SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-129 (Exclusive Design Blouse)

7 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Jali, thanks for your very helpful review and wow, your top is mega lovely! I like the neckline and the overall style on you. Thanks for the tips and the pattern specifications.
7/12/09 11:33 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great top. Looks RTW.
7/6/09 3:44 PM
blessedtosew said...
I love your top. It is sooooo pretty.
7/4/09 4:24 PM
kerrynw said...
I think your top looks lovely on you. Thank you for the comprehensive review.
7/4/09 9:35 AM
jkaori said...
Very pretty top --- the color is gorgeous! Thank you also for your thorough review.
7/4/09 9:18 AM
Jali said...
Thank you for the nice comments. SewSara, I will be sure to try your method out if I make this blouse again or at least when I have to do shirring next. Elemenopeo, thank you for that tip. I am going to try that out for the back neckline.
7/3/09 11:18 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I think this top looks lovely on you even if you're not crazy about the neckline. I've got to get myself some of that better quality shirring elastic too!
7/3/09 9:43 PM
Lisette said...
Very, very pretty on you.
7/3/09 7:48 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks great on you - lovely effort!
7/3/09 7:03 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top!!
7/3/09 5:54 PM
TalyQ said...
I am very tempted to try to make this blouse for one of my girls. Thank you for that thorough review. The blouse looks lovely.
7/3/09 4:10 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review! I think you look beautiful in your blouse. IMO the extra back fullness could be take out at each ragland sleeve seam. Each seam needs a little taken off it. But the color and the style look beautiful on you; Wear this beauty and enjoy it!
7/3/09 4:06 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gorgeous - you made a lovely job of sewing and finishing your garment. I have wanted to make this top for some time.. it looks great on you!
7/3/09 3:48 PM
poplin said...
Excellent review, Jali, as always. Lovely top!
7/3/09 3:46 PM
quixoticpixels said...
This is lovely! Thanks for the excellent review.
7/3/09 12:26 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks great on you! How did you know that I had just traced this pattern? I like what you did to the neckline, I may do that too. Thanks for the pictures of the elastic too.
7/3/09 12:02 PM
Ann Smith said...
Sharp looking blouse on you. The color is wonderful.
7/3/09 11:34 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is just beautiful! What a stunning top!
7/3/09 11:30 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top!
7/3/09 11:10 AM
SewSara said...
What a pretty top! I made a second version of this top (in white) and I sewed two rows with shirring elastic in the bobbin for the sleeves instead of zigzagging over it. I made an elastic casing for the neckline. I used a lot less elastic than called for and it raised the neckline enough. I love the top. I'm not sure why Burda wants us to zigzag over the shirring elastic as my way worked nicely.
7/3/09 10:46 AM
Christas said...
I have admired this top in the magazine for a long time. Your version is so lovely. Thanks so much for the thorough review! I am sure I will come back to this review when I get around to making my version.
7/3/09 10:36 AM
Vintage Joan said...
An excellent, VERY helpful review. Your blouse is very pretty, and I love the color. :)
7/3/09 10:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Neue Mode 23296

photo
by: HRigg

Review