Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2959 (Laura Lynn Collection) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 745 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:annaminiac
photo
About annaminiac
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 1:56 AM
Last Updated:7/3/09 3:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
You look wonderful! What a beautiful dress.
7/3/09 2:54 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Wow, your dress is gorgeous and you look stunning! I would love to see more photos if you have them to put up.
7/3/09 3:07 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely breathtaking!
7/3/09 8:21 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Having sewn 2 of my daughter's wedding dresses in the past I know what a big undertaking this was. You look absolutely beautiful and so does your dress and how special that you made your own gown.
7/3/09 8:29 AM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! You two look so happy! And your dress....a masterpiece. What an accomplishment. The style, fit, fabric, construction all just breathtaking.
7/3/09 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and extra wonderful lovely bride. Congratulations and all the very best
7/3/09 8:55 AM
marec said...
Gorgeous dress and you look stunning. Thanks for sharing such an important event with us :-)
7/3/09 9:03 AM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress..made extra special..I like your change to the bodice..what a wonderful memory you've made
7/3/09 9:16 AM
glenj said...
Your version is much more light and flaoty,than that of the pattern model.you did a fabulous job and look stunning.
7/3/09 9:23 AM
MaryDB said...
Wonderful and gorgeous! You did a terrific job. Best wishes!
7/3/09 9:37 AM
Patti B said...
How lovely you look -- and how brave to make your own wedding dress! It is beautiful and you should be very proud of your sewing.
7/3/09 10:16 AM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in you dress!!!!
7/3/09 10:38 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress and bride! What a brave woman you are to tackle sewing your own wedding dress! I admire you. The results are so amazing!
7/3/09 10:39 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Stunning!
7/3/09 10:48 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!
7/3/09 11:33 AM
CypGrl said...
Lovely dress and bride!
7/3/09 12:41 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow! Stunning! Such a lovely, floaty dress, such a good fit, and you both look very happy in the photo! Congratulations on your wedding!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely amazing weddding gown! Beautiful bride in every way. Congratulations!!!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
AngieC said...
You look so lovely and the dress is perfect ... it brought tears to my eyes to hear your conclusion ... Congratulations and Best Wishes!
7/3/09 4:42 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Absolutely stunning dress, you're right that your version looks much more sophisticated than the pattern photo. Congratulations!
7/3/09 9:52 PM
Karen Easter said...
Echoing what everyone else has said: beautiful bride, beautiful dress! I actually went and read your whole blog! It's obvious that you have the mind of an engineer, and you're liking using it to tackle design and construction issues in cloth. I have a feeling that you'll be designing more things a lot sooner than you think! I've taught several student engineers in various disciplines to sew... and they always want to do their own designs! And they pick it up very easily. A couple of interesting, inexpensive books are "Make it Your Own" by Lori Bottom and Ronda Chaney, and "Make Your Own Patterns" by Rene Bergh. There are several good but pretty expensive books about pattern drafting and draping, but you can get a good idea of whether you like it from these books... just a thought. ; )
7/4/09 0:40 AM
MarthaA24 said...
You did a wonderful job on the dress. It is stunning and you look beautiful. Congratulations!
7/4/09 1:58 AM
digs57 said...
What a fabulous gown! A thousand times lovelier than the pattern photo. Would you also show us your rehearsal dinner dress, please?
7/4/09 5:08 AM
Woolygal said...
You look beautiful in your gown, a true labor of love.
7/4/09 6:59 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful dress, you look gorgeous!
7/4/09 9:20 AM
Caroleleah said...
Awwwww...! You're gorgeous, your husband is gorgeous, your dress is gorgeous!! You did a beautiful job!
7/4/09 9:39 PM
annaminiac said...
This is very late, but thanks everyone for the comments, I can't tell you how I agonized over this dress! Karen Easter, thanks for all of your advice. I'm actually going to start taking an intensive patternmaking and design course at Apparel Arts in SF soon, so wish me luck!
4/13/10 8:27 PM
gabycahen said...
Hey beautiful dress, and thanks for sharing on pattern review. I'm thinking of making this for a Commemoration Ball, like you with a sheer overlay. Did you cut the overlay straight from the pattern or does it have less pieces? Do you think I can used crinkled chiffon on the overlay like this : http://www.nyfashioncenterfabrics.com/gensym-17.html I would really appreciate your advice, Best, Gaby
10/26/11 10:57 PM
gabycahen said...
Oh, you can email me on gabrielle.cahen@gmail.com
10/26/11 10:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

HotPatterns 1089
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/29/09
Read Review

Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )
Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7911
photo
Review by goosegreen on 3/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us