Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2009-110 (Silk Tunic) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 359 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Pyrose
photo
Friend of PR
About Pyrosestar
MD USA
Member since: 2/12/06
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/09 6:22 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Beautiful top Pyrose. Usually patterns for a loop and button closure include include a placket that goes under the closure from the button side. If you have a scrap left over you could add one and have a worry free top.
7/6/09 6:42 PM
21wale said...
Thanks for the review - this pattern is in my line-up and I'm glad to know about the front closure issue. Your version looks great!
7/6/09 6:44 PM
Christas said...
This looks so cute on you! I agree with val from oz, you could make an under flap to put under the loops so as not to worry about the front gaping. That way you could enjoy your pretty top more.
7/6/09 6:58 PM
RLL said...
It is too nice to not wear because you are uncomfortable about gaposis. I agree with the others to add an under flap.
7/6/09 7:41 PM
sewtime said...
Cute top-love the fabric.
7/6/09 8:19 PM
carolynw said...
OOOH I love tis - what a gorgeous outfit - please put your reservations side and go out in this often i is there any way you can add a band under the button area to prevent any tummy peaks
7/6/09 9:10 PM
Kayseri said...
Lovely top.
7/6/09 10:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Congrats Jen on your FIRST BWOF!! It looks great and I love what you say about the directions. It now confuses me when I read others. Too much information! Love the print.
7/6/09 10:27 PM
CynthiaSue said...
Look at you! This is the perfect meld of pattern and fabric and it looks awesome on you. Love the toddler in the foreground and now I want to make this pattern!!!
7/7/09 0:02 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top. Well done.
7/7/09 3:37 AM
JustTrina said...
absolutely gorgeous! i love that fabric!!!
7/7/09 9:26 AM
RachelStonebreaker said...
Besides the underflap for the loop closures, add clear, plastic snaps. That's what I do and I don't get the gap. A little extra work but it's such a nice looking blouse!
7/7/09 10:23 AM
barbcl said...
Lovely top, and your suggestion about the loops is a good one. Maybe a zip would also work.
7/7/09 1:33 PM
Deepika said...
Love the tunic! And good to see you sewing again. This an example of perfect fabric to pattern matching. AWESOME!
7/7/09 2:08 PM
Jane S said...
Love this top, you did a beautiful job. I agree, maybe put a ribbon behind the loops as a placket.
7/7/09 5:59 PM
AnneM said...
It doesn't look like there is any gaping problem! It looks great. Cute top, fun fabric.
8/25/09 4:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

EvaDress E40-6111
photo
Review by lauramae on 3/17/12
Read Review

Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Lazy Day Pajamas Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5714
photo
Review by Pinkhibisc... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 5160 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 1612 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us