Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3371 (Tunics) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 519 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 9:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
When I look at the pictures of this top I am struck by this thought over and over: that girl really knows how to use a serger! Just think, only a few short months ago you were SWEARING you would NEVER own one! HA! And here you go making a top with umpteen serged seams. Well, you must like the top a little! You didn't say it would only be used as a "Dog Walking Top". Even if you don't love it, you can tell it is very nicely made and will be nice and cool in this heat! Oh, I am so upset..... why did you block out the "Black Hole"? I so wanted to see it!
7/5/09 10:03 PM
j222b said...
Its cute. Neckline is lovely, dolman-type sleeves always are sort of baggy (but they're cute & stylish, too). I would try to save. Go to Nordstrons site and look at plus tops, many have elastic at waist--that might do it.
7/5/09 10:19 PM
Tall Mary said...
Hi, Thanks for the detailed review. I wouldn't give up on this project. Maybe you could insert darts from the front hemline up to 1" before your bust points. That should take out some of the extra fabric that concerns you. I think it looks nice and cool and also that looser is cooler in the summer than closely fitted.
7/5/09 10:36 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, I don't know WHY you don't like this!! The color is PERFECT for you, the fabric is very PRETTY, and it is sewn BEAUTIFULLY!!! I think you should wear it! At LEAST walk the dogs in it a few times before you REALLY decide to HATE it!! OK?!!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Re Becca said...
Way to serge girl! I like some of the details of this, nice and upper crust, but the color and shape just aren't you. I agree with the elastic waist idea, or a PJ top.
7/5/09 10:37 PM
chacha45 said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern to make a blouse for my sister and she said no, she doesn't like batwings. So there you go....she knew it, but I didn't see it at all!
7/5/09 11:52 PM
Kayseri said...
Its a shame this came out shapeless, althougth I like your facing construction and overall it's very nicely finished. Those little gussets are supposed to create shape for the bust but I don't know why they would combine them with a princess seam. (I've used them as a cheaters FBA when I've miss-fitted a project and it was too tight when finished).
7/5/09 11:56 PM
Mrs. Franks said...
I like the color!
7/6/09 2:36 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great review! Pity about the top, but I'm glad I'm not the only one who has the attention span of a gnat :) , resulting in some outstanding wadders. LOL!
7/6/09 5:50 AM
Ronda Rae said...
When I saw this, I was very surprised that you had made this. It didn't seem like your style to me. The construction is perfected-thanks for the tips on the facings. I do not like floppy facings either. Great review. Thanks for reviewing it thoroughly even though you didn't like the end product.
7/6/09 7:02 AM
glenj said...
Your review was entertaining and very informative as usual.your top was beautifully executed BUT you are right,it is dog ugly.I always say that we only have so many minutes on this earth,I won't be wasting any of them on this style of top.Although in a knit it could be a comfy pj top.
7/6/09 7:02 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review. Any chance you add your wonderful v-neck facing instructions to the tips and techniques section?
7/6/09 7:06 AM
marjenann said...
Annette, call me crazy, but that is one smart looking top!! Periwinkle linen, great fit and style; perfect summer blouse! I am going to try you method of attaching facings, very clever!!! Annette
7/6/09 7:39 AM
carolynw said...
Annette it does so look nice on you - as Meggie Lulu has suggested - at least walk the dogs on it before you give up. Did you add all th eextra seams to show us you ar enot The Serger Queen LOL Good review and also provided me with a morning laugh
7/6/09 8:00 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Like almost everyone's already mentioned, the color is perfect for you. I love your facing technique. BEST of luck on your jacket....although I don't think you NEED it! You've made more jackets than anyone I know...lol ;-)
7/6/09 9:07 AM
Riesie said...
Well, see, I think the problem is it's too wide in the shoulder - in theory, those shoulder princess seams should land in the middle of the shoulder, and on this top, they're practically out there where a normal sleeve seam would be. So that's throwing the whole proportion off. That said, I think it's a perfectly acceptable top for dog walking or other socially invisible activities. Gorgeous color, though. Maybe you could salvage it by cutting the sleeves into cap sleeves? Just a thought.
7/6/09 9:41 AM
Mahler said...
A gusset, I remember sewing one on velvet !!! Oh I cried. ;-) There is only one picture of you wearing the tunic. I do not know if I like it or not. This would make a cute PJ. I think you might not like the line because of the kimono sleeves and the high neck opening. For me the tunic art or the art of tunic, what ever is better in English, lies in proportions. Tunics are boxy by nature and then the lenght is critical. It has to be at least down to mid hip or hip lenght. Or else, it looks like a disproportioned box ;-) As well, the neck opening should be deep enough to balance the front look. If it is not deep enough, a high neck opening will add severity the tunic does not need. I prefer going deeper in the neck opening and wearing a camisole then having a too seriously look. Here is my very humble opinion on tunic. I like tunics very, very much. I think you wear them wonderfully (Your super vogue pattern) I did one with butterick that I love, your Vogue pattern is wonderful ( I have it as well ;-) and Hot Patterns has a really cool pattern as well. The one with the collar done long enough would be gorgeous for you. I would decorate the neck opening and not the bottom to draw the attention close to your beautiful facial features and not cut your body in half with horizontal line near the hem. What do you think ? All that babla said. I like your tunic and the fabric. Do not trow this away too soon. This tunic can be adorable as home relaxation clothes. Then if you wear it often, it will grow on you. Come on wear it. Or could it fit Anna Ruth ?
7/6/09 10:31 AM
callmeRuth said...
Thanks for posting all the pics of your facing technique. Very nicely done, Annette!
7/6/09 10:35 AM
Karendee said...
The top is beautiful and looks quite good on you! Color is great; fabric will be cool to wear. I thought the bustline was so flattering as was the neckline. You just don't like to see yourself in a new look, IMO. Branch out and enjoy this top, or as I said, give it to me! LOL, I'm not proud!!!
7/6/09 11:40 AM
Izzie said...
Another great review! Thanks for showing how you did the front V-neck facing. I have never seen that method before and I'm going to use it on my next project!
7/6/09 12:03 PM
Caroleleah said...
Your top is absolutely lovely, Annette, and on another person would be stunning! You just "do" the more fitted type garments so much better, that I can see your distress - if you've found a formula that works for you in clothing shapes & silhouettes, then why wear something that isn't quite as flattering? It is indeed a lovely color & fabric, and beautiful construction, but just doesn't seem to be "you". Thanks SO much for the details on your facing technique - that's going into the try-next folder! :)
7/6/09 6:44 PM
Catbird said...
You just can't help but make pretty things even when you're sewing under duress and hate the pattern you're working with! I love the color and the gussets and think it would look great with white linen pants or shorts. Thank you for the construction ideas and another great and funny review!
7/6/09 8:32 PM
Catbird said...
p.s. So sorry to hear about your flooded bathroom!!
7/6/09 8:33 PM
ITAdmin said...
I'll just say I feel your pain, about the tunic and the washer. I keep swearing off tunics, but I keep buying patterns for tunics. And occasionally, one works out OK. I love the color of this, though, and I enjoyed reading the review.
7/7/09 11:13 AM
m/m said...
Your top is lovely but it doesn't sound like it's what you expected from the pattern. The shape of the pattern - gusset, seam lines, neckline treatments etc all look more like an Indian kurta or another "ethnic" garment made from straight cuts of cloth rather than something more tailored.
7/7/09 11:14 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Very nice top but I like the waist definitions on you too.. Sorry it wasn't up to your standards.
7/18/09 8:36 AM
Calendria said...
Cute top. I thiink maybe you didn't like it because it IS a tunic. Its fashioned after the Malaysian Baju Kurung/Kebarung. Heres a pic: http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSqbfCA-Nb5HQmGjK5qbwrDOOSORy0mdVZamG51n8HNReTEnrsw I hope that helps. Its meant to be very loose and long.
8/17/11 3:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Oliver + S Red Riding Hood
photo
Review by justinsbri... on 11/19/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Maddie's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 1203
photo
Review by JEF on 8/11/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8947 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6477 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us