SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3371 (Tunics)

1 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 204 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/09 9:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calendria said...
Cute top. I thiink maybe you didn't like it because it IS a tunic. Its fashioned after the Malaysian Baju Kurung/Kebarung. Heres a pic: http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSqbfCA-Nb5HQmGjK5qbwrDOOSORy0mdVZamG51n8HNReTEnrsw I hope that helps. Its meant to be very loose and long.
8/17/11 3:53 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Very nice top but I like the waist definitions on you too.. Sorry it wasn't up to your standards.
7/18/09 8:36 AM
m/m said...
Your top is lovely but it doesn't sound like it's what you expected from the pattern. The shape of the pattern - gusset, seam lines, neckline treatments etc all look more like an Indian kurta or another "ethnic" garment made from straight cuts of cloth rather than something more tailored.
7/7/09 11:14 AM
ITAdmin said...
I'll just say I feel your pain, about the tunic and the washer. I keep swearing off tunics, but I keep buying patterns for tunics. And occasionally, one works out OK. I love the color of this, though, and I enjoyed reading the review.
7/7/09 11:13 AM
Catbird said...
p.s. So sorry to hear about your flooded bathroom!!
7/6/09 8:33 PM
Catbird said...
You just can't help but make pretty things even when you're sewing under duress and hate the pattern you're working with! I love the color and the gussets and think it would look great with white linen pants or shorts. Thank you for the construction ideas and another great and funny review!
7/6/09 8:32 PM
Caroleleah said...
Your top is absolutely lovely, Annette, and on another person would be stunning! You just "do" the more fitted type garments so much better, that I can see your distress - if you've found a formula that works for you in clothing shapes & silhouettes, then why wear something that isn't quite as flattering? It is indeed a lovely color & fabric, and beautiful construction, but just doesn't seem to be "you". Thanks SO much for the details on your facing technique - that's going into the try-next folder! :)
7/6/09 6:44 PM
Izzie said...
Another great review! Thanks for showing how you did the front V-neck facing. I have never seen that method before and I'm going to use it on my next project!
7/6/09 12:03 PM
Karendee said...
The top is beautiful and looks quite good on you! Color is great; fabric will be cool to wear. I thought the bustline was so flattering as was the neckline. You just don't like to see yourself in a new look, IMO. Branch out and enjoy this top, or as I said, give it to me! LOL, I'm not proud!!!
7/6/09 11:40 AM
callmeRuth said...
Thanks for posting all the pics of your facing technique. Very nicely done, Annette!
7/6/09 10:35 AM
Mahler said...
A gusset, I remember sewing one on velvet !!! Oh I cried. ;-) There is only one picture of you wearing the tunic. I do not know if I like it or not. This would make a cute PJ. I think you might not like the line because of the kimono sleeves and the high neck opening. For me the tunic art or the art of tunic, what ever is better in English, lies in proportions. Tunics are boxy by nature and then the lenght is critical. It has to be at least down to mid hip or hip lenght. Or else, it looks like a disproportioned box ;-) As well, the neck opening should be deep enough to balance the front look. If it is not deep enough, a high neck opening will add severity the tunic does not need. I prefer going deeper in the neck opening and wearing a camisole then having a too seriously look. Here is my very humble opinion on tunic. I like tunics very, very much. I think you wear them wonderfully (Your super vogue pattern) I did one with butterick that I love, your Vogue pattern is wonderful ( I have it as well ;-) and Hot Patterns has a really cool pattern as well. The one with the collar done long enough would be gorgeous for you. I would decorate the neck opening and not the bottom to draw the attention close to your beautiful facial features and not cut your body in half with horizontal line near the hem. What do you think ? All that babla said. I like your tunic and the fabric. Do not trow this away too soon. This tunic can be adorable as home relaxation clothes. Then if you wear it often, it will grow on you. Come on wear it. Or could it fit Anna Ruth ?
7/6/09 10:31 AM
Riesie said...
Well, see, I think the problem is it's too wide in the shoulder - in theory, those shoulder princess seams should land in the middle of the shoulder, and on this top, they're practically out there where a normal sleeve seam would be. So that's throwing the whole proportion off. That said, I think it's a perfectly acceptable top for dog walking or other socially invisible activities. Gorgeous color, though. Maybe you could salvage it by cutting the sleeves into cap sleeves? Just a thought.
7/6/09 9:41 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Like almost everyone's already mentioned, the color is perfect for you. I love your facing technique. BEST of luck on your jacket....although I don't think you NEED it! You've made more jackets than anyone I know...lol ;-)
7/6/09 9:07 AM
carolynw said...
Annette it does so look nice on you - as Meggie Lulu has suggested - at least walk the dogs on it before you give up. Did you add all th eextra seams to show us you ar enot The Serger Queen LOL Good review and also provided me with a morning laugh
7/6/09 8:00 AM
marjenann said...
Annette, call me crazy, but that is one smart looking top!! Periwinkle linen, great fit and style; perfect summer blouse! I am going to try you method of attaching facings, very clever!!! Annette
7/6/09 7:39 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a helpful review. Any chance you add your wonderful v-neck facing instructions to the tips and techniques section?
7/6/09 7:06 AM
glenj said...
Your review was entertaining and very informative as usual.your top was beautifully executed BUT you are right,it is dog ugly.I always say that we only have so many minutes on this earth,I won't be wasting any of them on this style of top.Although in a knit it could be a comfy pj top.
7/6/09 7:02 AM
Ronda Rae said...
When I saw this, I was very surprised that you had made this. It didn't seem like your style to me. The construction is perfected-thanks for the tips on the facings. I do not like floppy facings either. Great review. Thanks for reviewing it thoroughly even though you didn't like the end product.
7/6/09 7:02 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Great review! Pity about the top, but I'm glad I'm not the only one who has the attention span of a gnat :) , resulting in some outstanding wadders. LOL!
7/6/09 5:50 AM
Mrs. Franks said...
I like the color!
7/6/09 2:36 AM
Kayseri said...
Its a shame this came out shapeless, althougth I like your facing construction and overall it's very nicely finished. Those little gussets are supposed to create shape for the bust but I don't know why they would combine them with a princess seam. (I've used them as a cheaters FBA when I've miss-fitted a project and it was too tight when finished).
7/5/09 11:56 PM
chacha45 said...
Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern to make a blouse for my sister and she said no, she doesn't like batwings. So there you go....she knew it, but I didn't see it at all!
7/5/09 11:52 PM
Re Becca said...
Way to serge girl! I like some of the details of this, nice and upper crust, but the color and shape just aren't you. I agree with the elastic waist idea, or a PJ top.
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Annette, I don't know WHY you don't like this!! The color is PERFECT for you, the fabric is very PRETTY, and it is sewn BEAUTIFULLY!!! I think you should wear it! At LEAST walk the dogs in it a few times before you REALLY decide to HATE it!! OK?!!
7/5/09 10:37 PM
Tall Mary said...
Hi, Thanks for the detailed review. I wouldn't give up on this project. Maybe you could insert darts from the front hemline up to 1" before your bust points. That should take out some of the extra fabric that concerns you. I think it looks nice and cool and also that looser is cooler in the summer than closely fitted.
7/5/09 10:36 PM
j222b said...
Its cute. Neckline is lovely, dolman-type sleeves always are sort of baggy (but they're cute & stylish, too). I would try to save. Go to Nordstrons site and look at plus tops, many have elastic at waist--that might do it.
7/5/09 10:19 PM
Christas said...
When I look at the pictures of this top I am struck by this thought over and over: that girl really knows how to use a serger! Just think, only a few short months ago you were SWEARING you would NEVER own one! HA! And here you go making a top with umpteen serged seams. Well, you must like the top a little! You didn't say it would only be used as a "Dog Walking Top". Even if you don't love it, you can tell it is very nicely made and will be nice and cool in this heat! Oh, I am so upset..... why did you block out the "Black Hole"? I so wanted to see it!
7/5/09 10:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

More Info
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

More Info