Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3513 thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 504 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/7/09 7:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JustTrina said...
i honestly don't think it looks bad! maybe a little loose, but you could always go back and take it in a bit on the side seams. Maybe try it with a different top, like a cami since it has that fold over waist? when in doubt i normally just hang it on a manni and look at it for a few days, if then you decide to wad it, like you said you can always get a t-shirt out of it!! sorry it wasn't what you wanted! let us know when you find that great knit skirt pattern!!!
7/7/09 9:18 AM
Mel.J said...
This skirt looks similar to a free one from Fabric.com being discussed on the message boards at the moment. Is it worth measuring your existing black skirt to try to salvage this one with some cutting down?
7/7/09 9:18 AM
greenandlilac said...
Claire Shaeffer's High Fashion Sewing Secrets gives good instructions on how to copy an RTW garment. I would go that route. I have said goodbye to several items of clothing in my past I wish I had kept to copy once they wore out because I loved, loved, loved them.
7/7/09 9:28 AM
morzel said...
Sorry this one didn't work out for you- at least you did this muslin. Maybe the fabric you used is too thick for this kind of skirt? Thanks for the info on the sizing, the other review also states the sizing as off.
7/7/09 10:38 AM
Mary Nanna said...
I too am on the look out for a nice knit skirt. Will watch your progress with interest.
7/7/09 3:45 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry the pattern was disappointing and you had such a frustrating experience. Learning how fabrics behave, which fabrics suit which patterns and which patterns suit us is a challenging part of sewing. Look on the bright side: even our failures teach us something. I hope you can salvage the fabric.
7/8/09 8:02 AM
Sewingmi said...
It actually does look like a cute skirt! Maybe you just need a smaller size. It looks really comfortable!
7/8/09 6:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 5/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )
McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 1126-1000
photo
Review by Maria Hatf... on 9/29/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us