SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2009-126 (Jacket)

Viewed 252 times 
Reviewed by:ElsaD
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ElsaDstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 1/7/06
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/09 1:00 AM
Last Updated:7/6/09 1:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thirteenstitches said...
Looks like you purchased this in a sporting goods store and I mean that in a positive way. Beautiful work!
7/6/09 8:37 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Great job Shelley! I like the quick fix you made by adding snaps to the flap. You should feel proud to have faced this challenge; the resulting jacket is very RTW. -Lisa
7/6/09 9:17 AM
nicegirl said...
How fortuitous that you had that snowstorm so you could try out your jacket! Love your color combo and it looks very professional.
7/6/09 9:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I know all too well the problem of wearing a jacket for decades :-). So since this is Goretex and you could probably be buried in it, I'm glad that you like it so well. It looks really professional, and obviously it's standing up to the weather fine, perfect balance of form and function. But yes, in Europe 'parka' just means water or wind-proof shell..
7/6/09 2:23 PM
kerrynw said...
Very professional looking jacket!
7/7/09 1:38 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Snap fix was GREAT idea. Info on Gortex gives me confidence to try some myself. Thanks.
7/7/09 10:00 AM
Jane S said...
I'm in awe of your project. Great jacket and terrific research to come up with such a successful result. Bravo!
7/7/09 10:20 AM
Peggym said...
You did a great job with your jacket. You will have saved yourself a lot of money even although the Goretex would have been expensive
7/7/09 4:56 PM
rivergum said...
That's a great jacket and making it yourself would have saved you heaps! I'm also so glad someone reviewed this pattern, as I like it myself and am currently looking for fabric to make myself a parka. I won't be using Gortex but i appreciate your comments on the pattern.
7/11/09 1:15 AM
ElsaD said...
Didn't necessarily save money. I think this added up to around $65 Canadian. I noticed a Wetskins with more pockets for sale at Winners for $29. The quality of my fabric may be better and it looks different than what's being sold right now. And I suppose I know this wasn't made in a sweatshop -- although don't know the fabric's origin.
7/11/09 10:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine 01-2013-433

photo
by: westmoon

Review