SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2655 (Misses & Miss Petite Skirts)

17 more reviews
Viewed 877 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 6:22 PM
Last Updated:7/5/09 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Cute skirt and love the style!!
7/5/09 6:34 PM
cmarie12 said...
Love the review and the skirt! :)
7/5/09 6:41 PM
Christas said...
Well, I think I have had my needed giggles for the day! Your review is WONDERFUL! I LOVE the skirt. How extremely creative you are to buy men's knit t-shirts for fabric. I saw on Threadbangers where they made a wedding dress for $10.00 out of men's t-shirts. I like your DD's skirt MUCH better! LOL!
7/5/09 6:59 PM
KitnRose said...
The skirt is gorgeous and your review made my day brighter. :) Great work on both! And, assumedly, on your DD who sounds like she's turned out quite well. :)
7/5/09 7:30 PM
Kay Y said...
Brilliant! Both skirt & review.
7/5/09 7:47 PM
Mary Nanna said...
very amusing review. The details on this skirt are just gorgeous - I notice you made it in knit, whereas the pattern recommends wovens, that's good to know that it can hold its shape with a knit.
7/5/09 7:56 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Karla, you are a HOOT!!! I have this pattern!! Sew, thanks for the heads-up about sizing!! Did I tell ya you're a HOOT??!!
7/5/09 8:06 PM
Lori V said...
Really cute skirt, can't believe it is made from Hane's tshirts. Thanks for the very funny review, too.
7/5/09 8:26 PM
barbcl said...
Thanks for the great review. The skirt is very cute. I can relate to the need for cool clothes in FL during summer, especially when walking the dog! The T-shirt weight is probably just right.
7/5/09 9:12 PM
Patti B said...
I love the skirt and your creative sourcing of fabric. What? You didn't have any fabric at home? hahahaha
7/5/09 9:39 PM
Annette1 said...
This is REALLY cute, Karla, and I don't think it looks too wintery at all, especially if she puts it with a light-colored top. :o)
7/5/09 11:34 PM
sew4dasoul said...
Thank you for the great review! I have this pattern as well but haven't mustered up the energy to tackle it. Your review will help me out alot! BTW, just like your daughter, I don't like to tuck either : )
7/6/09 1:01 AM
morzel said...
Wonderful skirt, fun and good review!
7/6/09 3:33 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
Karla....lovely skirt! Thanks for the very...comprehensive...review! :) I enjoy your wit as much as I enjoy your sewing !
7/6/09 5:36 AM
BillieJean said...
Cute, cute, cute skirt and delightfully funny review. Thanks so much for sharing.
7/6/09 6:03 AM
Maychi said...
Thank you for a delightful review, I especially enjoyed the pattern sizing part. The skirt is wonderful as well.
7/6/09 7:30 AM
AnneM said...
Oh that is adorable. I just love those pockets. The fabric will just extend the season for the skirt; she can get away with wearing it in cooler weather because of the color. Thanks for the sizing advice. As always, love your reviews.
7/6/09 8:02 AM
marjenann said...
OMG!!! What a clever skirt and cute as can be!! Just the kind of garment a young girl would love!!! Way to go!!
7/6/09 8:10 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
How did I KNOW it was a Karla review as I read down the page... Great result, fab. vision on fabric sources... Love it! PS Lucky Daughter too....
7/6/09 8:22 AM
Barbara V said...
Extremely cute skirt! ...and from Fruit of the Loom men's T-shirt....who woulda thunk?
7/6/09 8:59 AM
Caroleleah said...
Oh, Karla, what a delightful way to begin my day!! :) Your reviews are always tremendous fun AND greatly informative! You manage to sneak in some very good tidbits of info while being entertaining with it! :) I have this pattern on the table in "almost up next" status, and will absolutely use your suggested method of sizing regarding tracing the yoke. I can't WAIT to see "MY" size fall to my knees!! Hah! Thanks, Karla - adorable skirt, great review!
7/6/09 9:14 AM
nicegirl said...
Great review and very cute skirt! The coverstitch adds a nice detail and the pockets are too adorable.
7/6/09 9:32 AM
Amanda S. said...
It's super cute! I love all the modifications you made. I didn't even consider the view with the pockets, but will now.
7/6/09 10:03 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Really cute skirt. Love your review!
7/6/09 5:13 PM
Sewingmi said...
I laughed out loud reading your review! You ought to write a book! And the skirt is very cute!
7/7/09 5:10 PM
PegL said...
Love your fun review! The info on the skirt pattern is great! I actually have this pattern and some fabric on my cutting table waiting... I'll make note of all your advice! Thanks for saving me a bunch of time and aggravation!
7/8/09 9:39 AM
glenj said...
thanks for the entertainment.BTW skirt looks good enough to wear;)
7/10/09 12:05 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You made this out of a couple of t-shirts??? This is adorable. And I love the pockets.
8/14/09 10:43 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...

8/14/09 10:44 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
You made this out of a couple of t-shirts??? This is adorable. And I love the pockets.
8/14/09 10:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
How on earth did I miss this marvelous review! It's chock full of useful information while being hilarious at the same time. Love your fabric choice.
8/22/09 8:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Karla -- Great review, as expected. (It showed up on the side of the screen while I was researching patterns.) Will I sew anything like this any time soon? Probably not, but I like reading your reviews anyhow. It gets the creative juices flowing, as well as the comedic ones. Thanks for the grins.
10/18/09 5:28 PM
mystrygirl87 said...
Thanks for the entertaining and informative review! Very helpful to know about the sizing. I love the idea of using t-shirts to make this.
11/15/09 6:11 PM
no7262 said...
That looks so cute! I don't wear skirts....but I am thinking about this one and the hot patterns slouchy skirt! Nora :)
3/5/10 11:46 AM
ktr2567 said...
I am way behind the times, typical. Thanks for the tip about measuring the yoke. Just bought this and was just going to trust..ahem...the measurements on the envelope, apparently not a great idea! You saved me, thanks so much and your skirt is so cute!
10/13/12 11:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Vogue Patterns 1181

photo
by: loti

Review
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: SewRuth

Review