SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-129 (Exclusive Design Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
An excellent, VERY helpful review. Your blouse is very pretty, and I love the color. :)
7/3/09 10:36 AM
Christas said...
I have admired this top in the magazine for a long time. Your version is so lovely. Thanks so much for the thorough review! I am sure I will come back to this review when I get around to making my version.
7/3/09 10:36 AM
SewSara said...
What a pretty top! I made a second version of this top (in white) and I sewed two rows with shirring elastic in the bobbin for the sleeves instead of zigzagging over it. I made an elastic casing for the neckline. I used a lot less elastic than called for and it raised the neckline enough. I love the top. I'm not sure why Burda wants us to zigzag over the shirring elastic as my way worked nicely.
7/3/09 10:46 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top!
7/3/09 11:10 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is just beautiful! What a stunning top!
7/3/09 11:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
Sharp looking blouse on you. The color is wonderful.
7/3/09 11:34 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks great on you! How did you know that I had just traced this pattern? I like what you did to the neckline, I may do that too. Thanks for the pictures of the elastic too.
7/3/09 12:02 PM
quixoticpixels said...
This is lovely! Thanks for the excellent review.
7/3/09 12:26 PM
poplin said...
Excellent review, Jali, as always. Lovely top!
7/3/09 3:46 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gorgeous - you made a lovely job of sewing and finishing your garment. I have wanted to make this top for some time.. it looks great on you!
7/3/09 3:48 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review! I think you look beautiful in your blouse. IMO the extra back fullness could be take out at each ragland sleeve seam. Each seam needs a little taken off it. But the color and the style look beautiful on you; Wear this beauty and enjoy it!
7/3/09 4:06 PM
TalyQ said...
I am very tempted to try to make this blouse for one of my girls. Thank you for that thorough review. The blouse looks lovely.
7/3/09 4:10 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top!!
7/3/09 5:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks great on you - lovely effort!
7/3/09 7:03 PM
Lisette said...
Very, very pretty on you.
7/3/09 7:48 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I think this top looks lovely on you even if you're not crazy about the neckline. I've got to get myself some of that better quality shirring elastic too!
7/3/09 9:43 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the nice comments. SewSara, I will be sure to try your method out if I make this blouse again or at least when I have to do shirring next. Elemenopeo, thank you for that tip. I am going to try that out for the back neckline.
7/3/09 11:18 PM
jkaori said...
Very pretty top --- the color is gorgeous! Thank you also for your thorough review.
7/4/09 9:18 AM
kerrynw said...
I think your top looks lovely on you. Thank you for the comprehensive review.
7/4/09 9:35 AM
blessedtosew said...
I love your top. It is sooooo pretty.
7/4/09 4:24 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great top. Looks RTW.
7/6/09 3:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Jali, thanks for your very helpful review and wow, your top is mega lovely! I like the neckline and the overall style on you. Thanks for the tips and the pattern specifications.
7/12/09 11:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Butterick 5555

photo
by: marec

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Buy Now