SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5815 (Bow collar jacket)

12 more reviews
Viewed 692 times 
Reviewed by:wendlesue
photo

 
 
About wendlesuestarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/7/07
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/09 10:21 AM
Last Updated:7/8/09 10:25 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maedchen said...
this looks so great. Great review too!
7/8/09 11:20 AM
Kellie R. said...
Lovely jacket! I recently picked up this pattern and your review is very helpful. Great job!
7/8/09 11:22 AM
froggiegirl said...
Beautiful jacket and skirt, no one would ever know it's inexpensive fabric. I have this pattern and haven't got around to making it up. So glad to see that it looks great.
7/8/09 11:49 AM
ALY said...
Your jacket looks fantanstic!
7/8/09 12:51 PM
lauraborealis said...
Beautiful!
7/8/09 1:34 PM
pterion said...
Very sharp looking jacket. It looks expensive!
7/8/09 1:47 PM
kim*brown said...
Very well made and great color!
7/8/09 2:03 PM
nannykk said...
beautiful
7/8/09 2:27 PM
sewtime said...
Love your jacket, also love the extra length.!! Very pretty.
7/8/09 3:24 PM
Lori V said...
Very nice jacket.
7/8/09 3:58 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
THANKS for the "heads up" information!! Well-written review!!
7/8/09 4:34 PM
marjenann said...
Lovely jacket, beautifully constructed!
7/8/09 4:38 PM
morzel said...
What a great jacket! Looks really good on you.
7/8/09 4:47 PM
blessedtosew said...
That is gorgeous and the fabric looks so expensive -- not Walmart at all. I thought it was leather when I first looked at the small picture.
7/8/09 5:06 PM
amy in mpls said...
I'm a big fan of using the wrong side of the fabric too! Your jacket looks amazing! I love the collar detail, its just so cute!
7/8/09 5:38 PM
ggexpansive said...
you look great, and no shame in $1 fabric :)i would like to know how you lengthened the jacket, because on the pattern front it looks like it closes high enough to not need a top under it, and you have a top on in the pic.
7/8/09 5:43 PM
Darla in PA said...
Beautiful jacket!
7/8/09 7:15 PM
Raye Ann said...
very, very cute!
7/8/09 7:50 PM
wendlesue said...
ggexpansive - I just lengthened it by slashing and spreading below the waist - in order to preserve the shaped hem. I definitely would not wear mine without a top underneath, but you could probably put the first buttonhole higher than I did.
7/8/09 8:04 PM
HLT said...
Great review! Nice suit!
7/8/09 8:04 PM
Erica B. said...
Jacket looks great as a suit!
7/8/09 11:38 PM
becca a said...
This is a great looking jacket! Thanks for your helpful review.
7/9/09 1:19 AM
Barbara V said...
Lovely jacket. It looks fabulous combined as a suit.
7/9/09 12:06 PM
kerrynw said...
Love your jacket, really cute! The colour is great and the cost even better.
7/14/09 11:53 AM
SandraKay1 said...
Very nice work. I just purchased this pattern last week. I love the unique collar.
3/8/10 11:43 PM
BeckyMc said...
Beautiful. Can't wait to make one of my own.
1/19/11 1:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: evyline

Review