SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2959 (Laura Lynn Collection)

6 more reviews
Viewed 752 times 
Reviewed by:annaminiac
photo

 
 
About annaminiac
CA USA
Member since: 3/20/08
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 1:56 AM
Last Updated:7/3/09 3:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
You look wonderful! What a beautiful dress.
7/3/09 2:54 AM
addicted2fabric said...
Wow, your dress is gorgeous and you look stunning! I would love to see more photos if you have them to put up.
7/3/09 3:07 AM
annie11 said...
Absolutely breathtaking!
7/3/09 8:21 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Having sewn 2 of my daughter's wedding dresses in the past I know what a big undertaking this was. You look absolutely beautiful and so does your dress and how special that you made your own gown.
7/3/09 8:29 AM
Barbara V said...
Congratulations! You two look so happy! And your dress....a masterpiece. What an accomplishment. The style, fit, fabric, construction all just breathtaking.
7/3/09 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress and extra wonderful lovely bride. Congratulations and all the very best
7/3/09 8:55 AM
marec said...
Gorgeous dress and you look stunning. Thanks for sharing such an important event with us :-)
7/3/09 9:03 AM
jannw said...
Beautiful dress..made extra special..I like your change to the bodice..what a wonderful memory you've made
7/3/09 9:16 AM
glenj said...
Your version is much more light and flaoty,than that of the pattern model.you did a fabulous job and look stunning.
7/3/09 9:23 AM
MaryDB said...
Wonderful and gorgeous! You did a terrific job. Best wishes!
7/3/09 9:37 AM
Patti B said...
How lovely you look -- and how brave to make your own wedding dress! It is beautiful and you should be very proud of your sewing.
7/3/09 10:16 AM
sewtime said...
You look beautiful in you dress!!!!
7/3/09 10:38 AM
Christas said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress and bride! What a brave woman you are to tackle sewing your own wedding dress! I admire you. The results are so amazing!
7/3/09 10:39 AM
Cowtown Karen said...
Stunning!
7/3/09 10:48 AM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous!!!!!!
7/3/09 11:33 AM
CypGrl said...
Lovely dress and bride!
7/3/09 12:41 PM
whirrclunk said...
Wow! Stunning! Such a lovely, floaty dress, such a good fit, and you both look very happy in the photo! Congratulations on your wedding!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
Karendee said...
Absolutely amazing weddding gown! Beautiful bride in every way. Congratulations!!!
7/3/09 4:12 PM
AngieC said...
You look so lovely and the dress is perfect ... it brought tears to my eyes to hear your conclusion ... Congratulations and Best Wishes!
7/3/09 4:42 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Absolutely stunning dress, you're right that your version looks much more sophisticated than the pattern photo. Congratulations!
7/3/09 9:52 PM
Karen Easter said...
Echoing what everyone else has said: beautiful bride, beautiful dress! I actually went and read your whole blog! It's obvious that you have the mind of an engineer, and you're liking using it to tackle design and construction issues in cloth. I have a feeling that you'll be designing more things a lot sooner than you think! I've taught several student engineers in various disciplines to sew... and they always want to do their own designs! And they pick it up very easily. A couple of interesting, inexpensive books are "Make it Your Own" by Lori Bottom and Ronda Chaney, and "Make Your Own Patterns" by Rene Bergh. There are several good but pretty expensive books about pattern drafting and draping, but you can get a good idea of whether you like it from these books... just a thought. ; )
7/4/09 0:40 AM
MarthaA24 said...
You did a wonderful job on the dress. It is stunning and you look beautiful. Congratulations!
7/4/09 1:58 AM
digs57 said...
What a fabulous gown! A thousand times lovelier than the pattern photo. Would you also show us your rehearsal dinner dress, please?
7/4/09 5:08 AM
Woolygal said...
You look beautiful in your gown, a true labor of love.
7/4/09 6:59 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful dress, you look gorgeous!
7/4/09 9:20 AM
Caroleleah said...
Awwwww...! You're gorgeous, your husband is gorgeous, your dress is gorgeous!! You did a beautiful job!
7/4/09 9:39 PM
annaminiac said...
This is very late, but thanks everyone for the comments, I can't tell you how I agonized over this dress! Karen Easter, thanks for all of your advice. I'm actually going to start taking an intensive patternmaking and design course at Apparel Arts in SF soon, so wish me luck!
4/13/10 8:27 PM
gabycahen said...
Hey beautiful dress, and thanks for sharing on pattern review. I'm thinking of making this for a Commemoration Ball, like you with a sheer overlay. Did you cut the overlay straight from the pattern or does it have less pieces? Do you think I can used crinkled chiffon on the overlay like this : http://www.nyfashioncenterfabrics.com/gensym-17.html I would really appreciate your advice, Best, Gaby
10/26/11 10:57 PM
gabycahen said...
Oh, you can email me on gabrielle.cahen@gmail.com
10/26/11 10:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-144

photo
by: chebre

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now