress, you're right that your version looks much more sophisticated than the pattern photo. Congratulations!
7/3/09 9:52 PM
AngieC said...
You look so lovely and the dress is perfect ... it brought tears to my eyes to hear your conclusion ... Congratulations and Best Wishes!
7/3/09 4:42 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely amazing weddding gown! Beautiful bride in every way. Congratulations!!!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow! Stunning! Such a lovely, floaty dress, such a good fit, and you both look very happy in the photo! Congratulations on your wedding!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
CypGrl said...
Lovely dress and bride!
7/3/09 12:41 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!
7/3/09 11:33 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Stunning!
7/3/09 10:48 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress and bride! What a brave woman you are to tackle sewing your own wedding dress! I admire you. The results are so amazing!
7/3/09 10:39 AM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in you dress!!!!
7/3/09 10:38 AM
Patti B said...
How lovely you look -- and how brave to make your own wedding dress! It is beautiful and you should be very proud of your sewing.
7/3/09 10:16 AM
MaryDB said...
Wonderful and gorgeous! You did a terrific job. Best wishes!
7/3/09 9:37 AM
glenj said...
Your version is much more light and flaoty,than that of the pattern model.you did a fabulous job and look stunning.
7/3/09 9:23 AM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress..made extra special..I like your change to the bodice..what a wonderful memory you've made
7/3/09 9:16 AM
marec said...
Gorgeous dress and you look stunning. Thanks for sharing such an important event with us :-)
7/3/09 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and extra wonderful lovely bride. Congratulations and all the very best
7/3/09 8:55 AM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! You two look so happy! And your dress....a masterpiece. What an accomplishment. The style, fit, fabric, construction all just breathtaking.
7/3/09 8:41 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Having sewn 2 of my daughter's wedding dresses in the past I know what a big undertaking this was. You look absolutely beautiful and so does your dress and how special that you made your own gown.
7/3/09 8:29 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely breathtaking!
7/3/09 8:21 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Wow, your dress is gorgeous and you look stunning! I would love to see more photos if you have them to put up.
7/3/09 3:07 AM
petro said...
You look wonderful! What a beautiful dress.
7/3/09 2:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1034

photo
by: lamstu

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-112

photo
by: dillyo

Review