SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-126 (Jacket)

Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:ElsaD
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ElsaDstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/7/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/09 1:00 AM
Last Updated:7/6/09 1:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ElsaD said...
Didn't necessarily save money. I think this added up to around $65 Canadian. I noticed a Wetskins with more pockets for sale at Winners for $29. The quality of my fabric may be better and it looks different than what's being sold right now. And I suppose I know this wasn't made in a sweatshop -- although don't know the fabric's origin.
7/11/09 10:06 AM
rivergum said...
That's a great jacket and making it yourself would have saved you heaps! I'm also so glad someone reviewed this pattern, as I like it myself and am currently looking for fabric to make myself a parka. I won't be using Gortex but i appreciate your comments on the pattern.
7/11/09 1:15 AM
Peggym said...
You did a great job with your jacket. You will have saved yourself a lot of money even although the Goretex would have been expensive
7/7/09 4:56 PM
Jane S said...
I'm in awe of your project. Great jacket and terrific research to come up with such a successful result. Bravo!
7/7/09 10:20 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Snap fix was GREAT idea. Info on Gortex gives me confidence to try some myself. Thanks.
7/7/09 10:00 AM
kerrynw said...
Very professional looking jacket!
7/7/09 1:38 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I know all too well the problem of wearing a jacket for decades :-). So since this is Goretex and you could probably be buried in it, I'm glad that you like it so well. It looks really professional, and obviously it's standing up to the weather fine, perfect balance of form and function. But yes, in Europe 'parka' just means water or wind-proof shell..
7/6/09 2:23 PM
nicegirl said...
How fortuitous that you had that snowstorm so you could try out your jacket! Love your color combo and it looks very professional.
7/6/09 9:25 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job Shelley! I like the quick fix you made by adding snaps to the flap. You should feel proud to have faced this challenge; the resulting jacket is very RTW. -Lisa
7/6/09 9:17 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Looks like you purchased this in a sporting goods store and I mean that in a positive way. Beautiful work!
7/6/09 8:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

New Look 6974

photo
by: emilythecr...

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now