Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2009-126 (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 249 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:ElsaD
photo
Friend of PR
About ElsaDstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/7/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/09 1:00 AM
Last Updated:7/6/09 1:06 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
Looks like you purchased this in a sporting goods store and I mean that in a positive way. Beautiful work!
7/6/09 8:37 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job Shelley! I like the quick fix you made by adding snaps to the flap. You should feel proud to have faced this challenge; the resulting jacket is very RTW. -Lisa
7/6/09 9:17 AM
nicegirl said...
How fortuitous that you had that snowstorm so you could try out your jacket! Love your color combo and it looks very professional.
7/6/09 9:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I know all too well the problem of wearing a jacket for decades :-). So since this is Goretex and you could probably be buried in it, I'm glad that you like it so well. It looks really professional, and obviously it's standing up to the weather fine, perfect balance of form and function. But yes, in Europe 'parka' just means water or wind-proof shell..
7/6/09 2:23 PM
kerrynw said...
Very professional looking jacket!
7/7/09 1:38 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Snap fix was GREAT idea. Info on Gortex gives me confidence to try some myself. Thanks.
7/7/09 10:00 AM
Jane S said...
I'm in awe of your project. Great jacket and terrific research to come up with such a successful result. Bravo!
7/7/09 10:20 AM
Peggym said...
You did a great job with your jacket. You will have saved yourself a lot of money even although the Goretex would have been expensive
7/7/09 4:56 PM
rivergum said...
That's a great jacket and making it yourself would have saved you heaps! I'm also so glad someone reviewed this pattern, as I like it myself and am currently looking for fabric to make myself a parka. I won't be using Gortex but i appreciate your comments on the pattern.
7/11/09 1:15 AM
ElsaD said...
Didn't necessarily save money. I think this added up to around $65 Canadian. I noticed a Wetskins with more pockets for sale at Winners for $29. The quality of my fabric may be better and it looks different than what's being sold right now. And I suppose I know this wasn't made in a sweatshop -- although don't know the fabric's origin.
7/11/09 10:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 5366
photo
Review by Mauude on 1/6/13
Read Review

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Truly Victorian TV463
photo
Review by sezza899 on 5/4/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )
Simplicity 3971 Pattern ( Size XL-XXL-XXXL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1332 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us