SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-129 (Exclusive Design Blouse)

8 more reviews
Viewed 504 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/09 10:27 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
An excellent, VERY helpful review. Your blouse is very pretty, and I love the color. :)
7/3/09 10:36 AM
Christas said...
I have admired this top in the magazine for a long time. Your version is so lovely. Thanks so much for the thorough review! I am sure I will come back to this review when I get around to making my version.
7/3/09 10:36 AM
SewSara said...
What a pretty top! I made a second version of this top (in white) and I sewed two rows with shirring elastic in the bobbin for the sleeves instead of zigzagging over it. I made an elastic casing for the neckline. I used a lot less elastic than called for and it raised the neckline enough. I love the top. I'm not sure why Burda wants us to zigzag over the shirring elastic as my way worked nicely.
7/3/09 10:46 AM
Elke said...
Very pretty top!
7/3/09 11:10 AM
Kellie R. said...
This is just beautiful! What a stunning top!
7/3/09 11:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
Sharp looking blouse on you. The color is wonderful.
7/3/09 11:34 AM
Re Becca said...
That looks great on you! How did you know that I had just traced this pattern? I like what you did to the neckline, I may do that too. Thanks for the pictures of the elastic too.
7/3/09 12:02 PM
quixoticpixels said...
This is lovely! Thanks for the excellent review.
7/3/09 12:26 PM
poplin said...
Excellent review, Jali, as always. Lovely top!
7/3/09 3:46 PM
Mary Nanna said...
Gorgeous - you made a lovely job of sewing and finishing your garment. I have wanted to make this top for some time.. it looks great on you!
7/3/09 3:48 PM
Karendee said...
Excellent review! I think you look beautiful in your blouse. IMO the extra back fullness could be take out at each ragland sleeve seam. Each seam needs a little taken off it. But the color and the style look beautiful on you; Wear this beauty and enjoy it!
7/3/09 4:06 PM
TalyQ said...
I am very tempted to try to make this blouse for one of my girls. Thank you for that thorough review. The blouse looks lovely.
7/3/09 4:10 PM
Gold said...
Very cute top!!
7/3/09 5:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It looks great on you - lovely effort!
7/3/09 7:03 PM
Lisette said...
Very, very pretty on you.
7/3/09 7:48 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I think this top looks lovely on you even if you're not crazy about the neckline. I've got to get myself some of that better quality shirring elastic too!
7/3/09 9:43 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for the nice comments. SewSara, I will be sure to try your method out if I make this blouse again or at least when I have to do shirring next. Elemenopeo, thank you for that tip. I am going to try that out for the back neckline.
7/3/09 11:18 PM
jkaori said...
Very pretty top --- the color is gorgeous! Thank you also for your thorough review.
7/4/09 9:18 AM
kerrynw said...
I think your top looks lovely on you. Thank you for the comprehensive review.
7/4/09 9:35 AM
blessedtosew said...
I love your top. It is sooooo pretty.
7/4/09 4:24 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Great top. Looks RTW.
7/6/09 3:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Jali, thanks for your very helpful review and wow, your top is mega lovely! I like the neckline and the overall style on you. Thanks for the tips and the pattern specifications.
7/12/09 11:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 1915

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Bananafana BB209

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now