Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5815 (Bow collar jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 692 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo
Friend of PR
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 10:21 AM
Last Updated:7/8/09 10:25 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maedchen said...
this looks so great. Great review too!
7/8/09 11:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely jacket! I recently picked up this pattern and your review is very helpful. Great job!
7/8/09 11:22 AM
froggiegirl said...
Beautiful jacket and skirt, no one would ever know it's inexpensive fabric. I have this pattern and haven't got around to making it up. So glad to see that it looks great.
7/8/09 11:49 AM
ALY said...
Your jacket looks fantanstic!
7/8/09 12:51 PM
lauraborealis said...
Beautiful!
7/8/09 1:34 PM
pterion said...
Very sharp looking jacket. It looks expensive!
7/8/09 1:47 PM
kim*brown said...
Very well made and great color!
7/8/09 2:03 PM
nannykk said...
beautiful
7/8/09 2:27 PM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket, also love the extra length.!! Very pretty.
7/8/09 3:24 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket.
7/8/09 3:58 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
THANKS for the "heads up" information!! Well-written review!!
7/8/09 4:34 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely jacket, beautifully constructed!
7/8/09 4:38 PM
morzel said...
What a great jacket! Looks really good on you.
7/8/09 4:47 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is gorgeous and the fabric looks so expensive -- not Walmart at all. I thought it was leather when I first looked at the small picture.
7/8/09 5:06 PM
amy in mpls said...
I'm a big fan of using the wrong side of the fabric too! Your jacket looks amazing! I love the collar detail, its just so cute!
7/8/09 5:38 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great, and no shame in $1 fabric :)i would like to know how you lengthened the jacket, because on the pattern front it looks like it closes high enough to not need a top under it, and you have a top on in the pic.
7/8/09 5:43 PM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful jacket!
7/8/09 7:15 PM
Raye Ann said...
very, very cute!
7/8/09 7:50 PM
wendlesue said...
ggexpansive - I just lengthened it by slashing and spreading below the waist - in order to preserve the shaped hem. I definitely would not wear mine without a top underneath, but you could probably put the first buttonhole higher than I did.
7/8/09 8:04 PM
HLT said...
Great review! Nice suit!
7/8/09 8:04 PM
Erica B. said...
Jacket looks great as a suit!
7/8/09 11:38 PM
becca a said...
This is a great looking jacket! Thanks for your helpful review.
7/9/09 1:19 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely jacket. It looks fabulous combined as a suit.
7/9/09 12:06 PM
kerrynw said...
Love your jacket, really cute! The colour is great and the cost even better.
7/14/09 11:53 AM
SandraKay1 said...
Very nice work. I just purchased this pattern last week. I love the unique collar.
3/8/10 11:43 PM
BeckyMc said...
Beautiful. Can't wait to make one of my own.
1/19/11 1:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Pink Chalk Studio Mail Sack Mail Sack
photo
Review by Shelly Gir... on 6/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Firefly Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Firefly Jacket Digital  Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-104
photo
Review by Christina ... on 8/3/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )
Simplicity 2542 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6625 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us