SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2009-102 (Jacket/blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 566 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 5:56 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 6:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/5/09 6:06 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for your review. What skill! This is beautiful, classy and the fit is right.
7/5/09 6:07 PM
Pamaro said...
This is a beautiful jacket. It also looks to fit quite nicely. It will serve you well with many outfits.
7/5/09 6:26 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
marjenann said...
Drop dead gorgeous!!!
7/5/09 6:36 PM
DaisyEsq said...
The lines of this jacket are lovely. Great job.
7/5/09 6:49 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Kay, it's beautifully sewn, and the fit is perfect. I love the sleeve you used.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful. I like your modified version better than the original. Great fabric too.
7/5/09 6:51 PM
Christas said...
Your version is just lovely. It fits perfectly, of course!
7/5/09 7:07 PM
Mary Nanna said...
wow - this is just gorgeous - lovely colour, lovely fit, exemplary finish.
7/5/09 7:51 PM
Meredith P said...
Nice modifications, Kay. I'll need to remember those.
7/5/09 8:03 PM
carolynw said...
Kay this is beautiful - your closet must be filled with beautiful clothes!!
7/5/09 8:15 PM
Catbird said...
Gorgeous shape, beautiful fabric and flawless work!
7/5/09 8:30 PM
Liana said...
Kay, This is just beautiful! I love your changes/omissions, which I think make it look much sleeker and more feminine. Your fitting skills take this to another level entirely. Just gorgeous!
7/5/09 9:06 PM
barbcl said...
Really slick look that you will wear and wear. Looks great on you.
7/5/09 9:17 PM
Karen6790 said...
Love it! This is why we have libraries of BWOF, because sooner or later we're going to want something specific and they'll have it. This is a gorgeous result, love the fabric and now I can't wait to see the dress.
7/5/09 9:30 PM
Re Becca said...
I love your chic, simplified version of this. I thought this looked fussy in the mag, but your version looks great. I esp. love the sleeves!
7/5/09 9:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, what can I say, other than SHOW-OFF! Absolute PERFECTION in every little detail. And as for wrinkles, it looks pretty darn good to me, linen or no linen! I love ALL your jackets. :o)
7/5/09 10:09 PM
nancyc said...
I love your jacket! Beautiful work!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Beautiful jacket!!! I love the buttons they are perfect!
7/5/09 10:42 PM
Twinset said...
What a great looking jacket! The fabric is beautiful, and the execution, perfect!
7/5/09 11:17 PM
JoanneM said...
Lovely jacket. Love the laminated linen,really gives it a unique sheen.
7/5/09 11:45 PM
Kayseri said...
I love your version of this jacket. I've eyed the pattern and rejected it a couple of times because I liked the shape but thought all the extras too fussy. You've inspired me to take another look.
7/6/09 0:22 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Great call on the sleeve substitution! Gorgeous jacket and so beautifully made. Your reviews are always inspiring.
7/6/09 0:40 AM
shaggy said...
Beautiful jacket.
7/6/09 0:45 AM
kerrynw said...
Absolutely beautiful jacket. Great fit.
7/6/09 2:26 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
What an absolutely lovely jacket !
7/6/09 5:39 AM
Sigrid. said...
What beautiful fabric for this jacket. I would never have thought of changing the sleeve with the other one from the same issue. It worked out very well! Great fit, as always.
7/6/09 6:04 AM
BillieJean said...
Lovely jacket. Can't wait to see the dress.
7/6/09 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. I have similar fabric so your advise on sewing foot to use was a good one. I think I will wash my fabric as well.
7/6/09 7:09 AM
Maychi said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful fabric choice.
7/6/09 7:35 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, that's a great style, and your stitching is just immaculate, which sets off the design perfectly. Great fabric, too.
7/6/09 8:44 AM
jkaori said...
Wonderful jacket! I like the changes you made to it and the fabric is just stunning for the style. The construction looks beautiful --- congratulations!
7/6/09 9:03 AM
Woolygal said...
Your work is always so professional. I love this jacket.
7/6/09 9:49 AM
digs57 said...
Great job, Kay - what a cool fabric, too.
7/6/09 11:29 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Lovely jacket! Great job as usual! That fabric is unique to me....I've never seen it.
7/6/09 12:55 PM
lmg said...
Lovely jacket! You took a bit too trendy jacket (at least for me) and made it elegant and tasteful. I love the pockets and the beautiful shaping through the waist. And your work is superb.
7/6/09 5:36 PM
Kellie R. said...
Everything you make is superb Kay. This jacket is just BEAUTIFUL and so chic. Great job!!!
7/8/09 11:47 AM
Nancy K said...
Very nice Kay! I like your changes and I thought the pockets a bit strange too. I wish I had made mine deeper, not just wider like you did yours.
7/19/09 10:39 AM
sarahinlafayette said...
This is really lovely, and your changes have much improved the original IMO.
9/25/09 7:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Buy Now